We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE room and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 367 Reviews
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“HUGE room and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The room was HUGE, especially for a hotel in Japan. We had 2 desks, a couch, 2 beds and 2 chairs. This room could easily fit 5 people. The bathroom was a bit dark, but the tub and shower were great.

We had some trouble finding it, since every hotel in the area is also named The Prince. When you get off the train at Shinagawa Station, walk toward the central gate then exit via the West exit. Walk outside, past the casino (with the guy dancing), until you get to the 7 Eleven then cross the street and you'll see the sign and the road that leads to the hotel.

The front desk staff were amazing and showed us to our room, and how to work everything in the room. We booked through booking.com and got 2 free drink vouchers. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    142
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
102
73
48
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Prince Sakura Tower hotel is located very close to Shinagawa station and is a wonderful hotel to stay in. The hotel has a very nice reception just at the entrance and very spacious rooms. The hotel offers world class quality services and even the restaurants are very nice. Haneda airport is 30 minutes from this hotel while Narita is an hour away from here. There is a very nice garden as well just outside the hotel and few shops to buy regular stuff just across the road. There is also an Indian restaurant very close to this hotel serving Indian food. Overall it is very good hotel to stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything about the room was Huge. Stayed in December with family for 5 days and had a great experience. The property is 5 minutes walk from Shinagawa station and surrounded by a lovely Japanese garden. The Front desk staff was very efficient and knowledgeable about the various attractions/ tours and things to do in Tokyo. The room we got was on 12th floor with a view of Tokyo tower and believe me it was gorgeous specially at night when you could sit by the window and watch the lights go off at the midnight. The bed was a huge California bed which is really uncommon in Japan. The bathroom and toilet were separate. The bathroom had a shower cubicle, a jacuzzi tub and well equipped vanity. The staff was gracious and helpful. We ordered for room service for breakfast on all days and got a real good food and service. There are many restaurants nearby with variety of cuisines to try. Overall was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I had to move after finishing my conference in Tokyo to this hotel which I booked through the internet. Actually I found it so conveniently located just five minutes walk from Shinagwa station which is like a connecting point to most other subway stations. My room was big and comfy, and it overlooked a big garden, exactly as I requested. The staff were so friendly and cooperative. Housekeeping was satisfactory. I just leave the hotel and find Newsdays store, pinto cafe', seven eleven. It was also close to another group of nice hotels such as grand prince takanawa and new takanawa, prince park tower hotel, and all are accessible from the garden area on the second floor, (except prince park tower) but this was only five min walk. What I really liked about its location was the fact that the Bullet Train stops at Shinagawa station and when I go out I find my hotel, so I did not need to take any other transportation. Its price is affordable (four nights cost me $450) in a double room. I highly recommend it for tourists and people who are looking for value for money, without compromising the quality either.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The whole experience was pretty retro and that is ok. But I tried to get into the bar with my sleeping 1 year old daughter and was abruptly turned away. Ridiculous!!! I've travelled four continents and this is the first time I've had this. She's been (sleeping) to whiskey tastings, wineries, cruise ships, dive bars, the concorde room, the entire gamut of alcohol consumption but The Prince Hotel sees fit to turn her away from the door to the pissy smelling lounge buried within the confines of their beautifully retro lobby. In all fairness the rest of the hotel is pretty ace albeit stuck in a time warp at the junction between furbies and ipads.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Prince Sakura Tower was a hotel I really wanted to rate "5", but one major flaw pushed it away from that rating.

The hotel location is amazing. It is a short walk from Shinagawa railway station, up a brief incline, then you get a sense of the greenery which surrounds this hotel. The gardens are such a wonderful feature in densely populated city like Tokyo.

The entrance passes beautifully groomed and attentive door staff, and you enter a very large reception area. Reception was efficient, although there was a short queue, and I thought the staff were working to role rather than working for the customer. It wouldn't have hurt another person to open a check-in counter, rather than doing busy work while customers waited.

Rooms in this hotel are HUGE in comparison to others nearby. I had a twin room that included two beds, a sofa that could also be a bed, two small armchairs and a desk and chair. There was still plenty of room to move around.

The bathroom was split between a separate toilet on one side of the corridor, and a bath/shower/wash room on the other. Both well equipped and spacious.

Everything was going well until I went to iron a shirt for the next day. Uh-oh, no iron. With trepidation building I called housekeeping, waited for the delivery, then had my worst fears realised ... the smallest, most pathetic excuse for an ironing board I have ever had in any hotel. It was so small it didn't even have legs, just perching on the counter. I defy anyone to quickly and neatly iron any western-sized garment on this monstrosity, thus the difference between Excellent and Very Good in my hotel ratings.

I had a couple of room service meals in this hotel. They were quickly served, reasonably cooked, but expensive as most hotel food is in Japan. There were better options nearby, but the pressure of time and work did not permit me to eat out.

I'll be back in Shinagawa soon, and I'll have the choice between this hotel and Intercontinental The Strings. Prince Sakura Tower is definitely the larger room, and almost silent. The Intercontinental is five minutes closer to my office, more modern in its fittings, and has better ironing facilities. A tough choice, but if Prince Sakura Tower gave me a decent ironing board I'd come back here every time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is very good position for every kind of subway or train. The room it' s very big with big Windows . The bathroom it' s very big with shower and jacuzzi. The toilette is in separate small room. The staff are kindly but works in very slowly way.

Room Tip: Attention if you book with Tripadvisor The rooms avable are only smoking . I complian but without r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Minato
#6 Family Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.