We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Tower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 1,955 Reviews
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“East Tower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall an adequate hotel. One note they turn off the AC at the end of October no matter what the temperature is outside. You can set the temperature as low as you want in the room, but nothing happens. Location is great since it's directly across the street from the Shinagawa station.

Room Tip: Choose main or annex tower, but beware of the AC issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    928
    542
    123
    44
See reviews for
317
338
368
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location - easily accessible from both Haneda & Narita airports - and very close to Shinagawa station which makes it easy to get around. There are also quite a few reasonably priced restaurants featuring many different cuisines, so there is no need to eat at the restaurants located in the hotel. There is also a McDonalds and Seven11 if you get desperate.

This hotel is a strange one as you can't give it rave reviews but also can't be too critical of it - the rooms in the North tower (where I stayed) were old & small and quite noisy - you could hear the people in the rooms either side of you. The rooms are furnished very simply but are kept quite clean. The room was quite hot and the air con didn't seem to work, so I had the windows open most of the time. I had friends stay in the Annex tower which was a little better and also in the main tower which looked great.

There is no wi fi in the rooms but there is a connection cord so you can get online - although the opening message says you will be charged for the internet its actually free and unlike most free internet it ran at a great speed.

I didn't have much to do with the staff but on the occasions I did they were quite helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location is great for the Shinagawa station - so easy commute to all Tokyo. If you need a western meal then Outback and TGI are close by - shops, super markets , restaurants in Shinagawa station also very handy. I often spend my arrival day wondering round the station and shinagawa shops trying to stay awake. Starbucs is close so is Micky Ds if you desperate. Rooms are small but clean and very functional. I selected a high floor for the view - check in are very good to try to meet requests. I also took advantage of an early checkin - was a little expensive at about 50 UK GBP but after an all night flight it was really useful. Internet is cable but quick the posh bar "roof of Shinagawa" is a great place to chill. It is good overal value. I took a bed and breakfast deal - breakfast room is vast and I would suggest a 6 45 am a good time so no queues - this is actually an easy time with the jet lag - but the room is well organised so wait times not too bad. Only slight negative is the complex routes through the hotel depending which tower you are booked in.

Room Tip: Request a high level room with a view of Tokyo when you check in - I had a west facing room on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I travel a lot on both business and pleasure and this is by-far the least comfortable hotel I have ever stayed in for Western travelers. I used to stay here a great deal on business until 2002, got fed up then and found another hotel close by. Unfortunately that hotel changed hands so I stayed here again. As before, that will not happen again. The only way to describe this hotel is "plastic". The lobby and rooms are not comfortable. Yes, the room is small but that is common in Tokyo. If you wanted ice, you had to go to the convenience store in the lobby and buy it for about $3.00. The room was too hot, windows won't open and the a/c is off because it's November. I need to exchange some dollars, could not find an ATM machine around that would accept my card (no problems in Europe or China) and had to use a machine they had in the lobby. It took about a 10% fee! What a rip-off. I was in a hurry this morning for a meeting and rushed to the restaurant. The line to get in was huge. Went to McDonalds around the corner. While it is very convenient to the Shinagawa station (subways & Shinkanseen), you feel trapped in a plastic box. And no fitness center, gym or pool Never again.

Room Tip: Nice view from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Handy location and well situated for a flying trip thru Tokyo, esp the Shinigawa Train Station being across the road. Took the cheap online rate and stayed at the Prince Annex - dispensed with the breakfast which was just as well given we were spoiled for choice with the on site shops and cafes. Room was cozy and bed was pleasantly huge. Only complaint with the Annex (supposedly having its 10year celebration) was that the fittings already felt dated, there was a pervasive smell of smoke in the rooms even when we requested non smoking and you really had to work to get anything out of checking staff (eg 2 staff at various times could not get a second room access card for my wife meaning we had to coordinate our individual movements) until i got insistent - it shouldn't have come to that! We also selected the special they offered to 'do your bit for the planet' of not having your rooms cleaned daily (maximum of two days allowed) and getting a $Y500\day voucher to spend at the Prince Complex shops, though there were very few shops found (where the vouchers could be redeemed), and they were all at the main Prince Tower, with the main shop, the Convenience Store, closed for renovations!

Room Tip: The higher the better for great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Location-wise, this hotel is ideal when you are in Tokyo. The room is also bigger compared to Japan standards. However, room is a bit old and airconditioning was not working. But im not complaining as we got the room at 69% off. Good deal anyway!

Room Tip: Get either Main or Annex Tower. Old rooms in the North Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

the hotel is well located .
just in front of shinagawa station good either for business connection or tourism .

bullet train are 5 min away but

.the room are not really new and very small.

everything works and clean is not a. problem

people at desk are fine

nice nightlife in the sorrounding might help keeping u out of room

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#24 Family Hotel in Minato
#32 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.