We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL DREAMING BOUT IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“STILL DREAMING BOUT IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My friend and i stayed there for two nights. we thought we would get an average room since we were with a tour and on a budget but when we realized we were on the top floor and went in to the room, OMG! it was more than we expected. We eventually realized that we'd been upgraded for some reason i cannot explain) to the executive club twin room. and the view of tokyo was amazing from the balcony, both day and night! no hotel we stayed at later could match that! it was spacious and had all the facilities we needed and more not to mention there was a little shopping corridor on the first level where there was also a convenience store. And the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful! there is not one thing my friend and i could find to complain about even if we tried. Would go again in a milli- heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    302
    119
    24
    14
See reviews for
141
134
58
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is located in the large complex of hotel together with 2 others hotel.
This hotel accommodate more tourist group than the other two hotel.

Average standard services, average look of lobby, breakfast not very good because you
have to que quite long but if you read the coupon carefully actually you can have your breakfast at the other two hotel.

The park outside the hotel is excellent place, great to enjoy green area of Tokyo !

Room Tip: If you stay higher floor you will get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was looking for an economic option that would allow me access to the main tourist attractions in and around Tokyo. This is an older style hotel - no question - but it is clean, rooms are spacious and staff are helpful.

This is a short walk to many, many restaurants in and around the Shinawaga station. I would not recommend eating in the hotel restaurants, take a short walk and benefit from a much better ambiance, choice and selection.

I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well my family & I have stayed here twice before this trip during the last five years but did not now there had been a major change in its services approx. two years ago.

Unfortunately the changes are all bad.

No longer is the hotel a Disney partner hotel, hence no more coaches to Tokyo Disneyland/sea.

Club floor rooms no longer have dedicated check in (we had to take our own suitcases up to our rooms!!!).

The number of staff at front reception was lower than on previous visits although still friendly & polite as only the Japanese can be.

Our two club rooms were located on the 15th floor & although clean (other than the dirty carpet) were very old & tired & in urgent need of refurbishment.

As we were out early in the morning & back most nights after 9PM we had little chance to use the club lounge.

What did surprise me though was the first time we used this lounge how badly stained & dirty the carpet was here, no excuse for this as the lounge has very limited access hours so it should be simple to clean this area properly without impacting on services.

The nice upmarket quality soaps previously supplied in club rooms has been replaced with cheap generic soap.

It appears serious cost cutting has accurred since our last visit & this is now reflected in the lower standards standard of service & unfortunately poor experience of this hotel.

Based on this poor stay I am unsure whether to keep my prince club membership, if this is a true indication of the current levels of service now promoted by this chain.

The only redeeming feature is that the Hotel still maintains its wonderful co-shared gardens & the tranquility of the gardens when entering or leaving the Hotel really are something very special.

Room Tip: Only stay in club 16th floor & then only choose executive rooms, anything less & you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were in Japan on a Friendship Force exchange, and Tokyo was our last stop. Our Exchange Director found this hotel after much consultation with Friendship Force club people in Japan and lots of internet searching.

The main point is that we ended up with a first-rate hotel at bargain-rate prices. The staff was competent and friendly - willing to go the extra mile for us. And its location, only a few blocks from the Shinagawa Railroad station made it a perfect choice. The rooms were generous and well-equipped. I could not believe that I was getting a 4-star (maybe even 5) room for the price.

The concierge was most helpful in making sure that we had the right train directions, and the staff carefully set up our transportation to the airport. We couldn't have had a better experience.

Room Tip: Check the internet, and don't be afraid to contact the hotel directly. They want to be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I'd call it a ten minute walk up the hill from the JR Shinagawa train station. The New Takanawa Hotel is not as close to the station as the original Shinagawa Prince Hotel, but there's a free shuttle that goes around the cluster of Prince hotels every 20 minutes taking you to JR. Just make sure you have the exact name of this place because the name of another shuttle stop is very similar and you could end up at the wrong hotel. The room is ridiculously large and well kept, if a bit dated. The TV has BBC and CNN. Staff speaks very good english. Breakfast is not included but there is a 7-Eleven on the ground floor where one can get good sushi rolls and sandwiches. JR Shinagawa is the southern-most station on the Yamanote loop - a frequent train service that goes around the Tokyo area in a complete circle serving most of the toursit spots. JR Shinagawa is also a stop on the Shinkansen coming from Hiroshima and Kyoto.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I won't repeat what others have observed: it's well located, has a beautiful garden, no wifi in the rooms, etc. I'm deeply grateful to the hotel for the extraordinary service they provided me. I left my iPad and over $250 in the hotel safe when I checked out. They sent them to me overnight, so I had them in my hands the following evening in Kyoto. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.