We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space with convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Hotels.com
and 10 more sites!
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 93 hotels in Minato
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great space with convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very close to Shinagawa Station, the price is not so expensive, considering you have a large room in the centre of Tokyo.

The bathtub in the room is really wonderful! I like it very much. Bathsalt is free. And you can enjoy the bath like in a Jaccuzi. Free Wi-Fi and Lan internet is avaliable. Convenient location, although you need to go up a short road from the Shinagawa station.

Although the guests in this hotel can choose to have breakfast in the other building near with the same hotel group, I didn't try it. The breakfast in the restaruant at 3rd floor is better than what the comments stated. I have tried both western and japanese style, both were good, but I don't really like to have rice (for japanese style) in the morning. It's a set breakfast instead of buffet style, but good enough for me. The view of the restaurant is good, you can enjoy the Japanese Garden view. I suppose the sakura will be full of the Garden very soon.

I will choose this hotel in the future, if I use the Haneda Airport, as it is fast to go to the Haneda Airport from Shinagawa. But if I use Narita Airport, the location will be not so convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    123
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
53
36
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed 3 night in a spacious room and conveniantly close to Shinagawa station. From Shinagawa there are express trains to Naria and Hanede Airport so the location is perfect. Its a 3-5minute walk from the station. Surrounding area is business area, so you have to travel a few stations for sightseeing.
Really recommend this hotel because of its spacious rooms and good standard. Huuuge and comfy bed.Cute garden connects this hotel to its sibling hotels. Great value!

Room Tip: garden view is very nice with a view of Tokyo Tower at night. Romatic :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A very good location close to Shinagawa station and a pleasant stay in this business and a little dated hotel. There are lovely japanese gardens around the hotel, 7/11s all around as well as a new restaurant estate opposite Shinagawa station. Internet is free in the reception area with a few PC stations to be used.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'm not sure whether the bar is lower for hotels in Japan but they seem to be all dated and far, far behind their counterparts in other countries in Asia? My company recommended the Shinagawa Prince Hotel but my colleagues said I'd get claustrophobia there and were opting instead for one of its sister hotels next door, the Price Sakura Tower Hotel. My colleagues preferred this hotel as they said there was at least room to swing the proverbial cat.

Whilst there was nothing actually wrong with this hotel, it felt very dated and would benefit form a refurbishment.

The best part of this hotel is the garden and I have to admit, I do have a penchant for the simplicity and tranquility of Japanese gardens.

It seems ot me that the Prince Hotel group have a monopoly on hotels around this area as there were several belonging to the same group here and they share resources and have a common garden. For example, breakfast was at the Patio restaurant in the adjoining Takanawa Hotel, just a fee minutes walk away through the beautiful garden. However, the downside was that it's the middle of winter now and was snowing this week which made for a very brisk walk in the early morning chill!

I believe that one of the reasons, perhaps the main reason why my company recommend this hotel is the close proximity of the Shinagawa railway station and from there, a short ride to the office.

Certainly, there are no shopping areas apart from a plethora of 7-11 stores around here and small restaurants. I was hoping to do some shopping while here but had no time to venture further afield but of course,there's always next time.

The service as with most places in Japan was excellent, always polite and friendly.

I was always of the impression that there were only 24 hours in the day but apparently not here in this hotel. The bar had a sign outside that clearly stated the opening hours were from 1700-2800! Very interesting but I didn't visit to see what time they actually closed!

The check-out time for my room was 1500 which was very convenient as I was catching the 1500 bus to Narita. It could be that this later check-out was part of my room package?

Room Tip: I was in room 5403 that had a view of the garden and more hotels and buildings but was pleasant enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

the main plus for this hotel is the convenient location close to Shinagawa station; the hotel facilities are old & could use updating (stained carpets, etc); there is a beautiful garden surrounded by the Prince hotels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is situated right near the train station but the area around the hotel is
pretty quiet. The hotel is clean, friendly and efficient. The rooms are spacious by Japanese standards. The bathroom was large with a large bath and shower . There were towelling
robes and the usual, brushes, creams etc .
The rooms are extremely dated and the carpet in our room was disgusting, it was covered in
stains. The beds were very comfortable and clean and the amenities great .

Room Tip: Try to get one that has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The room was BIG with a BIG bed and a great bathroom including walk in shower and jacuzzi bath. There was separate a WC with WHB. The huge window of our room flooded the room with winter sun and felt very uplifting. The tower is one of 3 linked hotels surrounding a very pretty Japanese garden through which the other hotels are accessible. The lobby is big enough to build a small Japanese hotel in!
The huge spaces in this complex creates a strange feeling that it could have been the setting for a Stanley Kubrick horror film but it's safe and secure, have no worries.
Also the hotel has at least one of those very rare items in Japan; a foreign cash point where non Japanese cards can be used to obtain Yen (take out plenty as you may get stranded if you run out of cash). Reminder; Japan is a cash based society and many, many places will not accept foreign cards. Always have plenty of cash (you'll need it!).

You can walk from Shinagawa or Takanawa stations but if you've lots of bags maybe grab a taxi.

The Sakura Tower is not the least expensive but it fits the bill.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Japan
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#13 Business Hotel in Minato
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.