We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA InterContinental Tokyo

Save Saved
You added ANA InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #15 of 93 hotels in Minato
Salamanca, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed 5 days for business. Hotel is not new, and you can see it in details like the bathroom with a bathtub and a curtain, but everything works ok. Rooms a little bit smaller than standard for American hotels, but bed size is ok and they have a nice desk for working. Breakfast very good, with almost all choices possible and a very good service. Staff very friendly and helpful. Value for price ok. Location good, next to two different metro stations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAICTYO, Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Luis B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on the ANA InterContinental Tokyo and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    554
    151
    32
    18
See reviews for
162
313
144
480
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed in this property for 4 days on business and was very pleased. It was beautiful, very clean and service was outstanding. I only give it four stars because of value but this is Tokyo, but I depending on your needs it is very worthwhile.

Location was excellent to my office and just a short walk to Roppongi. There is also a convenience store across the street and a market in the adjoining building.

I did not try any dining options other than room service the first night, which was good(Japanese curry). The buffet looked very good, but I cannot see myself spending $65.00 for any buffet regardless of what they were serving, but this is more of a personal choice.

Overall Great Stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAICTYO, Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Scpenquin,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on the ANA InterContinental Tokyo and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we are look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for five nights while staying in Japan. Everything about the hotel is top notch - the rooms are big and comfortable and have everything you need, the restaurant and bar are really good, concierge very helpful and the location is great as it's right next to a tube station.

I cannot fault this place and would recommend to anyone looking for a place to spend a few nights in Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAICTYO, Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear MitchManchester,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are delighted to receive your lovely comments regarding our great location.Thank you also for your feedback regarding our Concierge team which we have shared with them.
We look forward to again being your preferred hotel choice when you next visit Tokyo.

Kind regards,

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

luxury hotel... take a high floor room to get good view.. located at the metro station and many indian restaurants nearby... at the best ... many restaurants available in the hotel itself.. the room size was small may be due to japansese standards

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAICTYO, Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear gauravagarwal22 ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us from your recent visit, we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the ANA InterContinental Tokyo, which have also been shared with our team.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.

Sincerely,  

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband, myself and our 3 college kids stayed here while touring Asia. We are from Chicago so we know big prices and we have traveled all over the world and stay in only 5 star hotels. This hotel was. Rey nice and the staff was extremely helpful, but we did not like that wifi was not included in the room price. We ended up getting the executive package that included breakfast in the executive lounge and free wifi. We had 2 rooms so it was 1309.00 usd extra for 5 days, which is a lot for breakfast and wifi. A room service pizza was 26.00. The hotel was beautiful and the room was nice and clean, not large but comfortable. We were a 10 minute cab ride to Ginza for shopping. The ana intercontinental is in more of a financial district vs a shopping or nightlife business. They do have a knowledgeable person at the business office who was able to ship our packages back home to the USA. They also have a cash machine and currency converter machine in the lobby which was wonderful and the teppanyaki restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAICTYO, Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mutton1023,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on the ANA InterContinental Tokyo and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us. We have shared your comment with our restaurant manager and team also. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Tokyo.

With kind regards,

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

At first sight this is a nicely decorated hotel, but a further look and a long stay shows lack of attention to details and average service.
- Room was dusty, and sheets were stained.
- Bathroom walls have yellow stains.
- Concierge is very average in knowledge and kindness. Hospitality does not seem genuine.
- Room key constantly broke.
- Steam room available only for men, and they do not think that's a problem!
- Mediocre room service. I ordered a curry, portion was very small and I found a hair in my meal. What they called Naan bread was dried pita.
Japan is known for great hospitality and food, shame that the ANA does not keep up.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAICTYO, Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear TravellingSkirt,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again on this trip and for your feedback also.
We truly appreciate your comments which we have shared with our entire management team for their immediate review and correction as we continually seek improvement in our overall guest experience.

We hope that we will have another chance to welcome you again on your next visit Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I'm currently staying here with my boyfriend as we needed one week accommodation before we move out of Tokyo (so I am writing this as someone who lives in Tokyo). We chose this hotel because it was close to our offices and previous apartment. Also my future mother-in-law also stayed here for a few days in a different room. Her room was smaller and cheaper but still nice enough.

The overall look and feeling of the hotel is nice, lovely lighting and ok perfume smell as you walk into the hotel. I'm a sensory person in this way and it is always a nice feeling of relief when I come back "home". The finishing looks a bit dated though; carpet is not very nice and the bathrooms in the rooms are plasticky and budget feeling for the price you pay.

The staff try to accommodate and give good service, but seem limited in their problem solving ways until we went to someone who seemed like a Manager.

For example, it took us three tries to check in due to some mixup with our reservation. We couldn't get a double bed, ok, sure, two beds is no problem. They then put us on a smoking floor (19th floor - even though it is a non-smoking room, it was very strong smoking smell...I mean we're on a smoking floor!). We asked to be changed to a non-smoking floor and the room (12th floor, I believe) looked like a downgrade, despite being the same "type" of room (smaller room, smaller 2 beds), which is pretty disappointing for the price, actually.

We went down again, and being our third try and exhausted, went straight to a very polite manager-looking gentleman and he sorted us out right away with an upgraded room on the 24th floor, nicer view, one large bed for the both of us. The quality, space and room was noticeably better, but theoretically costed more than what we were already paying (and if we had to pay it, just doesn't seem worth it).

Location-wise, it is convenient if you want to stay around Roppongi and your office is nearby. There are two stations close enough to walk to if you want to take the train to other areas, and taxi's aren't that painful if you need.

A couple things that really bother me:
* No sauna for women. It clearly states on their English website that there is a 24 hour fitness room and sauna facilities, yet the sauna apparently is only for men. I asked why and the lady at the front desk said for "security reasons" which does not make sense to me. It is false advertising and a huge disappointment, not to mention backwards and sexist feeling. Perhaps there is a good reason why this is, but they should have a better explanation prepared as to why.
* Internet is not free and costs over 1600 yen for 24 hours. While our room apparently was included, it was not included in my mother-in-law's room, which I find silly that a luxe hotel like the ANA would make a fuss over something like internet. If we stayed at a budget hotel, fair enough, charge for any little additional thing, but internet at a very nice business hotel? =/
* The pool is not free for hotel guests. It costs 3000 yen to enter the pool area for guests and 6000 for outside visitors. At least this is mentioned on the website but I would not bring a family here.

Overall, it feels like a nice business hotel that is a bit dated and definitely overpriced for what it is (especially with internet being extra). You're paying more for location convenience if your office is nearby and a gym if you have time. I wouldn't stay here for a romantic or on a family trip (as taking any kids to the pool would be a ridiculous expenditure).

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on a non-smoking FLOOR, not just room, if that's what you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAICTYO, Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear hybiscuskiss

Thank you for choosing ANA InterContinental Tokyo and for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.
We do sincerely appreciate your comments on our hotel and are very disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual levels of high standard, which have been shared with our management team for full review.
Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service experience that we offer to our guests.
We hope that we will have another chance to welcome you again to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#11 Business Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#20 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ANA InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your ANA InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
ANA InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.