We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, best location and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8282, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, best location and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We chose hotel due to it being close to Airport as we had very early flight to London and we could not have chose a better hotel. We managed to get early check in and and upgrade. The check in was smooth and professional and we were welcomed with fruit and gift in the room. Due to a slight delay in going to room we were even served with complimentary tea and cakes in the atrium. We cannot rate this hotel highly enough and we will choose each time we return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an excellent 5 star review and we hope that we can welcome you back to Tokyo in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    210
    34
    15
    1
See reviews for
68
169
93
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I booked one reward night in The Strings expecting that I'd be leaving Tokyo the next day. On check-in I was delighted to hear that my room type had been upgraded (I am a PC Platinum member, but have no Ambassador status). The room was much bigger than I'd expect in Tokyo.

The hotel feels very modern, peaceful, and clean. The view (at least on the rainbow bridge side) of the city and Tokyo Bay is great. I am very impressed with the quality of the hotel and the room. It also made me feel good that the lan and wifi access is complimentary.

Then I was impressed at the flexibility of the staff when my flight plans changed not once but twice. My flight date was pushed back a day, I booked another reward night and the staff was able to make sure that I could keep the same room. Then again my flight was pushed back a day and I had the same positive experience extending my hotel stay for the third reward night.

As for the area - it is very nice that the hotel is so close to Shinagawa station. Shinagawa is a great transportation hub for getting around Tokyo (Yamanote line) and also getting out of Tokyo (shuttle buses, rapid train, etc). It is kind of "business-y" - meaning that Friday after work we saw a ton of people out at eateries and such, but on the weekend it was really calm.

I really hope to be able to come back to the The Strings again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It brings us great joy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for leaving such a wonderful 5 star review, which was shared with our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed in April before departure, having stayed in ANA Intercon Tokyo before this hotel. Strings was a bit too much business oriented for my taste. But the service here was top-noch and the staff did a excellent job, although I didnt get any room upgrade even as Royal Ambassador so that was a minus on them. The rooms are clean and modern, the in-room dining was poor, I found hair in my food so that was a turn-off. I didnt go see much as it was my last days and it was in the business district, but they had a buss station outside the hotel so I guess one can take that to get to the shopping areas. But I want to give a special thanks to Kenichi for arranging a buss transfer for me to Narita airport and walking with me to the buss station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been in many places, but how I felt here, I will never forget. I spent several months here (months...). Service is impeccable. No one defect in all my stay, and I am demanding.
Breakfast is ok, the restaurant is poor compared to the quality of the service and the rooms. It is also not cheap... The location is perfect to get to the station and going everywhere from Shinagawa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear XXXTraveller_16,

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us over several months and thank you for your feedback, it is truly appreciated. We hope that our entire team have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I visited "The Strings" 3 yeqars ago and now again : wonderful, charming compared to those Mega Hotels you'll find usually in the Shinagawa are.
Easy to rech and at the focal point of traffic connections in Shinagawa station.
Nice bars and restaurants within walking distance (if you know your way, but you can't get lost).
Overall, a very pleasant experience again, even with the upscale price level !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Strings by InterContinental again and thank you as well for the charming review, it is certainly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed on this hotel for a quick overnight on a business trip. I picked this hotel because it was easily accessible from Haneda (Keikyu Line) and Narita (Narita Express) via Shinagawa station. I didn't use a lot of the facilities, but I got a good impression of the room and the Dining Room Restaurant.

The approach to the hotel from Shinagawa is a bit odd. It took me a little looking to find it. You feel like you're sneaking in the back door, and you enter the upper-floor lobby in the corner. There is a 7-11 near the entrance, always handy since their ATMs take foreign bank cards, and it's way cheaper than the minibar. (Write that down folks, that's a tip for Japan). The check-in clerk was poilte and helpful, and rushed over to open the door to the elevators for me.

Since I was staying on a Friday night, I got upgraded to a corner room (of which there seem to be eight per floor) with a king bed. The room was a little tight and oddly shaped, but the bathroom was spacious, and there was a lot of closet space. The view was great: huge windows looking east. There were also good amenities in the room: besides the usual toiletries, room safe, etc, they had nice bathrobes, and (unusual in Japan) an iron and ironing board. Internet was free but a bit slow.

I only had breakfast in the restaurant, but it was a nice layout with great fresh fruit and a lot of variety. Breakfast was the usual Tokyo overpriced $30. The restaurant opened at 6:30, even on Saturday, which was good because I had to catch a train! The location next to Shinagawa can't be beat.

Room Tip: There are a lot of corner rooms available. Just ask, and you might get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Eric T,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location certainly can't be beat and we are glad you found it convenient as well as had time to enjoy The Dining Room.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although I've traveled the world I was a bit concerned about my trip to Tokyo. I had heard that is is hard to get around if you can't read Japanese. I was there for four days and had no problems. I had read about the great location of The Strings...being right outside the entrance to the Shinagawa Station, but before I went to Japan, that didn't mean a thing to me. But now I can say that I couldn't agree more.

While I had some trouble finding the building itself upon my first departure from the train station, once I found it I can't think of a more convenient place to stay in Tokyo. The Shinagawa Station is one of the major stations of the many, many in the Tokyo area.

Luckily I knew in advance through other reviews that the hotel was on the 26th floor of a high-rise. Still it was a bit strange to take an elevator to the check-in point. The hallway you walk through on the way to that elevator made me feel a bit like I was about to visit the Wizard of Oz....but it was a pleasing entrance nonetheless.

Upon my arrival I was greeted, had an easy check-in and was escorted to my room. The room was not overwhelming but was clean, adequate and very pleasant during my stay. I had never used a toilet with a heated seat before so that was a new surprise.

The best part about the hotel, as was stated in so many of the other reviews, was the concierge Ben and his staff. I had no idea what I was going to do during my few days in Tokyo before boarding a cruise ship with some clients. Ben helped me plan each day, showed me the train I needed to take and stayed past his "quitting" time to make sure I understood everything. It is a huge asset to this hotel. I was also assisted later by one of his staff who was also very helpful, but whose name I did not write down.

I highly recommend this hotel for its location, hospitality and for its great concierge services.

Room Tip: I had heard about the great views from this hotel. Mine wasn't so hot...but I didn't ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear findacruisedeal,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review and it was a pleasure for our team to be of service.
We hope you had an enjoyable cruise and look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8282, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Family Hotel in Minato
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.