We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never heard the word 'no'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Never heard the word 'no'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

RECOMMENDED: The Hotel Okura like a Grand Dame Ocean Liner plies through the water calmly and sedately ignoring whatever the latest trends are outside, comfortable with well worn tradition. You won't find rock stars staying here nor will you find families on vacation with noisy kids. This is a serious hotel for serious business people. Suit n' tie are the norm.

Staff are everywhere in the hotel and you will be greeted like royalty and attended to equally as well. Every request was quickly dispensed with and the staff gets credit for advance thinking of your needs.

Check-in is professional and efficient. The hotel property is showing a bit of age, but it's all well maintained, clean and polished daily. Rooms are nicely sized and well appointed. Comfortable would be the word. Quality and comfortable bedding. Total black out curtains. A small well stocked frig and coffee/tea service.

The bathroom is smallish and showing a bit of age, but it was built with good ingredients and is well illuminated. A non-fog mirror is a little touch that many guests might overlook.

On the downside, some minor minus points (wallpaper coming off the wall in some areas), the hotel restaurant is frightfully expensive and the morning breakfast buffet while perfectly acceptable isn't over the top - keep this property from earning a full 5* from me.

It is difficult to escape the hotel by foot. Though the nearest subway is a short 10 min walk. There is not a huge variety of evening entertainment/restaurants in this business center area.

All is in all, if the location suits your needs as well as whatever room rate you acquire, this hotel would certainly deserve your attention for an authentic Japanese experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    383
    101
    27
    16
See reviews for
217
195
116
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have stayed here twice and felt I was well taken care of. The rooms are clean beside the big stain in my carpet. I'm sure you can get a better hotel for the price but if you need to be near the US embassy it's a no brainer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed here because it is an easy walk to our Tokyo office. The hotel is quite old-fashioned but I don't mean this in a negative sense. Very well maintained, spacious rooms (for Tokyo standards), superb service.Hotel restaurants are very pricey -- but then again so is everything in Tokyo.

While I have nothing to complain about I probably wouldn't stay here for a vacation trip. I'd rather pick an hotel such as the Dai-ichi, which is more conveniently located for restaurants, shopping, and railroad/subway connections. The Okura is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Okura over the New Year's Eve weekend.

Wanting to experience the train system in Japan, I took the Narita Express to Tokyo Station and them jumped on the metro and walked to hotel from station. Easy walk except for the last 50m, which is uphill and not convenient with a roll-on bag.

From the moment of being greeted by exceptional doormen, then the porters (mostly female) and finally the Front Desk, everyone was extremely pleasant, courteous and professional.

Check-in was a breeze and I was in my room within 5 minutes of arrival at the hotel. EVERYONE in the common areas (door, lobby, restaurants, Front Office) spoke English.

The room was a nice size for Tokyo, modern amenities and very clean. Ample closet space and dresser space for storing of clothing.

Bathroom was well-stocked with every type of amenity needed (brush/comb, toothpaste/brush, shaving kit, etc.).

Located in the Embassy Row section of Tokyo (US, Sweden, Spain and Saudi Arabia are few of the neighbors that I saw), it's a very easy walk to Roppongi Hills for shopping, dining, etc.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I had an "inside" room on the 7th floor of the Main Wing and a Japanese garden was directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I know this hotel well for both functions and accommodation. They manage to maintain the old traditional super courteous Japanese service and the stay this time (late December) was no exception. The service may appear slightly over the top now and then but it surely guarantees guests a pleasant stay. Rooms are equipped with very comfortable bed, and a plenty of amenities in the bathroom. Laundry service is reliable and delicately done (comes back with a little bit too much packaging, though). Restaurants are all good although it is a little pricey except breakfast and lunch. Very convenient access from Narita airport, either direct transport by Airport limousine bus or a short taxi ride from Tokyo station after taking a Narita Express. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very attentive staff, very clean, and excellent location, but realize that if you do not book a full price room you are going to miss out on several perks, such as being able to get frequent flier points for your stay. I had a discounted room and they would not add any frequent flier points from my stay.

Other than that, what a nice place to stay, and many restaurant options. You cannot beat the location. However, to save money on food I walked over to the Ark Mori building complex to eat because there are several places I like to eat there that are comfortable for a solo business traveler.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I appeared at a Japan Patent Office hearing and needed a convenient and comfortable hotel. Hotel Okura provides simply outstanding courtesy and service and its location is ideal- a short walk to government offices in Kasumigaseki. The "limousine" bus to and from Narita also is priced favorably and convenient. My room on the 9th floor was large, comfortable, stylish and immaculate. I wish there had been wifi and it took me two days to find the ethernet cable hiding behind the television, but once I connected the internet was reasonably fast and free. The room cost was fair considering the amount of space and amenities. My only negative would be about the hotel restaurants. I had breakfast at two of them and dinner at one. All were very expensive and the quality was marginal. There are many good and much less expensive restaurants in office buildings and shopping centers within a short walk, so I recommend that you considering exploring the surroundings where you will find outstanding food and fair prices. One that I enjoyed was an Okinawan restaurant called Deigo right next to the JPO on Sotobori Dori.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#10 Business Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 818
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In both the Main Building and South Wing, where Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.