We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space Space and More Space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 92 hotels in Minato
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Space Space and More Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything about the room was Huge. Stayed in December with family for 5 days and had a great experience. The property is 5 minutes walk from Shinagawa station and surrounded by a lovely Japanese garden. The Front desk staff was very efficient and knowledgeable about the various attractions/ tours and things to do in Tokyo. The room we got was on 12th floor with a view of Tokyo tower and believe me it was gorgeous specially at night when you could sit by the window and watch the lights go off at the midnight. The bed was a huge California bed which is really uncommon in Japan. The bathroom and toilet were separate. The bathroom had a shower cubicle, a jacuzzi tub and well equipped vanity. The staff was gracious and helpful. We ordered for room service for breakfast on all days and got a real good food and service. There are many restaurants nearby with variety of cuisines to try. Overall was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    126
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
89
61
43
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I had to move after finishing my conference in Tokyo to this hotel which I booked through the internet. Actually I found it so conveniently located just five minutes walk from Shinagwa station which is like a connecting point to most other subway stations. My room was big and comfy, and it overlooked a big garden, exactly as I requested. The staff were so friendly and cooperative. Housekeeping was satisfactory. I just leave the hotel and find Newsdays store, pinto cafe', seven eleven. It was also close to another group of nice hotels such as grand prince takanawa and new takanawa, prince park tower hotel, and all are accessible from the garden area on the second floor, (except prince park tower) but this was only five min walk. What I really liked about its location was the fact that the Bullet Train stops at Shinagawa station and when I go out I find my hotel, so I did not need to take any other transportation. Its price is affordable (four nights cost me $450) in a double room. I highly recommend it for tourists and people who are looking for value for money, without compromising the quality either.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The whole experience was pretty retro and that is ok. But I tried to get into the bar with my sleeping 1 year old daughter and was abruptly turned away. Ridiculous!!! I've travelled four continents and this is the first time I've had this. She's been (sleeping) to whiskey tastings, wineries, cruise ships, dive bars, the concorde room, the entire gamut of alcohol consumption but The Prince Hotel sees fit to turn her away from the door to the pissy smelling lounge buried within the confines of their beautifully retro lobby. In all fairness the rest of the hotel is pretty ace albeit stuck in a time warp at the junction between furbies and ipads.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Prince Sakura Tower was a hotel I really wanted to rate "5", but one major flaw pushed it away from that rating.

The hotel location is amazing. It is a short walk from Shinagawa railway station, up a brief incline, then you get a sense of the greenery which surrounds this hotel. The gardens are such a wonderful feature in densely populated city like Tokyo.

The entrance passes beautifully groomed and attentive door staff, and you enter a very large reception area. Reception was efficient, although there was a short queue, and I thought the staff were working to role rather than working for the customer. It wouldn't have hurt another person to open a check-in counter, rather than doing busy work while customers waited.

Rooms in this hotel are HUGE in comparison to others nearby. I had a twin room that included two beds, a sofa that could also be a bed, two small armchairs and a desk and chair. There was still plenty of room to move around.

The bathroom was split between a separate toilet on one side of the corridor, and a bath/shower/wash room on the other. Both well equipped and spacious.

Everything was going well until I went to iron a shirt for the next day. Uh-oh, no iron. With trepidation building I called housekeeping, waited for the delivery, then had my worst fears realised ... the smallest, most pathetic excuse for an ironing board I have ever had in any hotel. It was so small it didn't even have legs, just perching on the counter. I defy anyone to quickly and neatly iron any western-sized garment on this monstrosity, thus the difference between Excellent and Very Good in my hotel ratings.

I had a couple of room service meals in this hotel. They were quickly served, reasonably cooked, but expensive as most hotel food is in Japan. There were better options nearby, but the pressure of time and work did not permit me to eat out.

I'll be back in Shinagawa soon, and I'll have the choice between this hotel and Intercontinental The Strings. Prince Sakura Tower is definitely the larger room, and almost silent. The Intercontinental is five minutes closer to my office, more modern in its fittings, and has better ironing facilities. A tough choice, but if Prince Sakura Tower gave me a decent ironing board I'd come back here every time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is very good position for every kind of subway or train. The room it' s very big with big Windows . The bathroom it' s very big with shower and jacuzzi. The toilette is in separate small room. The staff are kindly but works in very slowly way.

Room Tip: Attention if you book with Tripadvisor The rooms avable are only smoking . I complian but without r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just got back to the US from a 10-day trip to Japan where we stayed in 3 different hotels and this one was by far the best.

The rooms are amazingly spacious and not just to other hotel rooms in Japan. The toilet was in a separate section from the bathroom with the double sinks, shower and separate jetted tub. There were closets and a shelf to put our bags. A pair of comfortable chairs to sit in by the window.

The bed linens and towels were of good quality and they provided shower robes and sleepwear. The toiletries were plentiful, again of good quality and included bath salts for the tub.

The location has good access to transportation. The foyer was low key and we had to walk a bit to the coffee shops, restaurants and convenience stores that surround Shinagawa station but that was minor compared to the luxury of the rooms.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family went to Tokyo for a week'sholiday during the Cherry Bossom period early April,2012
We booked the Prince Sakura Tower Hotel, to our surprise that the room was big with very
Nice Garden view overlook so many Sakura tree, we can also watch the Tokyo Tower with
Beautiful lights during the night time. Beside this, our bath room not only have the shower
But also a jacuzzi bath basin provided with spa salt~ very conderside. the location is good, very close to JR Station, which easy to go anywhere by Sinkansan of express train. Lots of restaurant
At the other exit of the JR station.

Room Tip: If you go to Japan during the Cherry Bossom period, better stay at this hotel or If you go further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Minato
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
#24 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.