We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Save Saved
You added Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 93 hotels in Minato
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not too bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights in Jan of 2013. Cute lil hotel and not as small as the other Prince Hotels in the Shinagawa area. Not too bad at all to be honest. THe price is about $200/night and there is nothing fancy about this place. But the location is superb, there are tons of places to shop and eat at within 5 minutes and the station is only 5 minutes down the hill. staff were good, the rooms were clean and there is a small lanai out there too so I can get some fresh air. I liked it and if you see my other reviews, you know I dont like all hotels! oh the other bad thing.. internet is free but you need a router or something. cause there is no wifi cept for the lobby. there is free wired internet in the rooms though

Room Tip: corner rooms were nice but the hallways are long since there are lot of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    258
    99
    23
    13
See reviews for
114
118
49
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of the hotel is great ! It is a short walk (up the hill) from the Shinagawa Train station.
The hotel itself is gigantic but has nothing much to offer in terms of ambience and decor ! Good place to sleep and get out. The breakfast was average at best and the shopping facilities inside is below average. There is a 7-11 conveniently located within this building !
There are some good restaurants on your walk to the Shinagawa Train station as well. If you would like to go where the locals go for food, take the train to Shibuya train station and go downstairs (basement of the Shibuya train station). It is a food paradise ! All local food freshly made and it is a great way to experience Japanese cuisine.
The Shinkansen is also conveniently located in the Shinagawa train station.

Room Tip: The walk to the hotel from the Shinagawa train station can get tiring at times. This is up the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location - far from city centre . Property very nice . Language is a problem . Staff friendly and helpful . Rooms good but not very well equipped as are most hotels in Japan . Breakgast very good but could have more non - Japanese / Chinese and particulary for vegetarians .

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I think this may be the biggest hotel I've ever stayed in: it was absolutely huge. You walk into an enormous lobby, and there are about a million rooms. Possibly more. It's part of a larger complex with some other Prince hotels too: keep a note of the exact name so you don't end up in the wrong place.

We stayed as part of a family holiday during which we stayed in three hotels in Tokyo and one in Kyoto. This was a large hotel that looks to be set up mainly for conferences and businesspeople, although as we were there during the week between Christmas and New Year, it was a lot less businessy than I suspect it usually is.

In spite of the size, service wasn't impersonal or unfriendly: all of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Check-in and check-out were surprisingly fast and easy given the very large number of guests.

We had asked for two interconnecting rooms, but the hotel doesn't have any. Instead, we got two double rooms. Both were large, clean, comfortable, and had loads of storage space. The outside of the hotel looks a bit 70s, but our rooms were extremely modern: they seem to have been very recently renovated. The beds were very comfortable.

My only real criticism of the rooms would be that they were far too warm. Even though it was late December, I had to keep my window open. We couldn't do that in the kids' room, though - it was a full-length sliding door onto a balcony, and it wouldn't have been safe.

There was free, fast, wired Internet. There was a reasonably big TV with CNN and BBC.

The location is great: it's about five minutes' walk from the Takenawa exit of Shinagawa Station. The bullet trains to and from Kyoto and Osaka stop there: if you're travelling to the hotel from another city, get off the bullet train at Shinagawa station rather than Tokyo station.

There was a 7-11 convenience store on the ground floor, and an ATM that took a full range of international cards (something of a rarity in Japan): both of these things were incredibly helpful.

This was a high-quality, no-nonsense, business-focused hotel. I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Club-floor rooms (15th and 16th floor) offer free use of the club lounge, with free breakfast (basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel recently for more than a week. This was a great business type hotel located within a 5-minute walk from the train station Shinagawa. Nothing about the hotel was extravagant yet up to standard. There are plenty of malls and other eating spots around.

Rooms was clean and basic. Great view from the room in mornings and evenings. We could view the Tokyo tower from our room. There were little areas to socialize other than the lobby.

Food was excellent. Both Western and Japanese food are served in the hotel restaurant. There was a lot of variety. I very much enjoyed breakfasts at Marmolada, which was tasty and great value for money.

WiFi was available for free in the lobby area but not in the rooms. A cable connection is provided for rooms.
Great service and the reception staff are well spoken in English which made life easy.
However, the feel of the hotel was more western than Japanese for me.
I had a lovely stay here and probably go back if and when I go to Tokyo again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Outlook very nice but not the hotel room , may need upgrading inside the room , furniture look old .free Wifi only available in Lobby , not convienience for people who want suftnet in the room. Staff is very helpful. Standard breakfast nice with street view.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel, even after a reservation mix-up. We booked our hotel reservation via Booking.com several weeks before arriving at the hotel. We had a printed confirmation with us when we checked-in. The hotel had the wrong check-in date, which caused some confusion. After a twenty minute wait in the lobby, the error was corrected. Since the hotel was responsible for the error, I requested a room upgrade for our inconvenience. The request was honored, and my wife and I enjoyed a larger hotel room overlooking the Tokyo skyline. We loved our accommodation and the location of the hotel. It is very close to the Shinagawa Train Station, which is a stop for the Shinkansen to Kyoto and Osaka.

Room Tip: We always do well requesting a quiet room on an upper floor far away from an ice machine and the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.