We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views but that's it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Park Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-7227, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice views but that's it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived very late on a Sunday night after a very long trip, did not feel welcomed when checking in as the front desk staff seemed cold and indifferent. I was informed that there was nothing to eat at that hour within walking distance of the hotel and there was only 4 things available on the late night room service menu, none of which I wanted so I went to bed tired and hungry.

The room was clean and had stunning views of the Tokyo Tower, but I was disappointed at the western style bathtub with the shower curtain. I was looking forward to having a bubble bath in a deep soak tub but this hotel didn't have those.

Not a single taxi driver I came across knew where the entrance of this hotel is so make sure you get a map from the concierge before heading out, or print out directions before you go there. The complex is quite big with several other hotels in the same area, getting dropped off at the wrong place and running around trying to find the entrance is not something you want to do after a long journey.

The day time staff was friendlier and more helpful when I checked out, so that improved my rating a little. But next time I would rather pay a little more and stay at the nearby Imperial Hotel, which has much better service, facilities and in a better location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    645
    129
    29
    13
See reviews for
230
753
132
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As per my title, pros are for sure the location and the staff. In fact, the hotel is perfectly located, very close to Ginza district and to JR and major subway lines. The staff is friendly, eager to help and guide you thru the city map suggesting valuable spots as well as restaurants and street indications. However we were quite disappointed by the rooms and the overall service. Our room was really small, the bathroom was super super tiny, all the bottoms of the walls scratched (I guess luggage passage) and basically not enough space to put both our luggage. The breakfast was decent, but not extroardinary and we needed to wait a while before buffet plates were refilled. The same area converts to the lobby bar after breakfast time (which is not really convenient), and when a late night we came back around 10 asking for something to eat (even a cold dish understanding that the kitchen was maybe already closed) we have been told that only drinks were avaialble. From a 4 stars hotel you at least expect to be served some cold dishes even after 10 pm!!! They are also rated as a Design hotel, but a part from few Floss and Artemide lamps, honestly there is not more than a traditional, minimal Japanese design in it, which we liked, but very common to find in other spots in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April at the conclusion of our tour. The tour group we were part of was small that is no more than 10 people plus the two guides. We were informed that the tour operator had booked the corner rooms which were slightly larger and afforded wonderful views. We duly arrived at our room and thought well this is Tokyo and everything is expensive and space is at a premium.
Well within 15 minutes of settling in we were phoned by the tour operator who informed us that the Hotel had allocated the wrong corner rooms.... gee how strange that all 6 rooms were wrong!Subsequently we were reallocated the correct rooms.
Sure this is not a big deal but the service in the bar area is slow, the staff seem to be in a tranice. To order coffee you really have to wave to get their attention , rather annoying since the area was never overly crowded.
The breakfasts are disappointing. If we returned to Tokyo I would not stay here, the service or lack of, would be the main reason.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsChief, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we receive.

I was on duty when you arrived at the hotel with your tour party and we duly checked with the tour operated who was with you at the time about the type of rooms you had been allocated. She affirmed that she had reserved the Corner Twin rooms and there was no problem. We were somewhat surprised therefore, when we received a phone call from the guide saying she had made a mistake with the booking and actually required the Premium Corner rooms for the seven rooms she had reserved. We do not have a large number of these rooms so preparing them proved somewhat difficult but nevertheless we responded in a quick and timely fashion. I hope this clears this matter up for you.

Regarding your second comment, I have talked directly to the Food and Beverage Manager about the lack of attention showed to you by his staff whilst you were in the lounge. He subsequently told the staff in no uncertain terms that this is not acceptable. We apologize for the slow service in the lounge and will endeavor to speed up this level.

Thank you again for your invaluable comments, it helps immensely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed for business trip in Japan, the hotel is location on a very convenience spot,
next to the subway and easy to get a taxi,
Resonable price and breakfast was good, they provice what you need,
lobby and the restaurant very nice and easy to move around.

Room Tip: Tokyo Tower View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Finding your way to this hotel was quite easy from Shimbashi Station. The over head walkway is the easiest and quickest for those arriving from Narita and using a JR pass. Catch the Nartia express to Tokyo and then jump on any train heading south, Shimbashi is a major station. The walk was only about five minutes and the elevator to the lobby on the 25th floor was quick.

We arrived at the hotel 5 hours before check-in so we couldn't proceed to our rooms. The staff were happy to hold our bags while we explored the area, so we left them behind and went and explored Hama Rikyu Garden which was a short walk away. We visited during the cherry blossom season so the park was beautifully covered in trees of pink, white and purple.

The hotel itself is conveniently located in a business park. This means that outside of work hours its quite quiet compared to the rest of Tokyo which can be a welcomed thing given its a city that's always moving. The rooms themselves were very nice, we had rooms that were looking over Tokyo Tower and in the direction of Mt Fuji, however the weather whilst we were staying was cloudy on every day so we didn't get to see the peak from there.

Ginza is a short stroll from the hotel, as is the famous Tsukiji Fish Market. The subway to Rappongi is pretty much at the hotel door, as is the elevated bus that goes to Odaiba. Shimbashi itself on a friday night comes alive with Japanese business men who go out and enjoy finishing the working week, lots of restaurants, bars, pubs just on the other side of Shimbashi station made it an interesting place to explore at night.

The Food in the lobby did look quite expensive so we never ate there, however being a business hotel its to be expected. There is a Convenience store in the basement as well as a big Hyper Market Chain near by called Don.K. The wireless in the rooms on the first two nights didn't work properly and we had to use the free wireless in the reception, however on subsequent nights it worked fine so not sure if there was something wrong with the signal on our floor or what.

Bathrooms where nice, big enough for a week or so stay. Being japan the beds were a bit small but a 6ft tall person can have a comfy sleep. The window sill has a cushion so that you can sit and enjoy the view. Only downside is there are no english tv channels provided, and the intriguing style of Japanese TV can be a bit much for someone who is not used to it. The staff were more than happy to organize our bags to be sent ahead to Kyoto and they were waiting for us at our hotel when we arrived.

Overall I highly rate this hotel and will definitely use it again on my next trip which I'm planning for next year.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have slightly better views all around. Ask for a room looking over tokyo tower and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the hotel is fantastic. It's up high and whichever direction your room faces, you get an amazing view of one aspect of Tokyo. Cannot recommend it enough. Rooms and facilities are top notch. Make sure you visit the cocktail bar, where the staff are first class and will make you the best cocktails of your life.
Only difficulty we had was negotiating the underground areas between Shiodome and Shinbashi stations. It's a bit of a rat maze. The above-street walkaway is much easier between the hotel and Shinbashi but cold/wet if the weather is bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overall this is a nice hotel. The room was quite small but very comfortable. The food in the main lobby restaurant for dinner was nice, but the buffet breakfast was only OK. The overall service could be improved though - tourist information is not openly displayed and it was only on the 3rd day of a 5 day stay I noticed a one page "Top 10 sight seeing places" with really clear travel directions tucked away in in a plastic folder in the hotel lobby. It would have been really useful be given this at check-in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato 105-7227, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#15 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Splendia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Minato
Park Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.