We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here only if you have to.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Prince Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tokyo Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Tokyo Prince Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato 105-8560, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay here only if you have to.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just checked in. Similar to other reviews agree that there is a very funky smell in the place. Only here for one night as it was the only reservation I could get. Room and bathrooms are extremely dated. Very strange as the space could be so much nicer if they upgraded, but I would bet they are planning on tearing it down and aren't putting anything into until that happens. Bathroom was so dirty that I started cleaning the doors, woodwork myself. Will post a pic of the grime.
Size of the room was very good, so realize you are paying solely for size and location and nothing for room cleanliness, smell and decor.

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing Tokyo Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    221
    84
    16
    8
See reviews for
94
80
52
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Solid hotel, in a great location. Rooms quite dated and nothing to write home about, bit of a weird smell. Hotel in a very nice location and we had a good view of the Tokyo Tower from the room. F&B seemed overpriced.

One good part is saying no to daily room service to get a JPY500 voucher - bought a few beers and saved the planet. :)

Outside pool shut during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Good location if business in Minato and if want early jog in the morning around Hotel (see picture, park, temple, cherry blossoms and Tokyo Tower). Breakfast soso: they give discount vouchers but 2 out of 2 times 20 minutes waiting time for the "American Buffet". A la carte no waiting but no choice and food not specatcular. Japanese Breakfast no waiting time but not everybody's taste. Overall ok for business stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night. The view was awesome because you can see Tokyo Tower from our window. Despite the view, I will not stay at this hotel until there is a renovation with the rooms. The rooms are old with a distinct odor which caused us to check out early. I originally booked this hotel because I was reading reviews and pictures look good. When I arrived, it had a nice lobby but the rooms were older. I wish I l knew about the strange smell. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. We arrived at checkin at was greeted and taken to the reception area, we had booked a non smoking double room. We was taken to our room and so was our baggage by 2 helpers.

We arrived at the room and realised it was a smoking room! U could smell the old smoke smell! Not impressed! We didn't go back to reception as we wanted to get out and about so we decided to keep the room, the decor was awful....erm bright turquoise carpet and white walls! Was we In the Caribbean! Lol awfull! The room was a good size, bed was comfy but just very dated including bathroom. The room and hotel was clean so no issues there.

The location is really good just 5 mins walk to the tower and 2-5mins walk to restaurants...OMG amazing breakfast cafe just down and the bottom of the car park on the right...Amazing Cakes and baked goods. It is also about 10mins walk to the local tube station, 5-10mins walk to a Starbucks & subway sandwich & family mart.

Overall I like the hotel but it needs a big facelift! Nothing special! Only memorable for the nice cafe at the end of the car park. Hotel is also in a really good location but I would pay a little more and go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was the second week long stay at this hotel. Both times have been very good. Location is excellent. Rooms are clean and have good-sized refrigerators.Nice views possible of the tower, or of the temple grounds. Multiple restaurants on site, all are good. Great selection of Japanese whiskey, too! Close to Roppongi and many subway stations. Helpful, foreigner friendly staff. If you need an ATM, go to the post office at the World Trade Center a few blocks away. Only problem this time was no climate control in the room, but fortunately the windows open.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower view or temple view. A temple view is nice if you are an early riser-- morning pray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Arriving from the airport it was just a short distance away once we crossed over the Rainbow Bridge. The Zinjo-ji Temple and the Tokyo Tower are adjacent to the hotel, so that was very convenient. There is a regulr shuttle to the train station, though it is only a 10-15 minute walk, also subway stations are close too. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were larger than we expected with the biggest double bed I have ever seen. Yes, it is a bit dated and the carpets could have done with a spring clean, but overall it was clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast, great location for touring around and the convenience store downstairs is incredibly handy if you arrive at an odd hour. This is one of the very few places I have been where the eco-friendly option works! If you have the limited cleaning service (no towel change etc) then you get a 500Yen voucher to spend in the convenience store or cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tokyo Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Prince Hotel

Address: 3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato 105-8560, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Prince Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to a quiet, leafy forest in the heart of Tokyo, the Tokyo Prince Hotel offers tranquility in a centralized location. Serene sculptured gardens outside your guest room windows give no hint of the bustle of the city beyond. With outstanding hospitality, luxurious rooms, first-class restaurants and a spacious parking area, the Tokyo Prince Hotel provides a convenient base for world-class travelers and business people alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tokyo Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Tokyo Prince Hotel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.