We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh how I want to say good things...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Prince Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tokyo Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tokyo Prince Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8560, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 93 hotels in Minato
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oh how I want to say good things...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked the Tokyo Prince Hotel because we heard the rooms were larger than average at decent prices. This was true but I wouldn't not worth the it. The staff was friendly, it's close to subway stations, views of Tokyo tower, and there is a vending machine that serves beer but those are the highlights.
The hotel is old and in desperate need of a makeover. The sheets, carpet, shower, and sinks were old and dingy. You could tell the room was "clean" but it didn't feel that way. We originally opted for the bigger room without a view but upon arrival, we asked for a view. The only one available was a smoking room. We thought that a room with the smaller, smoking room with a view was better than the big room over looking the empty parking lot. There isn't much to do around the hotel so if you're looking for a hotel with action right outside the door, don't book here. There seemed to be a lot of tour companies having their guests stay here. Every morning, they would be a huge tour bus bringing dozens of elderly tourists to and from. We considered moving to an area with more nightlife but didn't end up moving. After checking out the city, we decided since we like action, people watching, dining out, we should have stayed in Shibuya. Rooms large. Cheap prices. Close to subways.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    182
    67
    15
    8
See reviews for
75
74
43
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Reasonably priced room in an exciting area of Tokyo. Short walk to train transportation to move within the city.
Service staff was very accommodating and eager to help.
I would stay here again on future visits to Japan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place is where you want to be if you're planning on seeing the Tokyo Tower or spending any time in Minato or Roppongi Hills. It's a short walk or cab ride from Daimon station, which is convenient.

Our room was very spacious compared to all of our other rooms throughout Japan on this trip, as is the bathroom. Lots of room to move around, comfotable temperature control and in-house dining (if desired) make this hotel a pretty good value. Nice gardens also flank the complex, making for some nice walking if you haven't had your share already.

All in all, happy with our choice.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the tower, be sure to specify when you make your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

When staying in Tokyo I'd never been at ease with my hotel until I came here. It is wonderfully located - on my spare day I decided to book a tour but found that most things - Tower, Temple were within walking distance!! The grounds are lovely and for me- a runner- the circuits on the road and in the park is just fine. I liked the Lawson 7-11 in the basement and it is normally priced. I have to say that I did use it as an alternative to the restaurants which I found too expensive. There is a beer garden which is good fun and a pool. The rooms are very big but if you are on your own - 1 towel only! I thought the hotel was very much worthwhile and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very peaceful despite it s size. Gardens beautiful and lovely to access - quite inspiring. Good service and staff all polite and helpful. Breakfasts had great variety in fact anything you could think of. Location. Wry handy got the station .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is very well priced for what you get. Efficient staff, clean spacious rooms conveniently located close to Tokyo Tower. Internet router in every room and shuttle bus to the train station. Some staff speaks English and are all ready to help.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice Hotel - Located next to Tokyo Tower, Prince hotel is a very good hotel. The staff is friendly and the rooms were okay. This is a hotel that is great for people spending a lot of time in the city and want to sleep and relax in their hotel. Great location and great views of Tokyo. Rooms are small, but there are smaller rooms in Tokyo. Very clean. The Staff is super friendly and helped in every way possible. Will return. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tokyo Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Prince Hotel

Address: 3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8560, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Prince Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to a quiet, leafy forest in the heart of Tokyo, the Tokyo Prince Hotel offers tranquility in a centralized location. Serene sculptured gardens outside your guest room windows give no hint of the bustle of the city beyond. With outstanding hospitality, luxurious rooms, first-class restaurants and a spacious parking area, the Tokyo Prince Hotel provides a convenient base for world-class travelers and business people alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tokyo Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Tokyo Prince Hotel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.