We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a change I think...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Park Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7227, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
London, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Time for a change I think...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel so by rights how can I complain but each time it's been for work and this time I took my partner who I finally made me see it through normal eyes which is that its pretty unimpressive.

Things were noticed that I always knew but brushed aside as I quite like the weirdness of the location and the price!

Good things:
The price and little increase you pay for an amazing Tokyo tower and Mt Fuji view
The view - pay for the view and it is amazing
The bed and linen - perfect, comfy and clean
Bathroom toiletries - lovely smelling and plentiful free accessories you may need

Annoying things:
Poor English from the staff which given how many Europeans were staying here every time, is a surprise
Rubbish concierge help - they didn't know where one of the most famous museums was, what time it opened and gave false information regarding a public holiday where all dept stores were closed. They're just pretty unhelpful to be honest.
Breakfast - expensive and unfulfilling. Every time I have it I wish I didn't. Nothing exciting or nice or worth £20 per head
Smoking - the lobby and main communal parts should NOT be smoke areas. It smelt horrid the minute you arrive
Showers - really old school with naff plastic curtains on a pole over the bath. The angle of the shower only has to be slightly wrong and you end up with a wet bathroom floor
Hangers and wardrobe - tiny and just 4 hangers! A joke!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the tokyo tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    559
    118
    28
    11
See reviews for
191
667
119
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Park Hotel Tokyo is one of my favourite hotels in the world. It occupies the 25th to 34th floors of the Shiodome Media Tower and has fantastic views towards the Tokyo Tower and Mount Fuji when the weather is clear. In other directions you can see the Tokyo SkyTree and Tokyo Bay. I could sit in the window and watch the view at night for hours.

It is very conveniently located for Shiodome and more usefully Shimbashi stations with the Oedo and Yamanote lines being very useful for getting around Tokyo. There are a number of restaurants in the surrounding area or you can walk to Ginza in about 20 minutes. You can also get to the Odaiba area via the Yurikamome Line quite conveniently

The hotel was very clean. We had a Premium King which for Tokyo was extremely spacious and had plenty of room for both an extra bed for our daughter and a cot for our baby in a living area off the area where the bed was. This gave us some privacy in the evening from our children. The hotel was very accommodating towards our children and made them feel welcome which isn't always the case in a business hotel.

We had very helpful communication via email with the Reservations Department in advance to make sure that everything was fine. We had no problem communicating with anyone in English.

My only complaint is that you sometimes have to wait a while for the lift to get down from the 25th floor lobby to the outside world...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tokyo Tower. If you're lucky, on a clear day, you'll see M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is located in a great position, right on the monorail to Odaiba and close to the Subway and JR lines. The staff were really great, as was the view to the Tokyo tower. The staff sorted us restaurant bookings, Sumo tickets and even a blow-wave. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room itself was small by Western standards, but more than big enough.

Room Tip: Its worth paying extra for the view of Mount Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here at the end of August 2012. Our trip was great but I wish we'd waited about a month because it was very hot and humid. This hotel is in a great location. The train station nearest is rather useless but there's another much bigger station that we always used and it took us pretty much anywhere. Someone described the trains in Japan as an organized bowl or ramen noodles and boy were they right. Back to the hotel. We had the breakfast option and it was well worth it. Because of the time change we were waking up pretty early everyday. It was such a relief to get a big breakfast in the morning before we started our long days of walking, sightseeing, getting lost, etc. The rooms were small (which is normal) but very comfortable. However, there was no top sheet on the beds so if you get hot at night you either have to sleep with nothing to cover you or you have to ask for a sheet from the maid service. I loved that the hotel started on the 25th or so floor. We had great views from our room! I wish we could have stayed longer because I loved it that much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

First, they do not have adequate staff that speaks English. The gentleman who checked us in spoke English great, but he is the only one. The rooms are nice and amenities good, except some soap would be nice instead of the bath gel that looks just like the shampoo.

The room service selection is very poor. Even trying to order coffe was difficult. They could not understand artificial sweetener for coffee (after a number of tries, they call it "unsugar sugar". We ate in the lobby restaurant for lunch. They has a bugler for 18,000 yen. We asked to have them cooked medium and was told they were cooked well done and they could not do it any other way. For 18,000 yen and at a hotel of this caliber, I would expect them to cook it any way we wanted.

The hotel maid service is horrible. They would. To throw away an empty soda bottle, used tissue or an empty box. They have cups in the bathroom and they would not clean and put them away (I had the cup at bedside with water in it).

The wifi would go on and off and she asking about it, they could not understand what we were talking about.

When I make may reservation with the concierge for transport to the airport, I mentioned that we were disappointed and he response was a very non caring, "sorry" . He never asked why and did not seem to care one bit

For the price, we just expected more

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

i really recommended this place because of relaxing atmosfere. they offered a great views from a main reception area. although we get a quite small room but the services that they provided feel us like home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After a long journey from London via FInland, The Park Hotel picked us up and brought us to a relaxing, well-located retreat. The rooms were generously large for a big city. The hotel is perfectly located to hit the Shijuki Fish Market at 4am.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-7-1 Higashi Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-7227, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Minato
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#12 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Minato
Park Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.