We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime deal !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime deal !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

With a booking mix up between the hotel and Booking.com having hotel rooms listed at 25 yen per night I took the opportunity to book a heap of rooms over 3 seperate times during the year. I followed up with Booking.com about this unbelievable deal and their first email confimed the price. So I began to make plans to go to Japan 3 times in 2013... I was always coming over in June for a holiday and to see the Socceroos play Japan with 5 of my friends.

2 days later I received an email from Booking.com informing me of a mistake about the booking engine and they were prepared to halve their normal rate (about 18000 yen) to compensate for the mistake. Long story short, I decided to fight the cause as Booking.com had given me a confirmation email saying the price on the voucher 25 yen a night was all I would have to pay. Many telephone calls from Booking.com and negotiations went on for weeks and finally they said they would honour the 6 nights in June for 7 people at the original price if I released the other rooms in 2013 back to the hotel. So in effect 7 of us stayed for less than the price of a coffee for 6 days!

Apart from that unbelieveable price, the hotel was well appointed and the staff were very friendky and helpful. The location was perfect for us being across from the JR Shinagawa station which made it a good hub to get around Tokyo. We enjoyed the bowling alley downstairs.

Overall I cant fault the hotel in anyway, but that probably has got a lot to do with the price we paid

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 26 May to 31 May in the main tower. The rooms were very small but this being Tokyo, it's hardly surprising. It's so small that the dressing table doubled up as the working table. There was only LAN and no Wifi and this was a major disappointment.

The channels were limited with only one English channel so that was a disappointment as well.

The rooms looked dated and the walls were quite dirty and there were cracks on the bathroom walls.

The bed was hard and the pillow wasn't too comfortable. There wasn't any iron or ironing board and I had to request for one. Other than that, the basic amenities were quite good, the shower, shampoo, razors, toothbrushes were topped up daily.

The queue for breakfast was very long even at 7am. So it's advisable to go early if you want to skip the queue.

In terms of location, it's superb, it is located just across the street from Shinagawa station. You can get to the tourist areas like Shinjuku, Ueno, Akihabara on the Yamanote line.

Overall, for the price I paid, I would say I can't complain much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justinjalanjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The pros:
- location - very close to Shinagawa JR hub, which is very convinient to explore Tokyo.
- a lot of small cafes and eateries around + 7\11 supermarket right at the hotel's door
- stunning Tokyo panorama from the upper tower floors
- nice restaurant on the very upper floor - spectacular dining!
- great beds and pillows!

The cons:
- smallish and quite plain rooms
- always crowded - the hotel is really huge, so that's to be expected
- waiting rows for breakfasts every morning, which is going fast, though

Resume - the hotel is quite ok, no serious faults found. Stayed there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariaquerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It seems to me that the less favourable reviews come from guests of the older, West (?) Tower of the hotel. The new one or at least the one that has been newly refurbeshed i.e. N-Tower, which has the same name and is next door has a separate reception and looks 20-years newer than the older brother.

So, to start with the N-Tower seems to be brand new - in terms of rooms, lobby & common areas.

The rooms are super clean, comfortable, with lots of extra equipment (built-in multiple use phone chargers and non-misting mirrors for starters) and really nice.

Service was perfect at all levels.

Location is perfect with a Shinkansen JR and Yamanote line just across the street.

The price was also rather modest for the quality of the stay.

In general, I can only say that I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My family, friends and myself stayed at Shinagawa Prince N Tower Hotel last May 18. Prior to our arrival, I saw a review and photo of the rooms which was posted by a traveller at Tripadvisor. The photos of the traveller and the images of the rooms shown at the website of Shinagawa Prince N were surprisingly very different. I then e-mailed the hotel for clarification since I don't want my family to experience a horrible vacation. My e-mail was not acknowledged. Follow up a second e-mail but no reply received. We got 5 tiny clean rooms, 2 twin and 3 double, which were not at the same floors. This was very difficult for family who have children, and key security system made our stay terribly exhausting. The bathrooms were very tiny, not enough space for a mother to shower her kid. The unfriendly front desk staffs speaks their language while attending guests, gestures were very discriminating. Check-in took us a very long time somehow like applying for some sort of tourist visa or citizenship because all passports of the guests were photocopied not to mention the forms being filled up. I'm very concerned when I saw other guests checked-in wherein their passports were not photocopied, they were only requested credit card guaranty. Perhaps the hotel categorize their guests according to the country of your origin thru passports. Again, I felt this was a very discriminatory practice. No staffs around to attend check-out. Compared to another 3-star hotel we stayed earlier, Ana Crowne welcomed all their guests fairly and with respect, service beyond comparison.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGemLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minato hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Super easy to find.
West exit at Shinagawa Station.
Cross the street, you'll find it.
Booking by booking.com very resonable price.
Bedrooms are tiny.
There are plenty of space UNDER your bed.
NO WI-FI but free cable.
Excellent people.

Helpful?
2 Thank APEXIP
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On the Shinkansen JR Train route line so we got straight off the train and into our hotel.
Porta shopping centre underground adjacent to the hotel had great eateries and resturants at fantastic prices. This location gave us great access to all the tourist attractions. If you have tattoos you can not swim in the pool. We did not arrange breakfast at the hotel it was about $20AUD per head. Plenty to eat outside this hotel. A resturant outside the front "Mango" something served great food lunch specials and tasted great. Rooms were not large but adequate. No tea, coffee or milk in room. Small supermarket at front sells most things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,263 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 66 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,601 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#10 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing