We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too overpriced bad food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-8416, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 831 Reviews
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too overpriced bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Went during summer and like everywhere else in Japan A/C was minimal. One would think with a 5 star hotel that wouldn't be an issue but it was and our stay wasn't that comfortable. More spacious than the average Japanese hotel but u pay for evey extra inch. Food at the restaurant was disappointing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    328
    85
    21
    14
See reviews for
178
160
100
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Okura Tokyo. The location was good, but not great - Toranomon is a quieter area of town, across from the US Embassy. I think I would have preferred staying in either Roppongi or Shibuya areas of Tokyo.
The hotel seems like it is stuck in 1980s. It is wonderfully maintained though and extremely clean, but just dated. The pool and spa were both very nice, but could probably benefit from being modernized. My other problem was that we requested non-smoking rooms, but they were definitely smoking and it was not nice waking up to the vague smell of smoke coming from the neighboring rooms. It only happened one morning, but it was still not pleasant...
I liked the hotel overall, but I think that it was way overpriced - too expensive for the value it was offering.

Room Tip: My friend stayed in the South Wing, which was apperently more modern and non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

RECOMMENDED but just: This my 2nd visit to this property. To set the stage, you nearly anticipate to see James Bond as you turn the next corner. The setting of this property is from the 60's and like the Queen Mary, the Okura plys the waters in a regal and stately manner.

The hotel is located near to 3 metro stops, but sadly there is scant little in the neighborhood to do/eat, it's pretty dead at night. I don't think I'd recommend this for a tourist visit for this reason alone.

If you have business in the neighborhood, then this is a fine choice. The Okura caters to the numerous nearby embassies and the crowd is mostly older and nearly everyone is in a business suit (so not a hip trendy sort of place). Even when running at full capacity, the hotel is nearly dead quiet.

Having said that, the rooms are comfortable though everything is slowly aging (gracefully). Service is over the top and they run around eager to cater to whatever desire you may have. Cheap though, it is not.

If I have a negative, the American breakfast buffet is not befitting the hotel. Something is missing though I struggled to identify exactly what. My group complained mostly about how the eggs were cooked. The hotel recently added Wi-fi and it's free throughout the hotel (a nice addition).

The short is -- if you're placed here have nothing to fear, the staff and hotel will take good care of you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When in Tokyo I usually stay either in Gnza, on Tokyo Bay or in the Shinagawa area as there is a lot to do in each of these locations. This time, however, the arrangements were made on my behalf and I went with their suggestion - Hotel Okura. This is a very nice, quiet hotel - very quiet despite its size - which I would highly recommend for someone who does not like the glitz and bustle of some of tokyo's other areas. The hotel is a nice oasis of calm and elegance. I had a Deluxe Room which was very nice and suprisingly spacious. The food in the hotel was good and not crazily over-priced like in some Tokyo hotels. The hotel is walking distance to Hibiya Park, the Imperial Gardens and the area. I really enjoyed Hibiya Park which had a current exhibition on Japanese gardens. All in all a very good hotel for a quieter, business-oriented stay in Tokyo.

Room Tip: The South Wing seems a little quieter to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love the Okura for its architecture, its spaces, its general athmosphere. I was here the last time approx. 5 years ago and would not have chosen another hotel to come back to. However, this time I was disappointed by the general service mentality, that does not meet the standars one would expect in this range. We had a reservation for three nights and wanted to extend for a fourth night. There was space, but they asked for an extra 4'000 because it was a Saturday. They refuse to do a computer print-out for their guests - you have to rent a printer in the business centre and then pay by the page - stuff like that. No big deal, but nagging details which makes you feel as though you are in a big business machine rather than a special guest of the house - and that is what a luxury hotel should be all about...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Okura, but got off to a rough start. Had to change rooms after checking in, as the first did not appear to have been cleaned properly, and took a long time for the staff to retrieve my luggage and switch rooms. Glad I changed, though, as the bathroom in the second room appeared to be much larger, with a separate shower/bath combination.

Upon departure, took the bus back to Narita, and was all a very smooth and comfortable trip. Only had to make 1-2 stops.

Overall, the Hotel Okura Tokyo is a nice enough hotel. The staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and overlooking a nice garden area. I will stay here again if/when I travel to Tokyo in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first visit to Japan. We enjoyed every second and minute of our stay there. The Okura staff are very professional and nice. The lobby is is beautiful. It is very obvious the staff have pride in their hotel. The hotel is very clean. The room we stayed is nice and the bathrooms are amazing! The breakfast buffet was our favorite. We ate there the whole week we stayed at the Okura. We would like to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-8416, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#7 Spa Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 818
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In both the Main Building and South Wing, where Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.