We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday base with family of 6.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Le Daiba

Save Saved
You added Grand Pacific Le Daiba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Pacific Le Daiba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6-1 Daiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 135-8701, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Minato
KL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Holiday base with family of 6.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just got back from Japan, and this was our base for 6 nights.

Our main criteria for our hotel for this trip, was:
1. A hotel that was served by the Narita Airport Limousine bus service, as we had to catch a morning flight out of Narita. Transiting between train lines very early in the morning is not an ideal choice when traveling with 2 teenagers and 2 kids.
2. A direct bus service between Disney and the hotel. We did not want to take the train at 10pm and having to manage transfers and walking with tired kids.
3. Near a train/metro station for our other travel plans.
4. Free internet connectivity (this is to avoid hefty roaming charges).

... and we found one in Tokyo, at 'ok' Japanese rates.

The major surprise was that I booked (not by designed) ourselves into a 5* hotel in Tokyo. We did not expect that, as our previous experiences before told us not to expect a full 5* resort for the price we paid. It wasn't cheap, but at Tokyo Bay standards, it was good.

We got all the 4 items above and more. The station was attached to the hotel; and there was free internet in the rooms. Wifi router was needed, otherwise just use a LAN cable to get online. the router could be obtained from the Front Desk.

The location was on Tokyo's 'island' resort of Odaiba. Even without DIsney there was enough indoor theme parks to entertain the kids (Sega Joypolis, Legoland, Madam Tussaud's, Museums and speciality malls). Another added bonus was that the island was also serviced by Tokyo's water busses. Though takes longer then the trains, we could get to locations by the river banks (eg Asakusa) by boats. It's more scenic, and the 'bus' stop is about 3 min walk from the hotel.

Food wise there are enough choices around the hotel for your choice of meals. Fast food chains and branches of Tsukiji sushi shops are available. (Ok... it's not hotel food, but I am not a fan of hotel restaurants).

Staff were friendly and helpful; from lost wallets to packing our wooden samurai 'swords' (my daughter lost her wallet at a nearby mall, and they had called the hotel to inform that someone had found the wallet and ask her to pick it up. The hotel not only informed us, but also followed up with us the next morning, and during check-out).

Room amenities were plentiful. I admit I am a sucker for complimentary toothbrushes, & razors; these guys gave more then that, and 1 each for all of us (confession time: we took some back - they were good - the orange batch salts were wonderful).

Overall, we were very pleased and impressed with the hotel we stayed for the week.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the Rainbow Bridge. It's a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    454
    75
    15
    4
See reviews for
407
292
74
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My four kids and I started our ski trip at this hotel for two nights before heading to Nagano. We arrived very late at Haneda and missed the train and shuttle to hotel. We managed to convince a taxi to take all 5 of us and our luggage to hotel. Cost about 60 USD which was steep but had no choice, at least it was one taxi not two. Upon check in, front desk staff very helpful and rooms were adjacent to each other as per my request. The room sizes were perfect, bathrooms were awesome and had such a lovely supply of amenities! It was like Christmas looking thru the bath basket!
We tried bfast both mornings but the lines were long and after peeking at the buffet, we decided to go elsewhere. We ate at the Italian restaurant on site, I would give it a miss: sloooowwww service, mediocre food and ambiance lacking.
Location is excellent, lots of shopping nearby, train station next to hotel.
Only major complaint, we booked this hotel because of the indoor pool but discovered when we arrived that its only for ages 16 and up. Ridiculous.
I would stay again, esp for the rooms and location but if you have kids, don't expect to use the pool.
I saw someone mention no free wifi but we had it. Need to ask housekeeping for box to be brought to room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not a hotel to write home and tell your friends about, but pretty comfortable and clean.
1000yen (10usd) for the gym is not much, but not sure why should have to pay for use whilst staying in hotel.

Best feature:
Breakfast buffet with view over Tokyo bay from 30th floor.

Worst feature:
No Wifi in room - for the height of Japan's technology, this is very poor!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed in early March for 4 nights. The hotel is conveniently located. There is an airport limousine bus that goes to the hotel directly from Narita for about 2,700 yen. The hotel is right next to a metro station. It take about 20-30 minutes to Ginza. There are also 2-3 shopping malls within 10 minutes of walk with many restaurant choices.

The hotel service is excellent, in particular, the hotel restaurants. I bought a deal on JTB web site with breakfast included. The breakfast buffet spread is great, especially with the gorgeous view from the 30th floor. Breakfast coupons can also be used for lunch with payment for the price difference. The service at both the 30th-floor Tepanyaki place and the 3rd floor Japanese restaurant are outstanding. I had 3 meals there in total.

The minor downside is that the general area is a little too brand new, doesn't have the touch of real Japanese culture, for my taste anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The bar on 30th floor was empty at 5:30 pm.

The attendant made a wry face when I wanted to enter. Then, claimed the seat next to the power outlet was reserved all evening. There was not a living soul around anywhere.

Just would not let me charge my laptop in the Sky Road.

It's the pits - the bar attendant at the Star Road was outright rude. Made an exit and took the next bus to Haneda airport.

The general manager: you are not listening and I am not coming back...

Room Tip: Look elsewhere if you need Wifi or a place to charge your devices.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a small tour group for three nights. The rooms were quite spacious and there were many amenities for your use in the bathroom. There was also a room safe in a good sized closet. It was not noisey and very comfortable in the room I had overlooking the harbor with a queen sized bed. The location was close to two shopping malls, each with a 105 yen store and there were also two convenience stores adjacent to the lobby. The train station was just a short walk from the lobby. And there was a free shuttle to Venus Fort, a third shopping mall with attractions for kids and a couple of rides as well as the Toyota museum, which I did not have a chance to visit.
Service was good and the staff was very helpful and courteous. The breakfast buffets downstairs as well as on the 30th floor were the usual mix of Japanese and American, and more than ample. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hallways are longer than they appear because they are not long and straight so request a room no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a very comfortable room with a great view in direction to the rainbowbridge.
The location of the hotel is not so closed to the citycenter, but very close are the shopping malls of odaiba. The staff was very helpful and obliging. I would go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pacific Le Daiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Le Daiba

Address: 2-6-1 Daiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 135-8701, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#2 Family Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pacific Le Daiba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style hotel in Odaiba district on Tokyo Bay, overlooking Rainbow Bridge, 6 km to central Tokyo, 5km to Imperial Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Pacific Le Daiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Le Daiba Hotel Minato
Grand Pacific Le Daiba Minato
Le Meridien Tokyo
Grand Pacific Le Daiba Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Le Daiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.