We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meh...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Park Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7227, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 93 hotels in Minato
Saratoga, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“meh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

You'd certainly expect more from this kind of price-range property. But first the good things: location is a great plus, Shiodome station being a short 5 minutes walk on an astounding elevated promenade. The view from the right from the room is spectacular. Hotel rooms are high enough (levels 25 and up) that no street-noise will wake you up at wee hours. Breakfast is rich and diverse. This is where the good part ends. There is a gym. postage-stamp sized, and locked at all times. In theory if you make a reservation ( for one hour only) you room key should open the gym door when time comes. In practice you have to parade through the lobby , fetch an assistant - who then needs to check the records- maybe you are a dangerous imposter, after all- upon witch you may get access to the gym, 15 minutes later. The experience is either needlessly-grotesque or funny, depending on your mood. Then there is the stench. Rooms stink. Badly, How on earth is this possible in this class of hotels, god knows. It is probably the aged carpet, saturated with yearly layers of "I-don't-even-want-to-know-what". Sure, you get used to it after about 15 minutes of being in the room, but you wouldn't anticipate the need for olfactory calibration, in a hotel, would you? Management, if you read this, please bite the bullet and renovate..

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Book the Villa Fontaine a short 3 minutes away. Much better value for the $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    512
    109
    29
    11
See reviews for
162
600
110
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Park Hotel Tokyo is a very easy access hotel. It has direct access to the metro station in Ginza area.The lobby is on the 25th floor and we got ourselves perched on the 29th overlooking the Sumida river and the Tsukiji Market with views of Tokyo tower and the Shimbashi station. There is a lot to do around the hotel and walking is easy.

The hotel was neat and clean and had recently been renovated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Location is good, though via the labyrinthine underground tunnels of the area, which makes it not entirely easy to find, and entails a great deal of walking.
First impressions were good, check-in excellent, but no drink provided during the process. But the (quite small) room itself had a slightly tired feel, the arms of the chair being grubby and one or two marks were on the carpet. Much the same can be said for the lobby area. Some train noise can be heard. The view was great.
But the service was poor. We wanted a drink after a long journey, but no-one noticed us come to sit in the lobby area and ask us what we would like, and after 10 minutes I got up and walked to the pay-desk and asked if anyone was actually serving. In that time we watched the waiters chatting together but not actually serving anyone.
And then the whole process was repeated around 9.30pm. We wanted a drink and, yet again, no-one saw us and, again, I went to ask if anyone was actually serving. Only then did we get our drink.
The only (quite small) restaurant was booked-up and this reveals the greatest weakness-it's a long walk through the maze of tunnels and walkways until you find a restaurant, and then they are mediocre railway-station-type places, some of which did not open in the evenings. Failing this it's the (very) expensive restaurants high in the nearby tower blocks or a metro journey to find better quality establishments. The hotel desperately needs another all day restaurant without leaving the building, such as in Sheraton Hiroshima.
However, in its favour, one member of staff needs great praise. On receiving our luggage from the courier, we found a lock to have been broken and the case part-open. With a flight to the UK first thing next morning, buying a replacement at that time in the evening or next morning was out of the question. At first fazed by my request for help, the night manager, with little English, was only concerned about how it got broken. But then, as we began to panic about the possibility of loading a broken suitcase on to an aircraft, he sent one of his staff out into the night to buy some straps. When the fellow returned, he had two very strong suitcase straps with number code locks. The night-manager would accept no payment, 2000yen each (around £25 total) and was only concerned that they would be up to the job of securing the case, which they did admirably. I can only thank him most sincerely.

Room Tip: The views from most rooms are great being so high, we could see over the Hama Rikyu Gardens and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's hard to imagine a nicer, more modern room, in an ideal location, close to transportation, shopping, and wonderful restaurants. The lobby is 25 floors up, atop an office tower, but that places rooms in the center of Tokyo high above the noise of this hustling city, with magnificent views of the harbor, and of the ultra modern trains and pedestrian skyways intertwined below. The heated high tech toilet should have a thick user's manual to use all of its bidet and shower functions. Staff is courteous beyond even Japanese standards. A short ten minute walk to Ginza. Really decent prices for the quality.

Room Tip: Upgrades to larger rooms may not cost much. Ask when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent location, in an amazing architecture complex. Near stations, lot of attractions as the fish market and Ginza . The staff is very helpful the room is nice with great view of the city. If you are sensitive - be aware you might hear the trains noise in your room. And you should notice that they Don't have a gym or a swimming pool. Still it was a very good place in a very very good price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We were in Tokyo from 28 Aug - 4 Sep. my hubby was there for business and I was just come along. We like the hotel very much. Stayed in City queen room, at first few night the room with Tokyo tower view were fully booked so we had to changed the room later on but it worth it! The view was stunning... My in room fav was the bathroom amenities from Thann Thailand spa products and Japanese drip on Key coffee plus all the juices selection from Deen&Deluca. Hotel room was small as you can expected from Tokyo but it was not tiny or uncomfortable, we had good sleep the whole week. I tried both in-room breakfast and buffet breakfast at lobby level, I'd give 5 and 6.5 point out of 10 for breakfast. They had Yokai tour exhibition (Japanese Demons) in the hotel during our stay, that was very interesting. The location is excellent, you can excess subway station just by taking the elevator to basement of hotel building. The surrounding also very nice... Plenty of shopping area during the day and very lifely during the night in Shimbashi filled with local restaurant and bars. I must thanks the reception staffs, they were very attentive and helpful, we'll English speaking, we didn't have any problem even though it was our first time in Japan. We will go back and stay there in November!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with amazing staff willing to help you get around. While clean and well maintained, the rooms are small and they don't allow to set up two baby crib (baby cot), so one of our kids need to sleep with us on the bed. They didn't have another room to get two rooms. Food is way too expensive for the quality. The breakfast is OK taking in consideration the cost, is has poor quality and variety. The Japanese restaurant is too expensive and not so good in my point of view. Easy access to underground and to get to Disneyland (which we did with our girls).

Room Tip: maybe the corner suites are bigger, not sure... if you have kids, check the room size first,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7227, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#13 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Tokyo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Park Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Minato
Park Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.