We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for train travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Yokosuka, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for train travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend Fran and I appreciated everything about this hotel, from Narita Limousine delivering us to front door for JpY 3,000 each to how easy it was to walk our bags across a major Tokyo intersection to get to Shinagawa train station to catch the Shinkansen to Hiroshima. Room in Main Tower was near elevator but very quiet. No noise and good shower and tub. The breakfast buffet was quite reasonable and excellent food both Japanese and western. when you've got to handle bags yourself and catch trains out of Tokyo, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    1,020
    590
    131
    46
See reviews for
344
372
395
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Second stay in this hotel and I like the location and the staff. There is every type of food available. Convenient too. However, last week while I was there I stayed in the North Tower, semi double room with carpet and I got but up. I am no expert so I cannot say it was bedbugs for sure but something bit me up pretty good. I moved rooms to the annex tower and had no further issues.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Shinagawa Price Hotel at both the Annexe and the Main Tower.
The Annexe is definitely better, newer, modern than the Main Tower.
There were issues like:
- We booked the Main Tower through Agoda and the room was not the Corner Room (which is what we'd booked)
- Internet didn't work in the first room they allocated in the Main Tower and then they shifted us
- The queue for breakfast was tiring
- Check out too meant a long queue

The Annexe room was clean, better, though bathrooms everywhere were small.
The prices definitely were steep.
The Travel Desk/Customer Services Desk was helpful.

Room Tip: Prefer to stay in the Annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Shinagawa Prince is a hotel with 3 major towers. Main, Annex and East. The Main tower, which I stayed in. I have stayed in the east a couple of years back. If u are staying in a single room its only available in the east tower. The annex tower is a newer addition some years later.

The hotel is situated right next to Shinagawa station which in itself has nothing much to do. Trains have to be taken everywhere which makes it a little bit of a pain. the hotel has a limousine bus which takes u to and from the airport right to the door stop of the hotel.

The main tower rooms are of decent size and look nice. From my room I could see Tokyo tower. The east tower from what I remember is really old and in need refurbishment.

The only problem with this hotel is its size. Its so damn big so u are faced with queues for checking in and out. Even a queue for breakfast which is not the first thing u want to be doing in the morning.

All in all if staying next to a train station is important to u than i would stay here. If not I would try staying some where nearer to shibuya or shinjuku.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room at Shinagawa prince hotel was nice, and was very close to the station and other amenities. The internet was great for the price (free). For a large hotel, it was disappointing there wasn't any english really spoken at the reception but this didn't make the stay any issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The rooms and hotel staff were very nice. I had a king room and it was big enough. Make sure to check in early for WiFi units. Very clean. Rooms on higher floors have great views. Easy walk to Shinagawa Station as it is right across the street. Plenty of places to eat near by like Fridays. The hotels Buffett is really good and huge. I would stay here again for business. If you want a step up, go to the Intercontinental Hotel across the street. Otherwise this hotel is nice and has what ever you need.

Room Tip: Higher floor king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a decent hotel in Tokyo. The price is reasonable, the hotel is clean and decently maintained. Breakfast is not so great. The location is excellent, it is close to major metro lines and we had no trouble getting around Tokyo from here. Equally, it is super easy to reach from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.