We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, economical, comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Prince Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tokyo Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Tokyo Prince Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8560, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, economical, comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Tokyo Prince during our trip to Tokyo. While not a luxury hotel, it was perfect for our needs since we were out most of the time anyway.

The shuttle was great - once we found it. Unfortunately the night we arrived with our luggage we could not find it and took a long and winding walk to get to the hotel. The bus picks up in the bus station that is inside the World Trade Center next door to Hammatsucho station. As you leave the train, stay alert for bus station signs and follow them. The hotel was also extremely walkable from the train station.

The room amenities were great. This may be a Japanese thing. There were toothbrushes and toothpaste, combs, and razors in addition to shampoo/conditioner/body wash. There was, however, no lotion.

The internet was good once we got it working, and the front desk can loan you a tiny wifi router so you have wifi in your room.

The breakfast was good, but expensive. It isn't mandatory though. I just tried it one day for kicks.

There is a Lawson's convenience store in the basement.

The beds were very firm, but extremely comfortable. I think it must be a different kind of mattress than what we see in the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    206
    74
    15
    8
See reviews for
85
79
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Perfect for a couple of nights in Tokyo if heading off elsewhere in Japan. More of a business hotel but still has ace gadgets in the rooms from the early 1980s. Great views of Tokyo Tower from the rear rooms and close to a couple of subway stops as well as 10 mins walk from an overground station. Large clean rooms, great service and cheap if booked ahead or with a flight deal

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights prior to a cruise. The Hotel were very helpful in giving advice on the best way to get to Yokohama Port, going out of their way and ringing me on my cell phone with updates. English on the desk was patchy but for anything out of the ordinary they would get someone that had excellent English skills. The rooms were very nice, ours looked out on the Tower which is VERY close. Location was excellent. One block to Daimon metro and another 100 yards to the Hamamatsucho Station. It is well within walking distance but the hotel has a free shuttle service to the station every 30 minutes or so. Lots of nice places to eat within walking distance and lovely parks surround the Hotel.
Zojoji Temple was nearly on the doorstep and is worth a visit. We got the metro to the fish markets (3 stops) but walked back to the Hotel afterwards. The stroll took about 40 minutes but there was not a lot to see between the Hotel and the fish markets.
I left my Jacket in the room and wrote to them a month later when we returned home. They had the jacket and I gave them my CC details and I had it back home 2 days later. I doubt if that would happen at home.

Room Tip: There is a supermarket on the lower ground floor that is open until quite late. If you want to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very peaceful, clean, friendly and convenient! Loved it and would stay there again.

What a great place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. The rooms are well sized and they provide baby cots which is a bonus as we found many hotels in Tokyo city don't provide them. Free internet provided if you have your own laptop. There is a Lawson's convince store located in the hotel which is really handy as you can pick up food, drinks, snacks etc for quite a cheap price. The hotel is also a pick up point for the airport limousine and the Mt Fuji tours. Our baby got sick while we were staying at this hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were able to help us get medical assistance and for the rest of the stay, staff inquired about the health of our child and provided ice packs etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Really great place despite small rooms. Good service and ideally located, close to basically everything. Walking distance to shrine and Tokio tower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This Hotel is located within a few steps to the Tokyo Tower. I am an Eiffel Tower Fan and wanted to see this monument for my self. And it is such a nice tower you can have a visit to. The Hotel is located near the Rail stations that can take you around the city. THere are many Shops and Restaurants 5 minute walk. The only problem is that NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH. Im glad we can do Universal signs and smile to get what we wanted. THere is plenty of room in all of the rooms . Showers are clean, Beds are confortable. and the Lobby Personnel is extremely helpful. I woul dcome back to this location again. ANd would recommend this to anyone . Families, Business travelers or Backpack travelers. Have fun in your search.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tokyo Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Prince Hotel

Address: 3-3-1 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8560, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Prince Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to a quiet, leafy forest in the heart of Tokyo, the Tokyo Prince Hotel offers tranquility in a centralized location. Serene sculptured gardens outside your guest room windows give no hint of the bustle of the city beyond. With outstanding hospitality, luxurious rooms, first-class restaurants and a spacious parking area, the Tokyo Prince Hotel provides a convenient base for world-class travelers and business people alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tokyo Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Tokyo Prince Hotel Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.