We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly spacious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 93 hotels in Minato
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly spacious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just got back to the US from a 10-day trip to Japan where we stayed in 3 different hotels and this one was by far the best.

The rooms are amazingly spacious and not just to other hotel rooms in Japan. The toilet was in a separate section from the bathroom with the double sinks, shower and separate jetted tub. There were closets and a shelf to put our bags. A pair of comfortable chairs to sit in by the window.

The bed linens and towels were of good quality and they provided shower robes and sleepwear. The toiletries were plentiful, again of good quality and included bath salts for the tub.

The location has good access to transportation. The foyer was low key and we had to walk a bit to the coffee shops, restaurants and convenience stores that surround Shinagawa station but that was minor compared to the luxury of the rooms.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    124
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
88
61
42
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family went to Tokyo for a week'sholiday during the Cherry Bossom period early April,2012
We booked the Prince Sakura Tower Hotel, to our surprise that the room was big with very
Nice Garden view overlook so many Sakura tree, we can also watch the Tokyo Tower with
Beautiful lights during the night time. Beside this, our bath room not only have the shower
But also a jacuzzi bath basin provided with spa salt~ very conderside. the location is good, very close to JR Station, which easy to go anywhere by Sinkansan of express train. Lots of restaurant
At the other exit of the JR station.

Room Tip: If you go to Japan during the Cherry Bossom period, better stay at this hotel or If you go further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my first trip to Japan and Tokyo. I went with my 17 year old daughter. From the moment the Airport Limo bus brought us to the hotel's entrance, we felt welcomed and at home. The room was larger and more luxurious than we had been prepared to receive in Tokyo and the amenities were impressive. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the Tokyo Tower; seeing that through the large frameless picture window for the first time is breathtaking and I never got tired of it. This hotel has its own beautiful garden oasis but you are so close to everything! The Shinagawa JR train station is a stone's throw away but you can catch the hotel shuttle there and back all day if you don't feel like walking. There are shops and cafes galore all a few minutes' walk away. Don't spend your money on taxis to see the sites as the trains take you everywhere and they're really easy to figure out.
We had planned a two night "inbetween trip" to Kyoto, but after one night, we came back to our lovely room at the Prince Sakura. For us, Kyoto was a little too traditional and rustic; we thoroughly enjoyed the modern conveniences and luxuries of Tokyo and couldn't wait to get back.
I want to see a lot more of the world, but when we go back to Tokyo, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Tokyo Tower and unless you want to walk down a very long hallway ( I timed it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

When we’re heading out of Tokyo, this is where we stay to catch the bullet train and lemme tell you, there is nothing like a room at the Prince! Take the Limousine Bus from the airport, don’t bother with the train, as it will deliver you door to door.

Spacious is the first thing that comes to mind. In the dozen or so hotels I’ve stayed at while in Tokyo, this one wins, hands down, for space. You literally could roll around on the floor. The bed is like in two time zones it’s so big and the bathroom is a jaw-dropper. Twin sinks, magnificent sunken whirlpool bath and stall shower (which could seriously use a light!) Just lovely. Oh, and the toilet isn’t in the bathroom, it’s a water closet across the hall.

Reception greets you with bottled water, and while you’re checking in (they seat you in the lobby to do the paperwork) you can see the sakura viewing platforms in their gorgeous private garden. As our flight usually puts us in town around 6ish, it’s really nice to stroll the well-lit garden at night. There are many stone lanterns, koi ponds and bridges to distract you from jetlag.

As with all of Japan, the convenience stores are just across the street (which is down the hill) and there’s plenty to eat in the railway station. For easy of Shinkansen boarding, stay at the Prince!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I frequently go to Japan for business. Usually it's anywhere from a few days to a week or two. This was a short trip, spending only two days in Tokyo. I've stayed at other Prince hotels in the past and was never severely disappointed by them.

This was no different.

Was helped with our luggage right as we stepped off the bus. Front desk was very accommodating and took care of our reservations without a problem (booked on hotels.com). Was helped up to our rooms. Had a room with just a toilet and small sink. Another room had a nice shower, with a sunken tub with jets and two sinks. Provided all the usual ammenities (toothbrush/razor/bath salts/etc.) My room had a king size bed, two chairs, a table, desk etc. Quite a good sized room in regards to Tokyo hotels.

Had a breakfast buffet which is actually offered by the Grand Prince Takanawa (Short walk through a beautiful area). Price was 25,000 yen per person. Was your usual type of breakfast buffet. "American" and Japanese buffet food.

Overall, was a good stay, right new the Shinagawa train station (5 min walk). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Prince Sakura Tower is a faded-four star—its glory days seem to have passed. Still, it’s a relatively good deal (I paid $168 per night with a package I got via Hotels.com) for good-sized rooms in a good location, if you’re on some sort of a budget in this very pricey city.
*Rooms: I asked for a garden view upon check-in and was given a “partial garden view,” which mainly missed the garden, but did look out onto a tree-lined street AND which was a corner room, so it was surprisingly spacious. Bathroom was also large by any Western hotel standard, with a Jacuzzi-esque tub and separate shower, two sinks and a separate mirror area. Lots of fun amenities, many more than usual. Speaking of fun, I admit that I got a kick out of the automatic curtains that functioned at the push of a button—and since I had a corner spot, I had a huge round window with a super long curtain. The requisite Japanese heated toilet never fails to amuse, as well. Décor left something to be desired—faded, but clean.
*Location: Five-minute walk to convenient and pretty cool area outside the metro, with a 7-Eleven to fill up before heading to the room.
*Lobby: Big and alienating, completely lacking in atmosphere. Once you find the windows and situate yourself well, you do have a nice view of its lovely garden, which, in my opinion, is one of the hotel’s few highlights.
*Reservations/ concierge: Speak little English. Had no clue how to help me with check-in for my flight and, in the end, it didn't happen. The petite female porter was completely shocked when I tipped her with a $5 bill (I hadn’t yet gotten Japanese small bills)—she’d never seen US dollars before and was very excited to look at it, which was endearing but surprising and certainly indicative of the hotel’s lack of Western clientele. And although tipping is not common in Japan, in a high-end hotel, yes. The porter also did not lift my suitcase onto the luggage area, so I did so myself with her watching and standing by, utterly unconcerned.
*In sum: If work is not paying for you to stay in some place nicer, this hotel should do quite well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you need to stay in Tokyo stay here. There are so many superlatives that a description of how good it is remains difficult to measure. In Tokyo I can not find a better accomodation experience and I have been in many. Location, Quality of serive from checkin to concierge all great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#10 Business Hotel in Minato
#11 Family Hotel in Minato
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998, this luxurious hotel offers a wide range of excellent services and facilities within an all-season resort ambience. In the spring, pink cherry blossoms can be seen from every guest room. In the fall, the colorful autumn leaves shower the walkways. In the winter, the snow-mantled archways, trees and garden steps provide an air of complete tranquility. Offering exceptional levels of comfort in a formal Japanese garden setting, the Sakura Tower is specifically designed for the American guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Hotel Minato
The Prince Sakura Hotel Tokyo
Prince Sakura Minato
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.