We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the (small) size and convenient location, away from the hustle bustle touristy areas of Tokyo. Room is very clean and decent in size but most notably is the staff who provided excellent service. The Concierge team is incredibly accommodating and helpful in asking the right questions to understand what we need before pointing us in the right direction. Ben Johnson is one of the best concierge we have encountered in all of our business and leisure travels. He certainly made our Tokyo experience more enjoyable.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Montikobi,

We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us and found our location, rooms and service to your satisfaction.

Thank you for your immense compliment of my service during your stay. It is an honour to know I have made a difference to you visit. The entire staff take pride in our local knowledge to connect guests to the real Tokyo providing authentic and enriching experiences whether for business or leisure.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for such a wonderful review of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    253
    37
    17
    5
See reviews for
93
215
106
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks for work. Clean, quiet roomy and upscale. Very nice hotel. The staff was very kind and helpful. The room and bathroom are spacious by Tokyo standards. I was impressed with how quiet it was. I heard no noises from the hall or other rooms at all during my stay.

Location is a short walk to Shinagawa Station.

I would stay here more often but the price is too high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Yakimo,

Thank you very much for your long stay with us and for your wonderful 5 star review. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Shinagawa in the near future when travelling to Tokyo.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in The Strings for 3 nights with my boyfriend on a business/exploring trip.

Pros:
The hotel was easy to find and VERY close to a main subway/rail hub.
Our room was large and clean, with a soft bed (not so common in asia)
The Wifi was free and extremely reliable.
The concierge was very helpful.
We had a GREAT view of Mt. Fuji from our room.

Cons:
In a business district, so there's no much to do after you've returned to the hotel.
The breakfast was bizarrely expensive (~50USD). With not less than 20 options (including a Dean and Deluca) less than a 5 min walk away, i just didn't understand.
Though it didn't both us, it was very easy to hear train noise.
The primary concierge was so good that working with others when he was unavailable felt a bit like we were working with second tier staff.

Room Tip: If you have a room with a Fuji view, it will also have train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Brennan S,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to leave your excellent review. We are very pleased to hear how much you both enjoyed your stay with us and the view of Mt. Fuji at this time of year is always impressive.

The strong yen certainly makes the perception of value difficult at the moment but our buffet breakfast is similarly priced to other luxury hotels and as mentioned there are many casual breakfast options nearby as alternatives that our team can advise our guests about. It was a pleasure to be of service at the Concierge desk and your feedback is noted about our newer Concierge team members who are still learning. We are sure that by your next visit they will be able to answer more of your questions and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Tokyo.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Strings hotel is a luxury hotel. the rooms are very design (dark wood), very large by Tokyo standards (mine was 2834) especially the bathroom with bath and shower. The bed was confortable but you need to ask if you want more firm pillow (they have some choice if requested). the air-conditionning system was pretty quiet. the lobby of the hotel where you find also the restaurants is very impressive. Unfortunately you can hear some noise from the Shinagawa station close by. Could be not perfect if you are very sensible with noise like me. More english channels on TV than most Tokyo hotel (don't dream no TV5 for french). WIFI excellent. The breakfast buffet is extremely expensive (50USD and 28USD if discount ticket) and choice is disapointing. Try to find something best for half price in the nearby station. Staff is very professional, perfect english and always willing to help. All in all high class hotel with beautiful tokyo view by night

Room Tip: ask for the room as far as possible from the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear leto1972,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave your review and tips for our hotel.

For our guests who are more sensitive to noise we can assign rooms on the quieter side of our building and our rooms each offer superb panoramic views of the Tokyo skyline. We also have many amenities available upon request such as different pillow types if required.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel breakfast. The strong yen is certainly affecting our restaurants in terms of perception of value as prices, choice and quality are comparable to similar classed hotel restaurants throughout Tokyo. We always welcome any additional suggestions or comments on how we can improve and either our Food & Beverage director or I are always available.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for my last night in Tokyo after staying in a more value hotel and it was a really nice stay. The quick highlights:

Hotel building / rooms
Lobby is really quite nice - very well-designed with a blend of both Japanese and Western influences. The open environment in the lobby really stood out being in Tokyo where there's not that much space. The rooms itself are well-furnished and has everything you need. Rooms have more than ample space particularly for Tokyo with all the right amenities. Key thing here is that internet wifi is free and easy to get going. Washrooms were very spacious after staying in smaller traditional ryokans throughout Japan

Location
Hotel is located in Shinagawa. Shinagawa is a business district, though it was very convenient to have a 7Eleven on the bottom floor of the building and also the hotel was right next to a mall. If you're in Tokyo for tourism, there;s not a lot to see in Shinagawa but the hotel is located right on a JR line and so its an easy train ride to other main districts such as Shinjuku. Another plus is that the airport express train goes directly to Shinagawa so no need to do any transfers.

Service
This is what stood out at the hotel - in particular the concierge. In hindset, I wish I spoke to the concierge here to help plan out some activities in Tokyo as they really did have in-depth local knowledge of good spots, activities, and restaurants. I forgot the name of the concierge representative, but he was an Australian who is paid by the hotel to try different tourist experiences throughout the city - as a result, he really was able to provide tips on anything you'd like to see/eat/do.

All in all - a great hotel. If you're looking for a business hotel, this is a perfect hotel. For a personal trip, this is also a good hotel - not exactly central but very easy to get around.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Jason L,

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We have shared you comments with our team who were delighted to hear that you found our location, rooms, free WIFI, unique design and service to your satisfaction. Thank you especially for your recommendation of our Concierge services and it was a pleasure to be of personal service during your stay. Our entire hotel team pride themselves on being “In the Know” about the best Tokyo can offer our guests.

Shinagawa is one of Japan’s oldest train stations and underwent a major development in recent years to the facilities and features direct express airport access from Haneda and Narita airports, the Tokkaido Bullet trains (Kyoto bound) and several major train lines such as the Yamanote line without the hassle of some of the major stations such as Tokyo or Shinjuku making it the most convenient transport hub in Tokyo.

We hope to welcome you back to Tokyo in the near future as our guest.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a high-class, up-market and expensive hotel which has excellent levels of service, reasonable facilities (though not great) and a "fair" location. Its a short walk from Shinagawa railway station, which is a major hub with trains going in all directions and it also makes it easy to get to from Narita airport - a single train journey of about an hour, which is as much as one would want do after a long-haul to Tokyo. The facilities are fine, probably better than fine actually, but there's no pool and the gym is a couple of treadmills, a couple of bicycle machines and a weights machine. Every time you turn your back while in the lobby or reception area and there's somebody to help but in a way you come to expect that in Japan though in this hotel they do it better with genuine smiles and welcomes.

So why only 4 stars rather than 5 ? Its just the cost really. It was an expensive 2 nights, even pre-booked in advance with the no-cancel option. Breakfast was indeed a great buffet and I even had dinner which was superb but a hundred euro for brekkie and dinner is just a bit outside my range, so I give it 4 because its a 4 from me. If you've got the budget and can afford it then its a 5.

Room Tip: Take the East exit from Shinagawa for the shortest route
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear HI---fan---Dub,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community.

The strong yen is certainly affecting our restaurants in terms of perception of value, and our restaurants are positioned as upscale restaurants. Our restaurant prices are comparable to similar classed restaurants throughout Tokyo and The Dining Room, our global all day dining offers great value business lunch courses from JPY 2520, light meals starting from JPY 2310 and main course from JPY 3150. With over 300 restaurants within 5 minutes from the hotel and another 190,000 in Tokyo our Concierge team are available to assist guests with any enquiries.

We look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is my third visit to this hotel this year, and the prevalent quality in terms of friendly attentive service, beautifully serene yet incredibly functional facility retains it's excellent consistency. In addition I was blown away by the fact that they apparently have addressed the two requests I had in my previous posting by adding additional state of the art cardio equipment to the gym and now serving (on request without any additional charge) fabulous freshly prepared oatmeal which was the last element missing from the already outstanding breakfast buffet. I was truly blown away by their responsiveness!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear mojo2012oovajay,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel again and thank you for another wonderful review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the changes that we have been making to provide a more comfortable stay for you. We truly appreciated the feedback from last time and thought they were great ideas that would be enjoyed by our many regular guests. There are many other projects happening within our hotel which we hope you will enjoy the next time you stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minato
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#5 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and JAPANiCAN so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.