We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business oriented hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Business oriented hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a fantastically located hotel, directly across from Shinagawa, so its easy for a weary traveler to access. Its not marked well, though, so you have to look carefully for the sign as the hotel is within a nondescript office building.

The staff is very courteous, and the facilities are fine. The room was somewhat small but efficient, and the breakfast was acceptable for business. Because of the location, one could easily hope on the metro to get anywhere in Tokyo. But, there are some nice restaurant gems within walking distance of the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    271
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
103
225
113
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel twice on my recent trip to Japan. The hotel lobby is located on the 26th floor of the tower which over looks Shinagawa station. The hotel is ideally located, being just about on top of Shinagawa station and the Narita airport bus stops practically outside the hotel

The hotel is accessed by an express lift from the ground and first floor straight up to the 26th floor. The lobby area is real cool with a pond and glass bridge. There are two restaurants, one located in the lobby atrium - which is a French-Japanese fusion style and the other restaurant is Chinese. I only ate in the lobby restaurant, which was really good, the food was excellent and the restaurant is nicely laid out around the pond and decked out with bamboo and other plants. Breakfast - which is also very good, I particularly liked the fruit and nut selection - is served in the lobby restaurant. The hotel bar, which is a little soulless, is also located in the atrium restaurant.

There is a good selection of drinks, and the bartender does an excellent vodka martini, but there is a poor selection of wine by the glass - only one red and one white. The hotel gym is also located in the lobby area. It is well equipped - 3 treadmill machines, 1 stepper, 3 bikes, a set of free weights and 2 multi-gyms, but a little small. The bikes and treadmill over look Shinagawa station so there are lots of things to occupy your gaze while exercising.

My first room was located on the 27th floor overlooking Shinagawa station (2711), he view was interesting and you do hear the trains at night and early morning. I didn't mind the sound of the trains, comforting as you fall asleep, but some may find it annoying. I think all the low numbered rooms overlook the station. My second room was on the 28th floor (2827) and was located on the other side of the building, which was much quieter. The rooms, while a little small, are quite comfortable with a large double bed. The room also has a coffee machine with complimentary coffee capsules and a good selection of tea. The bathrooms are really quite large with a huge shower and good sized bath tub with separate loo. The bath products are by l'occitane. The beds are very comfortable, and the TV is quite large. The wifi service is also very good, easy to get onto and quite fast. I had no problems vpn'ing and remote desk-topping to work. There is also a free internet service in the lobby.

All the hotel staff are extremely helpful and courteous and everyone I dealt with spoke good English. One of the best hotels I've stayed at in Tokyo. I would have no problems staying here again and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: High numbered rooms on each floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We won't stay at another hotel in Tokyo after this trip! All other reviews mention concierge, Ben Johnson and I'll add to that list. Ben made our trip excellent with helpful suggestions on places to visit, maps for trains, etc. He really is the best concierge we've ever had the pleasure of meeting! That said, other reasons to stay here: excellent location, right next to Sinagawa station - this makes getting around Tokyo very easy and anywhere else in Japan. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and updated. This is a hotel that actually looks like the pictures on the website :) The bathrooms are huge, large showers and comfortable bathtubs.
Most of the staff speaks English, we had no trouble getting what we needed. I used the gym each morning, which was small, but has everything you need to get in a workout on the road. We did eat at the breakfast buffet almost every morning which might seem a tad pricy, but actually is reasonable if your filling up for the day, as we did. There is a huge variety which was enough to get us to dinner with coffee or a snack in the afternoon.
The bath products are nice. To sum it up, this hotel is the closest thing to being in our own home that we experienced on this trip to Japan.
A tip if you're moving around the country: ask to have your luggage sent ahead, as we did going to Kyoto. It's an extremely reasonable (US $15) way to not have to lug extra bags on the bullet train and takes one day to arrive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hotel rooms excellent with large comfortable bed, shower and bath en suite, quiet. Convenient location 5 minute walk from Shinagawa station. Staff friendly and helpful with excellent English. Australian concierge Ben, was very helpful and suggested great places to visit in Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belair, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We only stayed 1 night but we were happy. Ben, an Australian from the Whitsundays was the concierge and gave us good advice on what to see and more importantly how to navigate the train system (easy once you get the hang of it). The rooms are not big but certainly not the smallest I have ever been in either. Relatively sound proof which was nice, as the Intercontinental in Yokohama wasn't, and we experienced what can only be described as "elephants on our roof" every morning as the people in the floor above got ready.
It is also very handy to Shinagawa Station.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 29th floor which had good views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is a modern, world class hotel conveniently located next to the Shinagawa train station. Service is impeccable and the views of the Shinagawa area are breathtaking. The rooms are not too big for standard rooms across the world, but are considered a good size for Tokyo. The staff are very courteous and speak very good English. There are many dining choices both in the hotel and in the surrounding Shinagawa office and train station complex. Be prepared for a high hotel price since this is Tokyo after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have had some access issue with Tripadvisor, but it seems resolved. In June of this year we enjoyed a very nice 4 nights at the Strings. It is an excellent location and the staff is very attentive in the Japanese way. That is to say, they respect your privacy, but if you ask for assistance they will work very hard to match an experience with your request. I have visited Tokyo more than 8 times over the last few years and was able to get new experiences due to the recommendations of the concierge staff. Case in point Tsukiji Market. Ben Johnson recommended a sushi place slightly outside of the main area of the market. Result, we were able to get immediate seating and my wife and children loved it (They are experts in sushi, much better then I). Also, Katosan recommended an Italian restaurant in Shinagawa and we went there for lunch and dinner (On different days) due to the quality of the food, friendly staff, and reasonable cost. About the location, Shinagawa is a major JR station and you can get to anywhere quickly. This should not be discounted as a selling point in such a big city. One other thing, this hotel is reached via an elevator meaning that you have a feeling of seclusion even in the big city. We thoroughly enjoyed getting back at the end of the day and being zipped into our cocoon. Might I add that cocoon included access to an excellent bar at the atrium level which prided itself in its creations (Very pleasant music). While I think InterContinental hotels are quite good, this is the best I have been to by far and the staff and location make it superior for the Tokyo experience. Please enjoy your visit to Japan and consider the Strings as a great place to ensure only good surprises for your trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear HonestReviewfromTN,

What marvellous feedback you have given us - thank you! It was a personal pleasure for Kato san and myself to provide a unique and memorable experience for your 8th trip to Tokyo and we have many more local experiences for your next trip.

We have shared your feedback with our entire team and are humbled by your description of us as the best InterContinental and a superior Tokyo experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shinagawa in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#9 of 99 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,947 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 99 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#11 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.