We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Main Tower High Floor rooms well fitted-out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8611, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 93 hotels in Minato
Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good location, Main Tower High Floor rooms well fitted-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

ROOM - We stayed in a room on the 36th Floor of the Main Tower. Although our room was small (the norm in Tokyo I expect!), it was well fitted out with a comfortable bed (although probably only if you like a firm mattress!), very effective block out curtains and decent sized TV. Very small but very clean bathroom.

LOCATION - We thought it was a terrific location:
(i) Transportation - right across from the Shinagawa station which is on the JR Yamanote line so it's easy and quick to get to a lot of the main areas. The Narita Express trains also stop at Shinagawa so it makes getting to Narita Airport very east. We got a taxi late one night from Roppongi back to the hotel (trains only run until about midnight) and it cost just under USD20. Some of the Shinkansen trains go via Shinagawa and the ones that don't go via Tokyo, so you simply take the JR Yamanote line from Shinagawa to Tokyo and then change platform.
(ii) Local area - lots of places to grab food and drink, including a supermarket and a range of restaurants. In the mall complex right next to the hotel there was a fantastic French patisserie/brasserie and there are a number of izakayas, restauarnts and bars/pubs behind Shinagawa station.

BREAKFAST - We did not have breakfast so I can't comment on what the breakfast buffet is like (it wasn't included in our room rate).

INTERNET - Wired internet was included free in our room rate and was a decent speed when plugged into our laptop. It would have been nice if wireless internet were available for other devices; this was available for 500 yen per day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    838
    501
    110
    42
See reviews for
289
302
337
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Varies...
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Absolutely great location for entry into/exit from Tokyo. Across the street from Shinagawa JR station with NEX link to Narita and Shinkansen links to the rest of Japan. (To see the hotel from the station, look up, the sign is on the top of the building.) Rooms are small but ok. Staff is helpful but the hotel does not really have much charm. There are nicer places to stay in Tokyo if you are in town for a while, but a good functional first/last night place.

Within easy walking distance on Sengakuji (tomb of the 47 ronin).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the North Annex tower: The room was small, but that was expected. The room and decor itself were a little old fashioned. Everything looked circa early 90's. Doors were small, and ceilings low. My husband is 6'1", so he hit his head in a few areas of the room. We had friends staying i the main tower room, and so were able to do a comparison. The main tower room was maybe only slightly bigger, but decked out in more modern style. The ceiling was also higher. A little surprising was the fact that there was no wifi. A cable for internet was available in the room, but that didn't help as we only packed ipads. Internet was available on desktop computers in the lobby for 100 yen/10 minutes. The keyboard was a little annoying for English users, as it kept switching to Japanese characters. Breakfast was included with the room, and we had the option of eating at any of the restaurants open for breakfast in the complex. On Sunday, all the restos were available, but only 2-3 choices are available during the weekdays. The Hapuna Luxe dining breakfast buffet in the Main tower lobby had decent choices for western/Japanese style food. The 24 cafe in the East tower did not have as much variety, but offered a decent veggie curry. Location was probably one of the biggest selling points for this hotel. The station is less than 5 min walk, and right on the JR yamanote line. Shinkansen is also available at this station.

Room Tip: Select a room in the main tower. Those in the North Annex tower are very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is great, the staff are friendly, the rooms are good although very small (we stayed in the annex tower) . The hotel is directly across from shinagawa station and is surrounded by shops and attractions. I only have three minor complaints: 1. Our bed was rock-hard and gave me a horrible neck on night one and 2. Would have loved a free wi-fi spot but wi-fi was only 500¥ per day which was alright. 3. We were confused about laundry, thought it was a free service and it cost us 8700¥ to get a few items washed (mostly knickers). This was probably our mistake being naive travellers but price could have been made clearer.
Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is very convenient as its just opposite the Shinagawa station which is on the JT Yamanote line and so gets you to most places easily. And id excellent if you need to get a bullet train from there of Tokyo Station. We had a superior room which gave views to Mt Fuji. Yep, they are small as are most hotel rooms in Japan but was OK for the two of us. And yes breakfast is quite crowded but if you get there around 7.30 am it's OK. Just have to get used to crowds in Japan. But the breakfast options are amazing and watching is part of the fun. The Japanese guests eat Western breakfasts and the non-Japanese eat Japanese breakfasts and all get it a bit confused. But whatever you have is great. And if you want some authentic food go out of the hotel, turn right, cross the road and look for the signage under the railway lines. There you will find some great inexpensive and local food and willing staff to help you with the pre paid machines.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Always stay in Shinagawa area as the area around the train station is excellent for facilities and you can get anywhere (including access to the bullet train) from the station.
Hotel is typically very efficient, organised and clean. I booked a room in the annex which is a bit of a walk from the main building. The rooms are immaculately clean but are very small. Dont try to stay in a standard room if you have family or even a partner. Bed was extremely comfortable. No noise from outside.
Free Internet is available but just through a network cable. No wifi.
There are plenty convenience shops in the hotel and just outside.
Breakfast was a bit chaotic. The restaurant is huge and there are queues to get a table. Food was ok but the number of people and tables was somewhat overpowering. They have a warning sign outside to expect delays. I could see why. Given the huge number of rooms this hotel has I can understand their requirement for such a large restaurant.
As stated the best feature is its closeness to the station. Walking thru the station to the other side opens out to a good area of japanese bars and restaurants. Well worth a walk.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great introduction to Tokyo and easy to get to from Haneda airport late at night. We just made the last train after they had cancelled the airport limousine bus due to the snow. We had no idea how to get there but staff at the station which connects to the airport were a great help and the hotel was just across the street from shinagawa station which has two different food courts and many coffee shops. The Main Street outside the hotel also had good restaurants, although with a partyof10 it was hard finding somewhere that could fit us all in in one sitting. We picked up our JR passes from the counter in the station and found the rail system easy to navigate, going to the sumo tournament one day, Harajuku district the next, and shinjuku on the third day. The hotel itself was lovely, clean and modern with great views. We could see Mt Fuji in the distance. We stayed in the Main tower and didn't eat at the hotel or use any of its facilities. We were too busy. There is a great view from the restaurant on the top floor and we had some pricey cocktails while looking at the night skyline. I would feel happy recommending this motel to couples and families. I need a gluten free diet and found there were plenty of food options around especially in the food courts in the station. There was a great juice bar called Vegeta that did yummy green smoothies and soups that were a god send. Wifi access a bit dicky. You had to hire a modem thing that as a bit hit and miss at times, but we managed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main tower over facing Mt Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8611, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.