We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold Your Nose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Prince Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tokyo Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Tokyo Prince Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato 105-8560, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 395 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Hold Your Nose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are spacious, the rates are competitive and the location is central. What could be wrong? Well, as other guests have noted, the rooms have an odd smell. Even opening the window and going out for an emergency run of room freshener couldn't disperse the odor in my 10th floor room. If you plan to spend very little time in your room then perhaps it might be worth the price.

On the upside the bed was spacious and comfortable and the in-room broadband wi-fi was free and glitch free.

I was charged $25 for a buffet breakfast that promised an omelette station but no cook was on duty and the laid-out fare was pretty unappetizing. Definitely skip the breakfast unless it's included in your room charge.

Room Tip: Sniff it out before agreeing to take a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    214
    79
    16
    8
See reviews for
89
80
49
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived just yesterday, october, 07, 2012, the room was with unpleasant smelt and the air conditioning does not work. The front desk ladie was very unpolite(in my personal view) and, to make things worse, she insist in charge us for three nights. All the reservatns sites charges 1 night in case of unjustified cancellation. Our cancellation is a very justified one. We are going to other hotel and we will try to make a honest and market practice cancellation. We do believe that this hotel way to make money is not sustainable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Oh well we just stay there for quite few hours because of a sudden emergency landing from our trip. but we enjoyed our stay in Prince Hotel for we had a good rest and the food was ok. it was a free from our airline.

Room Tip: Yipeeeee! Rooms. higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed this hotel for a night only. The hotel does look a bit aging but clean. Room was fine. The staff were friendly. Our room faces Tokyo Tower and brights up at night. All amenities offered are standard but we can not complain. Breakfast was fine. This hotel is close to anything. Good choice for travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Enjoyed my stay here. Big rooms, beds, good air conditioning, friendly staff (but not too overly friendly like other Japanese hotels), convenience store has tons of great stuff, very good breakfast buffet

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was here on a solo vacation. I arrived a bit early for check-in, they gladly took my bags and stored them while I spent some time at the temple next door. The location is great. Three different subway stops within walking distance - the train stop isn't much further. Tokyo Tower is a great view from the room, lights up at night and looks amazing. The rooms were a bit small (at lest compared to American standards), the door even hit the bed when opening from the hallway. Everyone was very English friendly, and it made for a convenient stay at the hotel. A bunch of great options near by for dining as well. I would recommend this hotel for someone looking to experience Tokyo. The staff was great in helping with directions and translations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Tokyo Prince during our trip to Tokyo. While not a luxury hotel, it was perfect for our needs since we were out most of the time anyway.

The shuttle was great - once we found it. Unfortunately the night we arrived with our luggage we could not find it and took a long and winding walk to get to the hotel. The bus picks up in the bus station that is inside the World Trade Center next door to Hammatsucho station. As you leave the train, stay alert for bus station signs and follow them. The hotel was also extremely walkable from the train station.

The room amenities were great. This may be a Japanese thing. There were toothbrushes and toothpaste, combs, and razors in addition to shampoo/conditioner/body wash. There was, however, no lotion.

The internet was good once we got it working, and the front desk can loan you a tiny wifi router so you have wifi in your room.

The breakfast was good, but expensive. It isn't mandatory though. I just tried it one day for kicks.

There is a Lawson's convenience store in the basement.

The beds were very firm, but extremely comfortable. I think it must be a different kind of mattress than what we see in the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tokyo Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Prince Hotel

Address: 3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato 105-8560, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Prince Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to a quiet, leafy forest in the heart of Tokyo, the Tokyo Prince Hotel offers tranquility in a centralized location. Serene sculptured gardens outside your guest room windows give no hint of the bustle of the city beyond. With outstanding hospitality, luxurious rooms, first-class restaurants and a spacious parking area, the Tokyo Prince Hotel provides a convenient base for world-class travelers and business people alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tokyo Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Tokyo Prince Hotel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.