We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8282, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #6 of 92 hotels in Minato
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Strings the 2 last days of our 2 weeks in Japan ! when we arrived first in Tokyo we stayed in a hotel in Shinjuku , but for the last days we decided to stay in The Strings for being adjacent to Shinagawa Station ! and the location is really exceptional !! we arrived from Kyoto by Shinkansen , and a few minutes later we were at the hotel ! I have seen people complainig that it is hard to find the hotel , but in Japan people are very kind to give information , then just ask !! furthermore, in the hotel reservation everything is explained !
The hotel is beautifully decorated , wonderful view from our room on 32 floor , but it was the smallest room we had in Japan !Breakfast was very expensive, and the set menus of the restaurant as well , but just at the entrance of the Shinagawa station is a branch ot the american Dean and Deluca Delicatessen , where we bought delicious cheeses , fruits , terrine de campagne and wine and had a delicious dinner in our room !! another must is the supermarket at Isedan magazine , also at hte entrance of the station , where one can find every western products !! Front desk could be more corteous , we have an Gold Ambassador Card , and even so we didn´t have a late checkout at the time that would be good for us ! everything around this region in Tokyo is super , modern and beautiful , and we liked it very much !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICStrings, General Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear beatrizantonini,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    188
    33
    14
    1
See reviews for
62
154
86
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Doyzer's List:
Stayed on business, great hotel, awesome location for train station, taxi's, supermarkets, bars, restaurants and coffee shops
Cleanliness: 8, High standard.
Room: 7, OK, not huge, deluxe and standard seem the same????
Bed: 6, good night sleep, twin double beds are on the small size
Blackout: 7, OK
TV: 8, standard a few english channels.
Air-con: 8 for control & ease of use and noise levels.
Staff: 6, Very good, but English was not great, and i did speak to many reception and restaurant staff.
Location: 8, good area, it did rain, but the train station and most of the restaurants, etc can be accessed under cover.
Convenience: lots of shops around the hotel area, English is not widely spoken.
Safety: 10 Never felt worried in any area at any time.
Language: English is not spoken widely, 80%of signs are Japanese (this increases to 50/50 or better in the newer/ tourist areas.
View: 9, High floor gives better view, we have an awesome view over the station, and all rooms are on the higher floors.
Shuttle: -5, no shuttle, but minutes from station.
Taxi: 8. All good, drivers do not like you opening or closing doors, or getting you bags out of the boot.
Bus: did not use;
Internet: did not use.
Wi-Fi: 7 Free and fine.
Check in/out: 7, friendly and efficient.
Lifts: 7, 4 OK speed and little waiting.
View: 7, The deluxe room, offers little over the standard, we were told the view was better, but my colleagues disagreed.
Internal sound proofing: 7, Good, very little internal noise.
External Sound proofing: 7, The hotel is at the top of the building, so sound proofing is good.
Safe: Fits 14inch laptop, but not 15 inch
Bathroom: 8, over head & normal easy temp control, good flow.
Breakfast: 5, Each to their own, fish and strange stuff that the staff could not tell me what is was put me off a lot, I did not find it good values, others may disagree, so it is a matter of preference.
GYM: Looked fine, did not use.
Restaurant: good selection, good staff, quite expensive.
Pool: NONE
Bar:6, Standard
Extra's: 8, Bathrobe, slippers, pens, notepad, toothpaste, shaving, sewing, etc..
Staff the stood out: All professional.
If i missed something, let me know and i’ll add it to my list.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICStrings, General Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Doyzer,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to again being your preferred hotel choice when you next visit Tokyo.

Sincerely,
 
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Extremely convenient to get to, whether you're arriving from Haneda or Narita, as it's literally adjacent to Shinagawa station, which has trains directly to and from both airports. Plenty of shops and restaurants in and around. Peak hour traffic can be a bit daunting, but that's typical of central Tokyo anyway. Rooms were good by Tokyo standards, but breakfast was slightly disappointing.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICStrings, General Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear SingaporeGenie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this visit to Tokyo and we are delighted to receive your positive comments regarding our great location and convenient connection to the airport. Thank you also for your comment regarding our breakfast which we have shared with our Executive Chef for immediate attention.

We look forward to again being your preferred hotel choice when you next visit Tokyo.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The breakfast of this hotel is wonderful. Normally, when I go to Japan, I don't take any breakfast buffet, unless it is good, because there are so many great eateries in this country. However, Intercontinental by the strings offers a great breakfast. My favorite dishes include takano tofu and the bamboo shoot dish.

In addition, the staff are generally very friendly. If you sign up for loyalty program, you would receive free wifi and two bottles of water, which is a great addition to the trip.

I also like the bar tender and highly recommend the sake selection. It also offers to taste sake in an old-fashioned manner (squared cup).

Lastly, I do have to mention from Haneda airport to Shinagawa is extremely convenient via Keikyu. In preparations for olympics, Japan is going to increase the number of flights into Haneda, which makes this hotel a much more attractive choice than any other hotel in the city. And of course you may know that Shinagawa is very convenient for city center, hakone as well as izu, mt. fuji. great location!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICStrings, General Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear LIN C,

Warm greetings from The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo and thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you liked the location and staff, and we do appreciate your feedback on our breakfast, and have shared your comments with our Executive Chef also.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo.

Sincerely,

General Manager  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is located next to Shinagawa JR station and KeiKyu Shinagawa station. Meaning it is very easy to access from Haneda/Narita airports as well as Shinkansen lines.
But be aware that it is not so easy to find at first since there is no major signage indicating the way to the hotel.
It did take us quite a while to figure out in which building the hotel was and when we finally found it, we realized two other couples had been wandering around like us searching for the hotel.
From JR central exit or Shinkansen exit, turn right to follow the Konan exit then right again into the building complexes to find the Shinagawa East One Tower. The lobby is on the 26th Floor of this building.
Anyway coming back to the location, being in Shinagawa has both advantages and disadvantages. Obviously being a transport hub, you get easy access to Shinkansen lines as well as the main JR Yamanote line. A ride to Shibuya is around 15 minutes and count 20+ minutes to Shinjuku. Also since it is mostly a working place you have a very wide choice of eating places especially izakayas or yakitoris places. But because it is mostly a transport hub and working place, it definitely has no shopping at all. If you need any last minute shopping, keep enough time to get to Shibuya or Shinjuku because there is pretty much nothing in Shinagawa.

Now as for the hotel, it is definitely very new and classy. The rooms are very well designed and comfy and the bathroom has walk in shower with separate bathtub. Spacewise rooms are surprisingly large for Tokyo standards especially considering the rates. We had no issues of noise and it seems that rooms are quite sound proof both in terms of outside hotel noise and inside hotel noise.
The staff we encountered were all very efficient and friendly adding some warmth to the high standard of Japanese hospitality.
The hotel is quite busy with business travelers and it is definitely more business oriented than leisure oriented.

All in all i would definitely recommend this hotel unless you are in Tokyo for shopping in which case I would still prefer a hotel based in Shinjuku or Shibuya.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICStrings, General Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear FERU06,

Warm greetings from The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo and thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you liked our very convenient location and guest rooms, and we do appreciate your feedback on our staff, and have shared your comments with our management team also.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

next to a busy train station. still, you're isolated from noise and unless you walk outside, you'd never know. even then it's rather civilized and clean. but pretty much everything in Japan is clean. great staff, good restaurants and reasonable prices, especially for Japanese standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICStrings, General Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear peter p,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Tokyo and for providing us with your valuable feedback.
We are delighted to hear of your positive feedback on our hotel team and restaurants.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent 9+days with the familly

The good
- Location: Shinagawa is a good location to explore Tokyo and surrounding. ok choice of restaurant around. Mind it is a working area, not a party area. Narita express stops here
- Hotel presentation and design. a good japanese feel. classy and warm
- Quiet night. Felt like we were the only one in the hotel. Don't hear the neighbour or outside.
- Comfy bed for adults and baby (yes there is a comfy mattress in the baby cot)
- Good size room
- Good bathroom: shower and bath tub
- Service! our key wasn't working, we got a new one and followed up to our room to ensure it was working. Super friendly staff.
- Free Internet

Not so good....
- we had to leave

The three of us lovelled the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICStrings, General Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear axelgfrsyd,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are delighted to receive your lovely comments regarding our great location, which as you mention is a very easy walk to Shinagawa station with smooth access to the Shinkansen. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our friendly staff which we have shared with Management team.
We look forward to again being your preferred hotel choice when you next visit Tokyo.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8282, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Minato
#5 Business Hotel in Minato
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.