We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Save Saved
You added The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8282, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #6 of 93 hotels in Minato
Danville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

There were many impressive things about this hotel.

Location -
1. Walks from Shinagawa station (great place to forage on assortment of yummies).
2. One train ride on the Narita Epress (NEX) to the airport at approx USD$35 (a bargain compared to cabs).
3. Y$3200 to the Tsukiji market. But we got there at 4:30AM and hear all 120 tickets were issued by 4AM. So, no auction for us.
4. 7-11 right downstairs. (Nope not in a seedy way)

Staff -
1. Concierge guy - Ben!! Need we say more? So helpful, accommodating and did I mention patient?
2. Check in staff - always smiling.

Breakfast -
Eat it only if it's included in your room package. Otherwise, don't bother spending the USD$30+. Take your money, take a 5 minute walk and go eat at Shinagawa station. Way more satisfying price performance.

Room -
1. Size - compared to other rooms in Tokyo this is humungous.
2. Modern and control switches are so easy to use.
3. Bathroom - small, but clean and modern won me over.
4. No turn down service - :(
5. Housekeeping - I'm used to having housekeeping fold my overnight clothes on my bed. So i was a tad disappointed to come back in the PM and find my clothes just sort lying in the same spot over my made up bed. I thought that was strange. They were also a little skimp with the shower amenities.

in short - I loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go ahead - get the rooms facing Mt. Fuji. On a clear day, we could see the snow-capped beauty. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    185
    33
    14
    1
See reviews for
61
150
83
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a very comfortable, no-nonsense hotel in Shinagawa, a part of Tokyo that long ago was a semi industrial quarter that now is a buzzing business district. The hotel is a covered 150 metre walk away from busy Shinagawa station. This is very handy if you have flown into Narita. Just hop on the Narita Express to Shinagawa station (itself a great transport hub from which to explore Tokyo; plus lots of cabs). Literally, minutes after you step off the train you can be registering at the front desk, which is on the 26th floor of a big office/retail complex. The lobby/restaurant/bar area is spacious, well appointed and very functional in the best Japanese style. The staff are efficient and courteous. The room I had was spacious (a good thing in Tokyo) with a great king-sized bed and a terrific shower. Importantly it was very quiet, despite the hustle and bustle outside on the streets. I recommend this place for business trips, and especially if your business is in this part of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

One of the best hotel's I've every stayed at. The property is located only 5 minutes away from JR station.
When I first step into the foyer area, I was amazed by the inner atrium and the level of attention given by their staff. The room was clean, well furnished and quiet.
The buffet breakfast was amazing with a choice of western or Japanese styled food and I did not have a problem finding something that appealed to my taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Strings is a hotel that was built in early 2000's and continues to capture the subtle aspect of Japanese design. It's a smaller hotel (6 floors with 30 rooms each floor) and caters to the western traveler. The rooms are large by Japanese standards, in particular the bathrooms which feature full shower and separate bath, perfect for a long soak at the end of the day. The hotel is located just outside Shinagawa station with easy access to anywhere in Tokyo.

Now here are the best things about this hotel:
1. Ben Johnson - the manager. He will help guide you to the perfect meal, expedition or tour after just a few questions. He will make reservations at the best restaurants in Tokyo or get you out of Tokyo for a day. He has provided the best concierge service I've ever had.

2. The rooms are perfectly equipped for business, comfortable beds and small amenities that make the stay relaxing.

3. The willingness of the staff to help.

There are a few great places in walking distance from the hotel:
- belgian beer bar (yes you can get Rochefort 10 in Tokyo)
- great sushi on the second floor of an office building
- a great West Coast IPA at T.Y Harbor Brewery
- great lunch noodles across the courtyard

Get the premium room with breakfast included, because the buffet costs Y3000. Otherwise there's Starbucks as you enter Shinagawa Station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of Intercontinental's best! Service, Location, Staff, Accommodations, and Dining all exceeded expectations. This property located across from Shinagawa station should be your first choice when traveling on business to Tokyo.

Rooms are very clean, nicely furnished and filled with amenities and necessities for every business traveler. Included Breakfast buffet is both western and authentic Japanese appealing to all tastes with a very friendly and efficient staff.

Check-in was fantastic, staff smiled and was very efficient. A definite return when in Tokyo

Room Tip: While trains stop at night if you stay in a room adjacent to Shinagawa station you will hear the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The best hotel I've experienced in the Shinagawa area, conveniently 5 minutes from the main station.

From the airport, the train will take only an hour (if non-Japanese its best to buy a return from the JR office at the airport - at arrivals, go down one level ... a return will include a UK Oyster-style travel card for 2,000 yen which is excellent value. Even if you don't use for travel in Tokyo you can use these cards at most convenience stores).

Upon arrival at the station, exit (via the Central Gate) into the main concourse and turn right (past Starbucks etc) to exit the station, then outside right again towards the hotel (which will be well sign posted). You'll be entering the hotel building at level 2 - take the lift to the reception at the 26th floor.

Hotel is of a high standard, staff are eager to please and very helpful. Rooms are well maintained and modern. Broadband is good, better using the wired connection.

My view was over the tracks of Shinagawa - nice view, but you can still hear some of the activity below, even from the 27th floor !

Personally, I'm not a big breakfast eater - and so the breakfast seemed over priced, and not as extensive as somewhere like the New Otani - its easy and much cheaper to pop down to one of the cafe's at the second level for a coffee etc, There are also plenty of places to eat within walking distance (especially in the areas to the right of the hotel entrance)

Finally, for the return journey by train - I found it easiest to go to the JR office opposite Central Gate to have my ticket assigned to a seat (one can use the machines too) for the morning train of your choice (they tend to run every 30 minutes)

You can then check out, enter Central Gate and head left towards platform 13 and the train to the airport.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesn't face the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Several stays at this Hotel, and clearly at its best in Winter - in the Summer I have found the rooms too hard to get down to a comfortable temperature, and not then be cold!

A special touch that I had not appreciated before is the night shirt; really loved that. Staff are an example - attentive without being annoying, gracious and really try to help.

Room Tip: stayed on many different floors, all equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8282, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
#5 Business Hotel in Minato
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.