We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 1,955 Reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is great, the staff are friendly, the rooms are good although very small (we stayed in the annex tower) . The hotel is directly across from shinagawa station and is surrounded by shops and attractions. I only have three minor complaints: 1. Our bed was rock-hard and gave me a horrible neck on night one and 2. Would have loved a free wi-fi spot but wi-fi was only 500¥ per day which was alright. 3. We were confused about laundry, thought it was a free service and it cost us 8700¥ to get a few items washed (mostly knickers). This was probably our mistake being naive travellers but price could have been made clearer.
Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    928
    542
    123
    44
See reviews for
317
338
368
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is very convenient as its just opposite the Shinagawa station which is on the JT Yamanote line and so gets you to most places easily. And id excellent if you need to get a bullet train from there of Tokyo Station. We had a superior room which gave views to Mt Fuji. Yep, they are small as are most hotel rooms in Japan but was OK for the two of us. And yes breakfast is quite crowded but if you get there around 7.30 am it's OK. Just have to get used to crowds in Japan. But the breakfast options are amazing and watching is part of the fun. The Japanese guests eat Western breakfasts and the non-Japanese eat Japanese breakfasts and all get it a bit confused. But whatever you have is great. And if you want some authentic food go out of the hotel, turn right, cross the road and look for the signage under the railway lines. There you will find some great inexpensive and local food and willing staff to help you with the pre paid machines.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Always stay in Shinagawa area as the area around the train station is excellent for facilities and you can get anywhere (including access to the bullet train) from the station.
Hotel is typically very efficient, organised and clean. I booked a room in the annex which is a bit of a walk from the main building. The rooms are immaculately clean but are very small. Dont try to stay in a standard room if you have family or even a partner. Bed was extremely comfortable. No noise from outside.
Free Internet is available but just through a network cable. No wifi.
There are plenty convenience shops in the hotel and just outside.
Breakfast was a bit chaotic. The restaurant is huge and there are queues to get a table. Food was ok but the number of people and tables was somewhat overpowering. They have a warning sign outside to expect delays. I could see why. Given the huge number of rooms this hotel has I can understand their requirement for such a large restaurant.
As stated the best feature is its closeness to the station. Walking thru the station to the other side opens out to a good area of japanese bars and restaurants. Well worth a walk.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great introduction to Tokyo and easy to get to from Haneda airport late at night. We just made the last train after they had cancelled the airport limousine bus due to the snow. We had no idea how to get there but staff at the station which connects to the airport were a great help and the hotel was just across the street from shinagawa station which has two different food courts and many coffee shops. The Main Street outside the hotel also had good restaurants, although with a partyof10 it was hard finding somewhere that could fit us all in in one sitting. We picked up our JR passes from the counter in the station and found the rail system easy to navigate, going to the sumo tournament one day, Harajuku district the next, and shinjuku on the third day. The hotel itself was lovely, clean and modern with great views. We could see Mt Fuji in the distance. We stayed in the Main tower and didn't eat at the hotel or use any of its facilities. We were too busy. There is a great view from the restaurant on the top floor and we had some pricey cocktails while looking at the night skyline. I would feel happy recommending this motel to couples and families. I need a gluten free diet and found there were plenty of food options around especially in the food courts in the station. There was a great juice bar called Vegeta that did yummy green smoothies and soups that were a god send. Wifi access a bit dicky. You had to hire a modem thing that as a bit hit and miss at times, but we managed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main tower over facing Mt Fuji
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL,M'sia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Situated right across the Shinagawa station, this hotel is well connected to major sightseeing / shopping areas in Tokyo along the Yamanote line. Shinkansen from Osaka and Kyoto also stops at the station. Therefore, if you are planning to be moving in and out a lot, this is an ideal hotel to be made as a hub because luggage can be safely stored at the hotel and trains to almost anywhere can be taken from Shinagawa station. The rooms itself are nothing much to shout about. They are small and simple but very clean and comfortable enough. As a "green" effort, the hotel offers vouchers if you opt not to have your room made up for the day. There are also many eateries around the hotel area that opens till the wee hours. Haneda and Narita airports is also directly accessible from Shinagwa station but if you are carrying a 30kg luggage, the limousine bus which stops directly at the entrance of the hotel would be a better choice. Tickets to the airports via the buses may be purchased directly at the hotel. If asked to describe the hotel in a single word, it would definitely be "CONVENIENT"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stay for 6 nights on October 2011.
This is really an appropriate hotel for business and pleasure purpose.
To Epson Aqua Stadium, Izakaya and Shinagawa train station is only minutes away walking.
Breakfast in Luxe Dining Hapuna is very various and spacious, but I prefer having breakfast in Cafe 24 on annex building, because the curry dishes is very very delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed her from the 3rd january 2013 for 4 nights. We caught the Narita Express Train for Narita airport, followed the instructions to the Hotel. It is across the road from the station. You have to walk through a little mall area to reach the front door. We were in the main tower, renovated double room facing Mt Fuji. It was an excellent room. Large for Japanese standards. The room number was 3657. Very quiet, comfortable bed. In winter the rooms are very heated and we slept with a sheet as we could not turn down the aircondioning. Tip need to pack summer PJs as winter far to hot even though minus temperatures outside.There is convenience stores near by and the food court above the hotel near the bowling ally is great. Each day we just crossed the road and travelled by train to where we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Main tower, facing Mt Fuji side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#24 Family Hotel in Minato
#32 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.