We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purple Rein at the Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612 , Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Crowley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Purple Rein at the Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Hotel was very accommodating. The rate included free WiFi and an awesome breakfast buffet. I recommend getting a room as high up as you can, ie, 15th floor on the side with the view of the Tokyo Tower and the Tokyo skyline. The rooms have balconies and the night view of the illuminated Tokyo Tower is breathtaking. And, how can you possibly go wrong when your toilet seat is heated. There is a free shuttle service to and from the Shin station. There are many Grand Prince hotels in Tokyo, so make sure you choose the New Takanawa. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can and stay on the side of the hotel with a view of the Tokyo Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    387
    162
    35
    18
See reviews for
175
178
69
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
363 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Part of the big maze in Shinagawa. Very very huge lobby and they have their own small 7-11. Save me from spending 15 minute walking down to the 7-11 at Shinagawa Prince hotel or Shinagawa station. Hotel do sell stamps, should you need to post letters of post card

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is part of a big hotel complex in Shinagawa and seems designed to cater for big conferences. Nevertheless, it is a good choice close to Shinagawa station. Rooms are spacious and have all the basic stuff you need, including free WiFi. Breakfast was good and there is a convenience store within the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed at Grand Prince New Takanawa Hotel for 2 nights. This hotel had a huge lobby! And free wifi at your room, which was of course awesome.

What I like about this hotel is that its quite near the Shinagawa Station, approximately 15minutes depending on how fast you walk. Some restaurants are also near the vicinity such as TGIFridays, a Singapore restaurant, and a Steakhouse.

Inside the hotel, there's a small 7-11 convenience store where you can buy bottled water (safer), a nail salon, souvenir shop etc. There were also restaurants below the hotel where we ate our breakfast.

The rooms were clean and neat. They provided pillows and fluffy comforters. Haha I was able to sleep well for 2 nights.

The downside of the hotel: there's a small balcony from my room overlooking the hotel's pool.. And oh my!! it was a very dirty pool!!! Nobody dares to swim there coz nobody cleans it.


Overall experience is good.

Visit my blog: http://www.itravelwithmyheart.wordpress.com

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have spent here seven nights. The Staff is absolutely wonderful, the rooms are big, we have a double bed room (non-smoking) with a balcony. When I opened the closet the first day I found PJ's and sleepers for our use, which is rare in the US. Also, all kind of toiletries. Good Wi-Fi signal. This hotel is well located, within walking distance to the subway (Shinagawa Station) and the Rail Station.convenient to Shinagawa JR station although the hill to the hotel with luggage can be a challenge. My only complaint is that I had a hard time booking a tour, first I couldn't communicate in English with the lady at the desk. Also, it appears that they deal with only one travel agency who most of the time has not availability. In addition the swimming pool is not open until July 1 and to go to the gym you have to go to one of the other Prince Hotel and pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am a business traveler and this hotel is basically not what I was expecting.It seems to mostly cater to large tourist groups and this was detrimental to my experience. For instance there was a HUGE line (>30 min) waiting for having breakfast in the morning at both the restaurant offering breakfast. Had to go to the local Lawson and get a bottle of orange juice and some plastic wrapped food for breakfast. Concierge was overwhelmed and clearly not up to the kind of tasks a business traveler would ask. Getting a taxi was also a pretty difficult task. In a nutshell, not recommended for business travel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed there for a night, the room is more spacious than I expected.... Nice hotel room with clean sheets... Stayed on the lower floor so nothing much to see... However the hotel is rather big, it took a good 5 minutes to walk from room to the place we had our breakfast.

Breakfast spread of nice... not too much variety though.

Room Tip: It is near Shinagawa station but its not near town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Takanawa Tobu Hotel
Takanawa Tobu Hotel
#80 of 98 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.