We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one speaks English well” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Daiba, Minato 135-8625, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No one speaks English well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I'll make this quick:

I liked the hotel - very modern and spacious, BUT:

Pros:

1) Excellent rooms
2) Everything works in the room

Cons:

1) No one speaks English - very frustrating
2) Poor bell hop service
3) Poor checkout service

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    721
    126
    29
    18
See reviews for
745
590
115
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is perfectly placed for all manners of public transport - the Rainbow bus actually stops at the door and the Yurikamome, the front. The staff and the hotel are top notch, very slick and helpful. They aim to make your stay as smooth as possible from the moment you step in. We had the most amazing room overlooking the bay. The beauty of this hotel is the advantage of having a balcony to enjoy the view. This certainly is a hotel I would recommend for good service, good accommodation and ambience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

General

A lovely hotel located in the harbour with great views across Tokyo and the area. A pleasant change for me from my normal hotels of choice. Ideal for both business or pleasure at a reasonable price. I would not stay there again across a weekend as the place is busy with Weddings and other events.

4/5 Check-in/out: Excellent and efficient process.

4/5 Room: Nice bright room with tasteful modern but calm décor. Extremely comfortable bed and well laid out bathroom.

4/5 Ambience/General: A few bars and restaurants to choose from. Very busy, almost too busy on the weekend.

Food

2/5 Breakfast; 07:00 and the place was absolutely full of people loading up plates of food. Not to my liking at all so left and had breakfast outside the hotel.

5/5 Staff; Extremely efficient in all areas

Average Summary Score: 3.8 / 5

Will consider for the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lets start with the positive, the hotel is BEAUTIFUL, the views to rainbow bridge are fabulous, the sirloin I had at the Teppanyaki Grill is THE BEST I have had and the Chef was outstanding, the room was nice and clean.
Now... this hotel doesnot have bilingual personal overall, there were only a couple of people that actually understood English and that was a challenge when you need concierge assistance, another major issue is WIFI this hotel only has 10 wifi kits and if you are not lucky enough to get one, your only option is the business center in the lobby. Also, as a guest you are not allowed in the pool, you will be charged.
I had stayed multiple times at the Nikko hotel in Mexico (now Hyatt) and always loved it, my expectations were not met.

Room Tip: Book a room with the Rainbow Bridge view, it is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spent 4 days/3nights here. Upon checking in the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Not knowing any Japanese was not an issue at all for me. The staff was eager to assist me in taking my luggage up to the room and get me settled in. The Room was on the 10th floor and had a great view of the Rainbow bridge. The room had a small balcony which I would have spent more time on if it wasn't so hot outside. The door to the balcony when sealed completely blocked out all the outside noise.
The room was nice. The bed was a little stiff for my liking, but that is just a personal preference and not a knock against the hotel. The hot water machine was a little tricky to figure out due to my lack of knowing any Japanese.
The restaurants at the hotel were great, just a little pricey. But the hotel is located by 2 shopping malls with a lot of restaurant options for a lot less money.
With the room came free breakfast. I highly recommend this.
Overall, I would stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: I always like to stay on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

i liked this hotel, we had a great view of the bay, with the rainbow bridge and many of the towers that sprinkle tokyo. it's a large hotel in daiba, and it's in a nice location to run along the water. the trails reminded me of running along river thames in london (industrial parts, natural parks, overgrown shrubs, sand banks, etc.). did not interact much with staff, but they were courteous when we saw each other! i liked the lobby, it was open with access to hotel wifi. you are located across the way from a mall, so if you forget items, this area has a lot of shopping areas to find things. close to transportation so it's not difficult to go across the bay and into other parts of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I made a tripadvisor account for the purpose of writing a review for this hotel.

Our room was on the 12th floor, with ocean view, and the view was breathtaking. I spent hours on the terrace at night, just enjoying some snacks and looking out towards the city. The room itself is big in size for Japan, the bathroom is as well, beds/pillows etc where all perfectly comfortable.

What made me really love this hotel is the staff. The Japanese will in general, treat tourists very well, but I really felt like I was treated like royalty here. Every staff member, went completely out of their way for us, between literally stopping us from touching our luggage upon entering, until it was placed in the middle of our room, moving chairs behind us if seen standing up for too long, offering warm towels while standing in any line, and having 15 minute conversations with us to help us get around the city, and tell us the most cost effective routes around Japan.

For the people complaining about no free internet - for 1080 yen (roughly $10-$15 USD) for your ENTIRE STAY (not per night) the staff will personally bring a router to your room, and you will enjoy incredibly fast (in my experience close to 1 megabyte per second) internet access. If you really don't want to pay that, wifi is free in the main lobby - which - is also, extremely comfortable and nice looking, just ask reception for the password.

The only downside of this hotel is its location, while there is plenty to do on the island of Odaiba, if you want to go into back onto the mainland of Tokyo, the fastest way is a 300 yen train ride on the private Yurikamome line, however the station is literally right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Pacific Le Daiba
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#10 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#7 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,572 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tokyo

Address: 1-9-1 Daiba, Minato 135-8625, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Minato
#2 Family Hotel in Minato
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#6 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Tokyo Hotel
Nikko Tokyo Minato
Hotel Nikko Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.