We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 369 Reviews
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I like this place. The location is solid and the rooms are nice and roomy and the surroundings are awesome too. The staff are nice and there is a shuttle bus that goes around if you cannot make the 5 minute stroll downhill to the train station. Its a little bit pricier than the ANA Intercontinental Tokyo. But way much more convenient. All of the other Prince hotels are within walking distance so you choice to Food and Beverage are all right there. And if you have kids, then you can walk over to the Shinagawa Prince and take them to bowling or the aquarium. Not a bad choice. Would come back here again but the $300+ a night was a bit steep for the property. The truly great thing about paying that price is location. Otherwise, Intercontinental has it beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    143
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
102
75
48
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Shinagawa JR station is practically across the street from the hotel. Much easier to find than I thought and easy for the Narita Expess. Take the Takanawa exit from the station and head towards the right. You'll walk past a pachinko place and a few small stores until you get to the first crosswalk. You'll see their sign, just walk up the hill. Jacuzzi tubs, spa, pool, robes and slippers. Some English speaking staff. Clean. Charges for breakfast (3400 yen or about 33 US Dollars) are ridiculous as are laundry fees ($6 to clean a t-shirt and it took two days to clean it.)

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

lovely hotel, great staff and great location. we stayed here for one week and enjoyed every minute of it. loved the convenience of hotel location to the train stations, loved the size of hotel rooms (which was huge by tokyo standards), and loved the breakfast! pricing was all also very reasonable. enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from a five night stay at The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo. It’s part of the Marriott Autograph collection so you can earn or redeem (as I did), your Marriott Rewards points here. It’s an easy five minute walk from the Shinagawa train station. The best way to get to the hotel from Narita is via the Narita Express train. As of April, 2014, if you show your international passport at the JR East ticket office at the airport, you’ll get your ticket at half off, around $15 USD.

When arriving at Shinagawa station, follow the signs for the West exit and at the bottom of the stairs, turn left as you walk out of the doors of the station and follow the sidewalk approx. 200 yards to the first crosswalk in front of the 7-11. It may appear as though you need to take the elevated crosswalk to cross the street but don’t, especially if you’re dragging luggage behind you. The crosswalk is easier and closer to the entrance road and sidewalk that leads up a small hill to the hotel.

The hotel is part of a group of buildings that includes two other hotels, some office buildings and a convention hall. Behind the hotel is a nicely landscaped park with a small pond, cherry blossom trees and a small shrine. The lobby and rooms are modern and recently remodeled. We were upgraded to a corner king room with a large bathroom complete with a sunken whirlpool tub, separate shower, dual sinks and heated floors. The toilet is located in a separate room down the hall complete with a small sink. The bedroom area was nicely appointed with lighting and automatic drape controls located next the very comfortable bed. There was ample drawer space and a huge walk-in closet that included a large safe. Climate control worked great as you could make the room as cool or as warm as you’d like within just a few minutes.

The hotel has a full gym and spa on the basement level which is free to Marriott Rewards guests as is the in-room internet connection. I’ve seen several negative reviews regarding the charges for these services and all you have to do is sign up with Marriott and get a rewards number and you’ll get these for free. The gym really isn’t anything special so you’re not missing much if you don’t want to pay the entrance fee.

If you’re a Gold or Platinum member, you won’t find a concierge lounge here. Instead, you’ll be given two breakfast vouchers per day to use in the hotel’s restaurant, Takanawa Shichiken-Jaya. It’s a buffet style breakfast containing mostly Western selections although there are a few Asian sections as well. As with the gym, I don’t think I’d pay for the breakfast if I wasn’t getting it for free. It was fine but not worth the price if you had to pay. Didn’t eat lunch or dinner here so I really can’t comment on that.

A word about currency exchange: Unlike most other international hotels I’ve stayed at, the front desk at the Prince Sakura Tower does not exchange currency (in my case, USD for JPY). Instead, they will direct to the business office where there is an electronic exchange machine. Similar to an ATM. I found that using the ATM machine located inside the 7-11 across the street gave a much better rate (provided your bank does not charge you an ATM fee). Plus you don’t need to bring as much cash with you. Tokyo is also much more of a “cash only, no credit cards” city then many other international cities I’ve been to.

Overall the Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo provided great accommodations in a comfortable, clean and modern hotel all located in a convenient location. It’s a great choice when staying in the Tokyo area.

Room Tip: Corner king rooms large, roomy with large bathrooms and curved windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here last year and have resisted reading what I wrote last time but the rooms have definitely improved with the bathroom cladded in white marble. I particularly liked the large, deep bath with spa bubbles from the base. The drain has one of those black rubber balls, while looking antiquated, is far more effective than these plugs that turn and never seem to work properly!

The bed was huge and comfortable and my room overlooked the Tokyo Tower which was beautiful when lit up at night. It was particularly outstanding at around 4am when the surrounding buildings were a misty grey in contrast. Why was I up at that time of the morning taking photos, one may ask? Well, I don’t know whether it was jet-lag after just arriving in Tokyo or not but for the first three nights, I woke around 3am so got up to do my email and watched the sunrise and the colours change in the early rays of the sun!

One negative, why doesn’t this hotel have a bathroom scale? Other things that have changed since my last stay was there used to be little bottles of amenities like hair tonic and moisture lotion but not this time? The soap while perfectly functional, were those little rectangular bars that are generally found in cheaper motels, not in a five-star hotel.

I didn’t go into the beautiful garden on this visit but recall that it was one of the highlights of this hotel on my last trip but was pretty rushed so just enjoyed the view from the inside and while going up and down the lifts to my floor.

Breakfast was in a small room on the ground floor and I recall on my last stay, I walked through the garden to the Takanawa hotel to have this. While it was passable and the service was great, the choices were more limiting and I didn’t think was very good value at 13,200 for four nights (about US$33 per day).

In fact, there are two things that bug me about hotels, and this is having to pay extra for breakfast and internet. I’m sure that both of these are used by most guests and I get the feeling I’m a captive to having to pay for these when I stay at a hotel.

Service, as with mostly everything in Japan was superb and included all the staff there but particularly the front desk and doorman or more correctly, the beaming door-woman who was always there with a broad smile and cheerful greeting whenever I passed.

The laundry service was very reasonable at 600 JPY for washing a shirt as lesser hotels sometimes charge double this!

Very handy to Shinagawa station but once again, I didn’t have time to explore much further, but there’s always the next time…

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5220 which overlooked the city skyline and the Tokyo Tower. As mentioned, the towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed one night in Tokyo. The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo is a great hotel. Staff bent over backwards to make you feel special. Greeted enthusiastically by the doorman (doorwomen) and the front desk. Reservation in perfect order and thorough explanation about the hotel. Location close to the Shinagawa train station. A few minute walk or a shorter free bus ride from the hotel to the station. Rooms were a bit minimalist, but clean, comfortable, and quiet. TV channels left a bit desired since there were few English speaking channels. Heated toilet seat a nice addition as well as whirlpool deep soaking tub. Buffet breakfast had variety of eggs cooked to order, cheeses, salads, Japanese breakfast dishes, pastries, cereals, meats, etc. Service was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed one night en route to Hiroshima, using Marriott reward points. Airport limousine
(Bus) from Narita to front door of hotel cost $30 for hour+ ride. Arrival and check in was efficient and Jackie, who checked me in, was exceptional. I needed to convert my JR train voucher for travel to Hiroshima next day and asked for advice. She looked up the hours, and actually took me to the nearby Shinagawa station to assist me. Because I bought a west Japan pass, I needed to buy a separate ticket to Hiroshima. She made sure I had a reserved seat, and showed me the departure gate. All this happened in less than an hour after I checked in.

The facility as others have posted is lovely from the spacious elegant lobby, Japanese gardens
. Location is excellent for proximity to Shinagawa Station. The hotel runs a free shuttle to the station, but it's less than a five minute walk.

My room on the 5th floor was large, clean, and nicely decorated. Bathroom had a soaking tub with jet sprays, and a separate large walk- in shower. Water pressure was excellent. Shiseido amenities and obvious consideration given to female travelers. Room was quiet but I was at the end of the hall! away from the elevator.

Buffet breakfast was expensive but nice selection of foods, Asian and Western.

At checkout Jackie was working, and she walked me out to the shuttle to say goodbye. No regrets or complaints about my short stay, except that a one night stay wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Minato
#6 Family Hotel in Minato
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.