We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business support” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8416, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 93 hotels in Minato
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good for business support”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found this hotel very well organised and maintained; the staff were excellent. It may be too expensive for a holiday, especailly if you wanted to eat breakfast in the hotel. The take away area of the Camelia cafe was handy. The bar was very expensive at the current exchange rate. It is not that near the metro and is in one of the business districts: however the area is pleasant and the museum and its small garden is a welcome respite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    246
    68
    16
    11
See reviews for
128
121
77
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aoyama Dori and San Jose
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Many visitors to Tokyo have mixed feelings about the Okura. It is an older hotel but at one point was rated the finest hotel in the world by some. It has not lost any of the charm and elegance that it always had. Unlike most other high end hotels in the world the Okura retains the elegance that the newer hotels substitute with modernization, fancy and exotic materials, technology and gaudy ambiance. "Dated" is a common description but in my opinion this is due to an expectation that expensive=modern. If you are expecting Ritz-Carlton, Mandarin Oriental or Park Hyatt luxury and ambiance then most certainly avoid the Okura. The problems with those 5-star hotels is you wake up no knowing what country you're in because they all look and feel alike. When you stay at the Okura you know you are in Japan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Went during summer and like everywhere else in Japan A/C was minimal. One would think with a 5 star hotel that wouldn't be an issue but it was and our stay wasn't that comfortable. More spacious than the average Japanese hotel but u pay for evey extra inch. Food at the restaurant was disappointing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Okura Tokyo. The location was good, but not great - Toranomon is a quieter area of town, across from the US Embassy. I think I would have preferred staying in either Roppongi or Shibuya areas of Tokyo.
The hotel seems like it is stuck in 1980s. It is wonderfully maintained though and extremely clean, but just dated. The pool and spa were both very nice, but could probably benefit from being modernized. My other problem was that we requested non-smoking rooms, but they were definitely smoking and it was not nice waking up to the vague smell of smoke coming from the neighboring rooms. It only happened one morning, but it was still not pleasant...
I liked the hotel overall, but I think that it was way overpriced - too expensive for the value it was offering.

Room Tip: My friend stayed in the South Wing, which was apperently more modern and non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

RECOMMENDED but just: This my 2nd visit to this property. To set the stage, you nearly anticipate to see James Bond as you turn the next corner. The setting of this property is from the 60's and like the Queen Mary, the Okura plys the waters in a regal and stately manner.

The hotel is located near to 3 metro stops, but sadly there is scant little in the neighborhood to do/eat, it's pretty dead at night. I don't think I'd recommend this for a tourist visit for this reason alone.

If you have business in the neighborhood, then this is a fine choice. The Okura caters to the numerous nearby embassies and the crowd is mostly older and nearly everyone is in a business suit (so not a hip trendy sort of place). Even when running at full capacity, the hotel is nearly dead quiet.

Having said that, the rooms are comfortable though everything is slowly aging (gracefully). Service is over the top and they run around eager to cater to whatever desire you may have. Cheap though, it is not.

If I have a negative, the American breakfast buffet is not befitting the hotel. Something is missing though I struggled to identify exactly what. My group complained mostly about how the eggs were cooked. The hotel recently added Wi-fi and it's free throughout the hotel (a nice addition).

The short is -- if you're placed here have nothing to fear, the staff and hotel will take good care of you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When in Tokyo I usually stay either in Gnza, on Tokyo Bay or in the Shinagawa area as there is a lot to do in each of these locations. This time, however, the arrangements were made on my behalf and I went with their suggestion - Hotel Okura. This is a very nice, quiet hotel - very quiet despite its size - which I would highly recommend for someone who does not like the glitz and bustle of some of tokyo's other areas. The hotel is a nice oasis of calm and elegance. I had a Deluxe Room which was very nice and suprisingly spacious. The food in the hotel was good and not crazily over-priced like in some Tokyo hotels. The hotel is walking distance to Hibiya Park, the Imperial Gardens and the area. I really enjoyed Hibiya Park which had a current exhibition on Japanese gardens. All in all a very good hotel for a quieter, business-oriented stay in Tokyo.

Room Tip: The South Wing seems a little quieter to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love the Okura for its architecture, its spaces, its general athmosphere. I was here the last time approx. 5 years ago and would not have chosen another hotel to come back to. However, this time I was disappointed by the general service mentality, that does not meet the standars one would expect in this range. We had a reservation for three nights and wanted to extend for a fourth night. There was space, but they asked for an extra 4'000 because it was a Saturday. They refuse to do a computer print-out for their guests - you have to rent a printer in the business centre and then pay by the page - stuff like that. No big deal, but nagging details which makes you feel as though you are in a big business machine rather than a special guest of the house - and that is what a luxury hotel should be all about...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan
Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8416, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minato
#6 Business Hotel in Minato
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In both the Main Building and South Wing, where Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.