We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice tea ceremony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-8416, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 827 Reviews
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice tea ceremony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very nice hotel, easy to reach. Great location, located next to many embassies, as the US, the Georgian and the Micronesian.
We were there to have a tea ceremony which was really nice and authentic and traditional and in English. The staff is really friendy and tries to make the hotel guests happy and want to come back The offered prices are average and really approriate. Inside the hotel you feel the international Flair which makes you feel home.
Okura is right next to the US-Embassy, wich is protected very strictly, (I tried to take a photo but was not allowed) Because of that all so you feel really safe. Staff speaks English. They also have a beautiful garden with a great international caffee.

The inside is a little bit dark, but by the time you get used to this conditions.

Extra: The hotel offers English-speaking tea ceremonys, I'll add a pic of one.

Would come again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    328
    84
    21
    14
See reviews for
178
158
98
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in mid July. Had 2 rooms- a King size bed room and 2 single beds room.

The accommodations were excellent, clean, and had anything you could wish for. The hotel is huge and getting from the main building to the South Wing where we stayed, is quite a trek, with stairs and escalators on the way.

The concierges (plural) at the hotel were absolutely great. I wanted a variety of restaurants booked, and corresponded with them prior to arrival via e-mail, many many times. they booked, changed, re-booked, top restaurants I have asked for, and recommended others (which were great). They booked various entertainment for us, and were able to provide all the info needed for a non-japanese speaking visitor.

On the odd side - when I wanted to use the gym, it turns out that there was a substantial cost associated with that ~$50. I ended up not using the gym.

Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK/Detroit, MI, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Okura for a few nights whilst in Japan on business. In summary:

(1) The hotel is in a good location, with access to restaurants, bars and transportation (metro). You can also walk to Roppongi in under 20 min.

(2) The service is excellent and the front desk staff speak English.

(3) The property itself is old / dated, but impeccably clean. It is very "japanese". Rooms are large and the wireless works well (its free).

In the end, the only thing that brings down the property is its dated interior; If it wasn't for that, I would stay there again. If your looking for a more modern hotel in the area, try the ANA Intercontinental around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently spent five nights at the Hotel Okura in Tokyo. And I could probably agree with some of the negatives raised in previous reviews. Yes, the neighborhood is a bit nondescript and yes, the interior is in spots a little threadbare, and yes, it’s a bit of a hike to the metro station, and yes, there are probably more luxurious and contemporary hotels in Tokyo. But for me, all that fades to irrelevance the moment you walk in the door of this hotel. Serenity pervades this vast yet intimate place. The welcome from everyone is genuinely warm and quietly gracious. And everywhere you turn is simple beauty.
I’ll concede that the Hotel Okura is probably not for everyone. If you want to be in the heart of the “action,” if you want expansive city views, if you are looking for all the latest luxuries and amenities, then you probably want to look elsewhere. But for me, the Hotel Okura is a very special place just as it is, a hotel I would hope to visit again and again.

Room Tip: We were in the South Wing -- and once we found that the wing had its own entrance and close to its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time here. Very clean rooms and attentive, professional staff! Room was spotless and spacious. Roppongi Hills was a 15min walk and the Roppongi-Ischome train stop and literally right down the street from the hotel, 5 min walk max. Shinjuku, 20mins way, Ginza- 20mins away, Imperial Palace- about 30mins (if that), and Sensoji Temples- 40-50mins (if that). All by train which is very easy to learn:)

Felt breakfast was a little expensive at $70usd for two and not a big selection. Would suggest eating elsewhere. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance and I would suggest looking for the Lauderdale restaurant (Western and Eastern breakfast). Very cheap, and good. A bit hard to find, but WORTH it and it is there! Don't get discouraged when looking for it. Right across from the Burberry near the Citi Bank in Roppongi. Hidden gem along with this hotel. Beds were okay, wifi was free and fast!! If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay with excellent staff, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Also, surrounding area of hotel seemed very safe. U.S Embassy right across the street. No worries for me personally. But, I would suggest getting Japanese yen at the airport because hotel and nearby atm's DO NOT accept American cards. Had to walk to Citi Bank in Roppongi Hills (about 20-25mins for this side of Roppongi, but time goes by fast when enjoying the sites). Have a safe and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is very good, close to Tokyo metro and two different stations. 10-15 mns walk to Roppongi, Tokyo tower. Nice and spatious rooms and the staff is excellent. At the botel are a couple of restaurants which are quite pricey. In the surroundings there are conveniant stores, cafés and some restaurants, the area is very quiey during night time comparing to nearby bustling Roppongi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolute case study for impeccable customer service. The girls in the reception area are waiting for the customers to arrive. They offer to take the luggage (bit embarassing from me though!). Check in very fast and efficient. All the way, you feel welcome. Very nice Japanese hospitality.
The girl who helped with the check in then escorted to the room and even explained some of the features of the room and asked if i had any questions. Wow,
The room was nice and cozy. Bathroom was loaded with all the toiletaries including mini after shave lotion, It had usual mini bar and a coffee station. The hotel is really big. It has luggage service, small shops, lot of banquet halls.
I booked bus to go to the airport and once again it was handled very efficiently. Even though it was last bus to the airport, it was less than 50% occupied even after picking up passengers from 3 other hotels.
The breakfast is not included in the room plan and i skipped it to have a nice coffee at Starbucks. I ordered sandwich in room service and it was nice and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-8416, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Minato
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 818
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In both the Main Building and South Wing, where Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.