We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime deal !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 1,955 Reviews
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime deal !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

With a booking mix up between the hotel and Booking.com having hotel rooms listed at 25 yen per night I took the opportunity to book a heap of rooms over 3 seperate times during the year. I followed up with Booking.com about this unbelievable deal and their first email confimed the price. So I began to make plans to go to Japan 3 times in 2013... I was always coming over in June for a holiday and to see the Socceroos play Japan with 5 of my friends.

2 days later I received an email from Booking.com informing me of a mistake about the booking engine and they were prepared to halve their normal rate (about 18000 yen) to compensate for the mistake. Long story short, I decided to fight the cause as Booking.com had given me a confirmation email saying the price on the voucher 25 yen a night was all I would have to pay. Many telephone calls from Booking.com and negotiations went on for weeks and finally they said they would honour the 6 nights in June for 7 people at the original price if I released the other rooms in 2013 back to the hotel. So in effect 7 of us stayed for less than the price of a coffee for 6 days!

Apart from that unbelieveable price, the hotel was well appointed and the staff were very friendky and helpful. The location was perfect for us being across from the JR Shinagawa station which made it a good hub to get around Tokyo. We enjoyed the bowling alley downstairs.

Overall I cant fault the hotel in anyway, but that probably has got a lot to do with the price we paid

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    928
    542
    123
    44
See reviews for
317
338
368
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 26 May to 31 May in the main tower. The rooms were very small but this being Tokyo, it's hardly surprising. It's so small that the dressing table doubled up as the working table. There was only LAN and no Wifi and this was a major disappointment.

The channels were limited with only one English channel so that was a disappointment as well.

The rooms looked dated and the walls were quite dirty and there were cracks on the bathroom walls.

The bed was hard and the pillow wasn't too comfortable. There wasn't any iron or ironing board and I had to request for one. Other than that, the basic amenities were quite good, the shower, shampoo, razors, toothbrushes were topped up daily.

The queue for breakfast was very long even at 7am. So it's advisable to go early if you want to skip the queue.

In terms of location, it's superb, it is located just across the street from Shinagawa station. You can get to the tourist areas like Shinjuku, Ueno, Akihabara on the Yamanote line.

Overall, for the price I paid, I would say I can't complain much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The pros:
- location - very close to Shinagawa JR hub, which is very convinient to explore Tokyo.
- a lot of small cafes and eateries around + 7\11 supermarket right at the hotel's door
- stunning Tokyo panorama from the upper tower floors
- nice restaurant on the very upper floor - spectacular dining!
- great beds and pillows!

The cons:
- smallish and quite plain rooms
- always crowded - the hotel is really huge, so that's to be expected
- waiting rows for breakfasts every morning, which is going fast, though

Resume - the hotel is quite ok, no serious faults found. Stayed there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It seems to me that the less favourable reviews come from guests of the older, West (?) Tower of the hotel. The new one or at least the one that has been newly refurbeshed i.e. N-Tower, which has the same name and is next door has a separate reception and looks 20-years newer than the older brother.

So, to start with the N-Tower seems to be brand new - in terms of rooms, lobby & common areas.

The rooms are super clean, comfortable, with lots of extra equipment (built-in multiple use phone chargers and non-misting mirrors for starters) and really nice.

Service was perfect at all levels.

Location is perfect with a Shinkansen JR and Yamanote line just across the street.

The price was also rather modest for the quality of the stay.

In general, I can only say that I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family, friends and myself stayed at Shinagawa Prince N Tower Hotel last May 18. Prior to our arrival, I saw a review and photo of the rooms which was posted by a traveller at Tripadvisor. The photos of the traveller and the images of the rooms shown at the website of Shinagawa Prince N were surprisingly very different. I then e-mailed the hotel for clarification since I don't want my family to experience a horrible vacation. My e-mail was not acknowledged. Follow up a second e-mail but no reply received. We got 5 tiny clean rooms, 2 twin and 3 double, which were not at the same floors. This was very difficult for family who have children, and key security system made our stay terribly exhausting. The bathrooms were very tiny, not enough space for a mother to shower her kid. The unfriendly front desk staffs speaks their language while attending guests, gestures were very discriminating. Check-in took us a very long time somehow like applying for some sort of tourist visa or citizenship because all passports of the guests were photocopied not to mention the forms being filled up. I'm very concerned when I saw other guests checked-in wherein their passports were not photocopied, they were only requested credit card guaranty. Perhaps the hotel categorize their guests according to the country of your origin thru passports. Again, I felt this was a very discriminatory practice. No staffs around to attend check-out. Compared to another 3-star hotel we stayed earlier, Ana Crowne welcomed all their guests fairly and with respect, service beyond comparison.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Super easy to find.
West exit at Shinagawa Station.
Cross the street, you'll find it.
Booking by booking.com very resonable price.
Bedrooms are tiny.
There are plenty of space UNDER your bed.
NO WI-FI but free cable.
Excellent people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On the Shinkansen JR Train route line so we got straight off the train and into our hotel.
Porta shopping centre underground adjacent to the hotel had great eateries and resturants at fantastic prices. This location gave us great access to all the tourist attractions. If you have tattoos you can not swim in the pool. We did not arrange breakfast at the hotel it was about $20AUD per head. Plenty to eat outside this hotel. A resturant outside the front "Mango" something served great food lunch specials and tasted great. Rooms were not large but adequate. No tea, coffee or milk in room. Small supermarket at front sells most things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#24 Family Hotel in Minato
#32 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.