We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating After Reservation Mix-up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating After Reservation Mix-up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel, even after a reservation mix-up. We booked our hotel reservation via Booking.com several weeks before arriving at the hotel. We had a printed confirmation with us when we checked-in. The hotel had the wrong check-in date, which caused some confusion. After a twenty minute wait in the lobby, the error was corrected. Since the hotel was responsible for the error, I requested a room upgrade for our inconvenience. The request was honored, and my wife and I enjoyed a larger hotel room overlooking the Tokyo skyline. We loved our accommodation and the location of the hotel. It is very close to the Shinagawa Train Station, which is a stop for the Shinkansen to Kyoto and Osaka.

Room Tip: We always do well requesting a quiet room on an upper floor far away from an ice machine and the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    321
    121
    26
    14
See reviews for
149
142
59
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Pros: Located near the Shinagawa train Station which is convenient for accessing other parts of Tokyo. Take the west exit from the station and go up the street where you can see Prince Hotel buildings. Go past Outback, Singapore Seafood, TGI Fridays, etc and you'll find the hotel on the right.

Con: Located uphill from the train station. At night, lugging heavy luggage, it seemed like a long way. Should have taken a taxi. In the morning without luggage, it was a pleasant downhill walk. We didn't actually do anything in the Shinagawa area, though, other than eat and sleep so next time I might try to find a hotel in another part of Tokyo.

Pros: Convenience store located onsite
Con: Food is expensive but there are many, many options only a block or so away.

Pro: Nice size room; nice shower flow and hot water; robes & tea provided
Con: Furnishings are rather industrial and the public areas are a little tired. This is a convention type hotel.

Pro: Limousine Bus is available to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Conveniently located next to the Shinagawa Train Station and to the Takanawadai Subway Station, you can reach a lot of places from here.
The rooms are big and clean. There's a small balcony available as well, and the bathroom has a big space.
The internet is fast, and as common with Japanese, the personnel are very welcoming and sympathetic.
Do be aware of breakfast, though. It is not included, and there's a restaurant on a lower floor from the lobby that serves it. You end up paying 27€ for a breakfast that is only “normal”, and that it certainly doesn’t live to the standards of such requested price. You better just buy stuff from the convenience stores located on Shinagawa Train Station. There's an Outback Restaurant just across the street in case you're in for something more western.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here during my trip in November for 4 nights and booked the superior twin room with 10% discount of the normal rate. Counter staffs were very polite and efficient, they will always greet you whenever they saw you. But command of English still need slight improvement. Room was in a great and clean condition when I checked in. Surprised at how spacious and clean the room was and there is even a balcony. The view from the balcony was great and the leaves on the tree was starting to turn red. The facilities in the room: mini bar fridge, safe, hotflask, 32" LCD TV, a big n clean bathtub, closet for clothings, a desk for writing, a single seater sofa, a coffee table and 2 super spacious bed etc.

Location wise is not bad, but if you are with a heavy suitcase, then the gentle slope to the hotel from Shinagawa JR station might prove tiring and abit challenging. Getting to the hotel from Shinagawa JR station is around less than 10min and to Takanawadai subway station is nearer. The vicinity of the hotel is full of restaurants and cafes but nothing much for you if you want to shop. There is a 7-11 convenience store in the hotel which opens till 2am so no worries if you are hungry at night. Sadly, there is no free wi-fi. You can bring a laptop and connect using your own ethernet cable. If you do not have a laptop, you can use the desktop PC at the business lounge (100yen for 10min).

You can also book the airport limousine bus ticket from the hotel as it is one of the boarding point to Narita or Haneda airport.

Overall, this is a great hotel with good service and nice rooms but location wise is ok if you do not mind daily traveling to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Harajuku etc. It will be great if wi-fi is provided free.

Room Tip: Try to book at least a superior room as the cheaper room has received quite alot of negative reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently decided to spend a week in Tokyo on our way back from a trip to Canada, we asked our travel agent to book as 3-4 star hotel close to transport and she recomended the Grand Prince New Takanawa.

We found the hotel to be very pleasant, and definately handy for Shinagawa Station, only about a 3-4 minute walk away.

The guest relations manager Nami Kawano was a gem. She was extremely patient with my constant hassling for information, gave us maps for everywhere we wanted to go, wrote notes in Japanese for us to give to taxi drivers, etc, and recomended some awesome places for us to visit.

Food at the hotel was excellent, breakfasts at Marmolada was excellent quality and great value for money.

Our room was always spotless and we had a (little) balcony to take in the morning air and got some great sunrise / sunset views.

The gardens between the Grand Prince & Grand Prince new were out of this world, we actually walked the long way to the station just for the pleasure of walking through the gardens!

all in all great value!

Room Tip: All rooms that I could see were great and all had balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great, very nice hotel. Good staff. Very clean. Located a 5-minute walk from the station Shinagawa. A direct train NEX or bus from Narita airport to the station. Superior rooms are located on the upper floors, large room , with a balcony to the garden. The room has a teapot, green tea, slippers, yukata. Comfortable beds, stylish design of the room. Good varied, delicious Breakfast.

Room Tip: superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is in a good location if you like quite places with proximity to public transport. You can get to pretty much anywhere in the city from the nearest Shinagawa station. Very convenient if you are arriving into Haneda Airport, taking only a 15 minute train ride on the Keikyu line. The hotel is a 5 minute uphill trek from the station. If you are arriving with more than a hand-luggage or luggage with no wheels, spend the $9 (minimum fare) and take a taxi. You will arrive in the hotel less exhausted. The hotel has a bus service but runs very infrequently, like once every 30 minutes.

Must have been a grand hotel in its heydays but is now quite faded. The service is professional and courteous, but not personal. Everything works for the larger average, but not necessarily with your convenience in mind. One feature of the hotel is the beautiful Japanese Garden in the back, part of the larger Prince property of 3 hotels. Definitely worth a walk around it.

A typical Japanese business hotel where you get a clean room and that's it. The room I had must have been updated sometime in the last 1-2 years. The room has a small balcony that looks over the neighbourhood buildings. The most frustrating experience was the temperature setting in the room. When I checked in, the room was at a smoking 28 degrees on the thermostat. It was some 12 degrees outside. After attempting many times to set it down to a more comfortable 24 degrees I called the front desk to get some help. The person on the other end repeatedly told me that as it is winter only the heater would work and I cannot use the cooler (!!!!!). Now, this was my plight when I was speaking to the guy in Japanese. After a few attempts explaining to him that I want to use the heater with a lower setting, I was politely told that the temperature cannot be adjusted in the room and if it is too hot, I can turn it off (!!!!!!). Even after turning off the thing, I had to leave my windows (thank god they could be opened) open most of the time. So, I had to use the windows as a manual thermostat throughout my 5-night stay :-(. I was reminded of a cheap hotel I once stayed in Sapporo back in 1995. At least in that hotel they did not claim that they provide air-conditioned rooms and did not have a dummy thermostat in the room. I remember sleeping with my window loosely shut all night, when the outside temperature was sub-zero.

If you can afford a few dollars more, stay at the Prince Sakura Tower next door. The rooms are larger and nicer. I have stayed there a number of times and the air-conditioning works. If you cannot afford the dollars, go for a smaller 2 or 3 star hotel. You probably will get better value for money as you won't be paying for the name and features that really are not delivered or don't add real value.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel if you want a more comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8612 , Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#27 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 938
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New (Shin) Takanawa Prince Hotel was designed by Togo Murano, one of Japan's leading architects. Every one of his design concepts from the exterior of the grand banquet halls to the restaurant interiors to the handpicked furnishings all harmonize beautifully, despite their different functions.This is the largest hotel in the Takanawa complex and it is a monument to individuality, décor and functionality. Like its other two counterparts, the New Takanawa Prince sits majestically on the beautifully landscaped grounds of a 10-acre Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.