We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Liked this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel boasts very convinient location near Shinagawa JR hub and surrounded by a charming Japanese garden. There is even a Sinto shrine with a huge antique bell and a big pond with Koi fish. The hotel style is quite modern, though somewhat impersonal, like most of Japanese standard hotels are. The rooms are fine - enough space to live in, convinient bathroom with all the supplies including toothbrushes and combs. The breakfast is served in a cosy restaurant with a terrace overlooking the garden. The food is fine too. The hotel is quite popular with local airline staff and local businessmen, though there were enought tourists too. The airport limo bus also stops there. I would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    328
    124
    27
    14
See reviews for
151
146
61
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Located very near shinagawa station, the hotel makes for a comfortable stay all together. This is because it is located very near a main tube and JR railway station, in a lively area, surrounded bay very relaxing japanese style garden. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and with an touch inside of warmth, as if you are a room in a private house instead than at a hotel. Furthermore, the hotel has a sall but well sourced convenient store at the first floor with food and drins for any emergency.

Room Tip: It is perhaps better to consider staying at the old grand prince hotel as otherwise you have to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really liked Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa. The location is great, just up the hill from the station. The area it is in makes it very convenient, close yet far enough away. The room was nice, the most comfortable I have ever slept in Japan. Loved having a balcony and the bathroom was very nice and well finished for Japan. The room did look worn, it needs some deep cleaning. We didn’t even sit in one of the chairs, just looked horrible. Service varied a lot. Have to give props to one of the ladies in the lobby. She was great and always helped us out. Several times she went I n the back to research and print information for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We Arrived at about 10 AM when we arrived and told the rooms have not been clean yet they would try and have a room ready just after 12 noon ( we had been offered an early check in at home at a cost of around $230.00 before we left home )
when I inquired about 12.15 Pm the shift had changed and nobody new anything
We got int our room at 2 PM normal time
the room was spotless
The staff were always nice I think we where a bit tired

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This beautiful hotel was a superb place to stay in Tokyo. It isn't on the Ginza but that is only a couple of stations away. This hotel is 300 metres from the station but a world away. It was our first night in Japan after a long flight so we ordered room service: it was delicious and served on white linen with silverware. Just the thing for the weary traveller. To be fair the décor is a little dated but it is in excellent and spotless condition. For a plethora of cheap eat choices venture down to the station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I always check for hairs. Lifted both bed sheets and saw hair on both beds. Maybe i was being too clean, so i just unpacked. Then i saw a big piece of booger on the wall dried up for days. Then i smelled some dinginess on the carpet, looked closer and saw a lot of hair on the floor, dirty balcony... Real bad way to start my first day in Japan. Disappointed.

I let the front desk know. I did not want a new room because i did not expect it to be any cleaner.

Staff was very kind and helpful, just that the dirty room ruined their image for me.

Price of rooms, its size, location,staff was great, but all that us defeated when i cannot be comfortable in my room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Every traveler arrives in Tokyo absolutely tired , if its not from travelling its from the hussle bussle of the worlds biggest city ,even tho its on time and a world of its own like no other on earth. But arriving at Shinagawa 's huge train station and needing to check in and go out ..there is no way Im walking .. so I take the courtesy bus...trouble is the courstey bus has about 4 Prince Hotels in Shinagawa area , Now was it Shin Pri ? The Prince Tower ? Grand Prince or the Grande Prince ? or The Grand Prince New Takanawa ? Turns out to be the last on the list ...oh well.. Im glad Im not walking . Room is clean , bed is good , bathroom is fine , not one of those old instant toto yellow ones either . Food was reasonable , theres a small store on the 1st floor ( ground Floor to us ) where you can buy some snacks , sando or pretty much anything from a saftey pin to omiyage. The hotel staff were courteous and well mannered of course.. I had to get to Haneda for an ungodly 6:30 am flight ... thought I was close so I took a taxi , I pre booked it it still cost 5400¥en at that time ...lucky the roads werent busy .. The hotel was fine but a little too far to walk from the eki ...where did the other hotle go ..its been renamed gooy or something silly ...its right oposite the station..

Room Tip: Ide stay at the shinagawa prince hotle next time its right across from the station .!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.