We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A classic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you're looking for a glam modern high rise hotel, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a classic feel, great service, and an amazing sushi bar right downstairs then stay here. Rooms were excellent, spacious and clean. Location is on the quiet side and financial-district-y so not much to do after hours here. The concierge really bends over backwards to supply your needs and that did not go unnoticed. There is a pretty park nearby too where one can go for a walk or jog. Gym facilities were very nice and well kept, however, be warned that it costs about $35/pp extra per day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    396
    102
    29
    19
See reviews for
232
213
120
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
84 hotel reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

At first, we were a bit disappointed as the swimming pool was not yet open (in late June), and there were a couple of small problems with the room. When I signaled this, we were kindly offered a better and very nice room. Throughout our stay, all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We did not try breakfast or dining but did very much enjoy the hotel's decoration and comfort. A couple of metro stations lie just downhill, making it easy to access livelier areas of Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Although I usually like modern or old style european hotels this hotel was just beautiful. The lobby and dinning areas felt very classic, very Japanese. Not in the modern sense but in the classic way. The breakfast buffet was good and included champagne (which made my day). IT's located very close to ropngi area and metro's so it was very able to access areas like Shinjuku and Shibuya. The staff were helpful and very friendly. The rooms were somewhat old but still clean. very spacious for Tokyo. All in all it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. Request to stay in the Main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you enjoy the feeling of going back in time when it comes to a hotel than I highly recommend this place.

I stayed here as I heard that they will be renovating the main building in time for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and wanted to experience the old school Japan.

Very easy access especially if you take a cab from Tokyo Station (no traffic around 1500-1600yen). Not so if taking the metro with a suitcase as it's uphill from the nearest station.

I noticed the service at reception and bellhops (porters) depends on the person.
My experience:
I tried to check in early around 10:30 coming off a 24hr flight but was welcomed by an unfriendly receptionist who was a bit rude about no room being available until the 14:00pm check in. I have stayed at many hotels arriving early and most receptionist try to make an effort in looking for a room or making suggestions until check-in time--none of this was given by this particular receptionist just seemed as though he was going through the motion and not the usual excellent Japanese customer service. However, the lady who checked me in at 14:00pm was very friendly and remembered me from earlier and apologised for the wait.
The porter who helped me check in was very helpful and sweet but the one who helped me check out seemed very stressed and was very rushed.

I stayed in the Comfort Single.
Very spacious and enough space for couples. The bathroom has separate bath and shower room which was very lovely and relaxing.

My stay also included breakfast and I opted for the Japanese restaurant which was very nice and quickly served.

Check-out was smooth and people are constantly around to help with bags and taxis.

It's a shame for the old ambiance to go away!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was a bit disappointed with my first stay at Hotel Okura. I felt it was dated, dark and a little dank. but on my most recent stay, I just loved it. This is the Mandarin Hotel of Tokyo - timeless history and elegance, without going overboard. Yes, a bit dated, but well maintained and still a high style experience. Impeccable attention to detail in service, from point of entry to housekeeping. Excellent location, especially if you use Google Maps to figure out where you are so you can take a quick walk to nearby offices or sites. May not exactly be the hotel of choice for family vacations, but for work stays, you can't beat it. And in Tokyo, everybody knows this place, so it's easy to get to from anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is one of the oldest hotels in Japan. Service is excellent. Decor is a little '70s but adds to its charm. Good gym and sauna areas. Excellent whisky bar on ground floor, Bar Highlander, which has a good number of my yen. Very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Rooms very comfy. Breakfast was buffet like usual with good choice of Western and Japanese. Nice location especially if on business. No where is too far in taxi. Nearest train/metro just 8 minutes walk. Was told they'll be closing main wing next year in preparation for Tokyo Olympics. 3.5 year renovation planned. Business as usual in their south wing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Minato
#6 Family Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Business Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 818
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In both the Main Building and South Wing, where Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.