We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at the Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, a short walk to Shinagawa station, one of the largest subway stations in Tokyo, which made it easy to get around. I admired the hotel décor and the attention to detail. Did I mention we counted three different styles of bathrobes in our room? We were also lucky enough to have the buffet breakfasts every morning, which was such a nice way to start our days, especially with the green smoothies. However, the one downside of the hotel was the concierge service. We were let down a few times by the concierge who was not prepared, unable to recommend restaurants and give exact directions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    128
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
92
61
44
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked five nights for 4 nights' worth of points, a Marriott Rewards perk I value. I highly recommend this hotel:

PROS
- Excellent Location. Located across the street from a major train station that has a Japan Railway LIne. Stores and restaurants are located close by.
- Garden brings tranquility to the property. You are looking down at trees, and not concrete, from your window
- Superb service (which may be a Japan thing). If I had to wait for as much as a minute the staff apologized profusely
- I was upgraded 4 of 5 nights to a spacious room with long, wide windows overlooking the garden. Considering the premium on space in Tokyo my room would probably be considered gigantic
- Quiet - I heard no other guests
- Spotless
- Nice touches: newspaper in English everyday, fruit on arrival, extra toiletries provided for me
- Temperature control (not an option at many properties today)
- Extensive complimentary breakfast
- Hot, forceful showers
- The most beautiful elevator doors I've ever seen!

CONS
- No sheets on the beds. I don't know if this a Japan thing or not
- No lounge

Wonderful property.

MR# 627746746

Room Tip: 4901 (corner rooms) was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Japanese really know how to do it right! Usually I start with positives and then go to negatives. This time I'll reverse because so few negatives. To begin with, the hotel is a bit dated. The fixtures a little old, etc. Second, the neighborhood in Shinagawa is a bit dull. Mostly business, and not much fun. However, the experience was such that I will definitely stay here again. The building, while older, feels very calm and soothing. There are a few flashes of tackiness (the neon stickers on the elevator doors come to mind), but mostly a beautiful space. The service was perfection. From the moment you land at their doorstep to the moment you leave, someone is attentive to your needs. Breakfast was okay, but nothing to write home about. For the money and the experience overall, I am definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

When it happent to a holiday and your holiday is during Cherry Blossom! I think its a must for you to stay in this Hotel. The Garden is really beautiful! With a Natural KOI Pond, breakfast wtih a Cherry Blossom tree view! Its really perfect , we miss it already. The service is really Japannese warm and hospitality! Two tumbs up for all the concierce and Customer Relation, they really willing to help you to call a restaurant for a reservation. To help you with any information you need. With additional a walking distance to Shinagawa Station. Thank you for a wonderful holiday memories that we have in your hotel. We defeneatly will comeback again if we visit Tokyo

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Autograph collection is the only building that is part of the Marriott chain. My colleagues tell me that this is the best of all the buildings in the Prince Sakura complex.
Staying in this hotel during cherry blossom time is like staying in a paradise on earth. The hotel has hundreds of cherry trees in its garden (see cherry trees map) and a fish pond with huge, pretty Koi fishes.
The room is spacious, extra clean and offers Nespresso coffee in the room. Hotel services are prompt and very courteous. I think the highlight of my stay here was the buffet breakfast that offers a wide choice of occidental and oriental dishes, 2 different kinds of fresh smoothies.
The hotel is a convenient short walk to the Shinagawa station, there is also a small market by the station selling very quality products. There is also an awesome isakaya serving fresh seafood at an affordable price. You just walk out of the hotel alley and when you reach the main street, cross the street and walk left a few stores it will be right there. It is hard to miss as the smell of grilled fish is sooo good…
I will certainly go back to this Autograph building for business!

Room Tip: Choose the Autograph building, ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed with my hubby with he was here on business and it is a fantastic hotel. Nicely sized by international standards, very clean and comfortable. Location wise it is surprisingly easy to go around as it is just 6 stops direct to Harajuku and less to Shibuya via JR! I would consider staying here again.

Can't say the breakfast was impressive though. By hotel standards the breakfast range is mediocre.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife used her Marriott points to redeem a room. As a gold member they even have us an upgrade at check-in. The room is much bigger than what we'd experienced in Tokyo. The bathroom is huge. It even has a jacuzzi! Toiletries are by Shiseido.

2 staff brought us to our room. One handled our 2 bags and the other engaged us in conversation and led the way. He knew a few phrases in Malay, which is pretty impressive. They would not accept tips. At check-in we also got the front desk to help us make reservations at a popular restaurant. As the outlet would only open in the evening, the front desk lady said she'd try to make reservations for us later. And she did indeed called is back. That's really good followup.

We had to queue for breakfast the next morning. The eggs - omelette and eggs benedict - we're exceptional good.

Behind the front desk and accessible thru the 2nd Floor is the Japanese Garden that is shared with a sister Prince Hotel in their campus. Very tranquil.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
#10 Business Hotel in Minato
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#25 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.