We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient locationally hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8611, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 93 hotels in Minato
Izumo, Japan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Convenient locationally hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed overnight at the hotel in mid July 2013 for my one day working at Tokyo. The hotel is located within 2 minutes walking from Takanawa side entrance of Shinagawa station. It costs 17000 JPY including overnight stay, ammenity goods and buffet style breakfast. My stayed two beds room on the 27th floor in Main tower was small (200 sqf approximately) and clean, bed was comfortable. The hotel has swimming pool, I enjoyed swimming (admission fee was 1100 JPY). We could use free LAN, but could not use free Wifi at my room. I enjoyed yummy japanese breakfast (additional fee of 600 JPY) with beautiful sight from 38th floor. In my collective impression, I can not recommend experienced traveler for staying at the hotel so much.

Room Tip: I don't have any advices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    855
    485
    115
    42
See reviews for
279
293
329
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location for 1st time travelers. Nice size rooms for Japan. Very helpful concierge for non-native speakers(English only). As others have stated, across from JR Yamanote, Shinkansen and Narita Express. Has a great aquarium with show and movie theatre. Variety of restaurants & shops. Rooms were in main building but the north tower had just been renovated.

Only negative: We couldn't get wheelchair accessible room & regular room on same floor or close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice in month of July at different towers. The East tower comprises of single rooms. The rooms are small (Nothing un-usual for Tokyo) and just enough space for a single person to sleep. I should say that they have placed the furniture and other equipment nicely to oprimize the space. On next visit, i was supposed to stay in same East tower and I was allotted rooms ending in 17. Be careful about these rooms. This room is extra small and does not have space for wardrobe. Considering that the rooms are already small, it makes things very difficult. I requested front end to change the room. Hotel was fully booked. After some discussions, they agreed to re-locate me to "Annex tower" for a nominal extra payment.

Rooms in Annex towers are large (they are double rooms) and Very good. If some one considers staying in this hotel, you can choose annex tower or Main tower.

The hotel offers quite a choice of hotels for breakfast. First time, I dined in Cafe24 located in east tower. Avoid this restaurant. The Luxe restaurant located in main tower is very good. provides a very good spread. I had here breakfast all the days during my 2nd visit.

Location wise, this is located at Heart of Shinagawa with shopping and eating places all around and you cant ask for more. staff service is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

One of the larger hotel complexes in Tokyo, as there are multiple buildings in the area. Shinagawa Prince hotel is right across the street from the Shinagawa train station, where JR Yamanote, Shinkansen, and Narita Express all stop. Stayed in the Annex. The rooms are decent sized for Japan. Note: There is Ethernet, but not WiFi in the Annex, but for 500 yen ($5) per day, you can get a mini-router that will connect you.
Beds are firm, pillows thin.
Room prices very competitive, so a good value overall. Just had breakfast in the hotel. The continental buffet in 24 Hr. cafe was OK for about $10 and if you like curry for breakfast. Eggs, bacon, etc. pushes the price up to 2200 yen (~ $22). Plenty of restaurants in the area.
Bowling, a aquatic show, theatre, golf (indoor range?) and tennis on site. Go out the front towards Shinagawa station and turn right, then right at first major light, right again after the little Koban (police) station, and you will come back over the hill on a decent 30 minute power walk, complete with steps uphill.
Again, overall a good value both the amenities and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

5 minute walk from shinagawa rail station, so great access! big hotel in tokyo with all types of shopping and restaurants all around. room in decent and clean condition. no wifi in the rooms, proveded lan cord = laptops are ok, but wifi touch pad and phone people will not like it. i cart a laptop due to business, so fine with me.
july time can be really hot, so be prepared and if you are not accustomed to heat = drink allot of water!

Room Tip: i only stayed in central tower on this first trip and think it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This review is about N Tower of the Shinagawa Prince Hotel huge complex.
As expected in Tokyo, my room was quite small but well organized. The two main drawbacks are (1) tiny and low ceiling bathroom and (2) although designated as "Non Smoking" the room smelled of smoking.
Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8611, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.