We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive on the surface” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ANA InterContinental Tokyo

Save Saved
You added ANA InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #15 of 93 hotels in Minato
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Impressive on the surface”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a grand looking hotel, in a useful area for sight seeing. The lobby and restaurant look good and are well maintained.Didn't eat in the restaurant, as breakfast was equivalent of £27, but there are plenty of nice places next door at Ark complex, and a 24hr supermarket. However, the bedrooms are average,and smelt of smoke in both rooms I was offered. They are too small, particularly the bathroom, where there isn't room to turn around. Beds large, but too low, mattress uncomfortable and the pillows ridiculous- they disappear when you lie on them, even three didn't do the trick. Had to use the ( smelling of smoke ) cushions underneath them for support. The bar on 36th floor was also rather unattractive, not very big and, unsurprisingly, expensive. Staff were ok, but not overly helpful. Overall, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear stringal,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you liked our lobby. However, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced over the bar as well as the room and bathroom conditions. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    537
    150
    32
    17
See reviews for
156
308
142
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed quite a few IHG hotels before and honestly, most of them disappoint. This stay proved my loyalty to be worthy. In terms of customer service, this property should be a role model for all Intercontinental hotels. From getting off the taxi, checking-in to getting room service. They raise the standard of luxury accommodation. The hotel may not be brand new or flashy, but the staff are truly amazing at what they do. I would argue this hotel could possibly win over a Ritz Carlton.

They know the drill, they know how to impress, handling your luggage the right way, taking over at the right time. I didn't get the "anti-foreigner" impression some had experienced. Front desk was extremely courteous and over archive his role. I felt professionalism, got thanked of my loyalty, checked if my requests were met etc. Even though I said I wouldn't mind, they insisted on the welcoming gift, they actually cared about the tiny details.

I assume the line wasn't busy as the operator even had the time to have a little chat with me, asking how my day was and if arranging transportation was necessary the next day. At a busy hotel, it's hard to add personal attention but they did it. There is a mix of leisure and business travellers, as well as flight crew as this is an ANA hotel so the lobby sets an ambient of both luxury and comfort.

The room itself was spacious (gorgeous for Tokyo standard), living room had blu-ray player, large working desk, well-stocked minibar and room was well lit. Their duvet was heavenly, I believe you could order one home if you wish to. The location of the hotel is a pity, as it is indeed a 15 mins walk until you reach the train platform, but the nearest underground exit is only 2 mins walk from the hotel.

The only thing I can complain about is that they're doing it too perfectly, it lacks the feeling of being in a foreign country. If you're looking for that awkward language barrier when asking for a wake-up call, it wouldn't happen; they all speak fluent english.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Stayed 2 separate nights. The first night had an amazing view of the old tokyo tower from my room.The beds, I would describe as firm, but very comfortable. The old tokyo tower is about a half mile walk from the hotel. Many good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This ANA InterContiental hotel is located near two major tokyo subway stations (walking distance - within 5 minutes) which makes it really convinent to tourists or business persons to get around the city. From Narita aiprot, you can take an Airport Bus there and it arrives at the hotel front door directly. .

In general, the hotel is expensive and I agreed with other travelers that the hotel rooms are definitely outdated. Service is uneven especially when there were a large group of tourists arriving from the airport buses. Hotel restaurants are expensive and the quality is only so-so. Fortunately, there are tons of restaurants next to the hotel to choose from and their price are more reasonable.

If you want, you can walk 15-20 minutes to Roppongi district. There - you will have no trouble finding all types of restaurants from hole-in-awall type to upscale restaurants at the Hyatt hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the original Tokyo Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located. The rooms are relatively clean but unpleasant, too old and need major refurbishing. The service can be good or bad, depending on the employee. The food is average or slightly below average. The hotel is a typical business hotel but with really unpleasant rooms and inconsistent service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Markustemasek,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased that you like our location. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the room condition, the unsatisfactory service you received from some of the staff, and over the food that did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly as your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very foreigner-friendly. The rooms were large and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The location is pretty convenient. The breakfast buffet opens at 6:00 am, which is great if you're up early because of jet lag.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you put aside the high price of everything (face it, if you accept the fact that there is a $27 room service burger, then you accept the pricing), this property is lovely. The staff is unfailingly polite and helpful. Beds: big and comfortable - I had a king, which can be a treat in Asia.

The room is big enough and well appointed. Bedding, towels and amenities up to snuff. The ability to get a decent amount of hot water and a nice soaking tub. An external coffee shop with the desserts of a French patisserie. I managed not to indulge but was up against it repeatedly. Missing: in room free water. It's not a requirement, but it is a nice to have.

Very cosmopolitan feel, and well appointed, clean spaces (of course, this is Japan, so what did you expect - as an example, I left my room key outside during a conversation - someone turned it in and then tracked me down...safe, lovely, kind...)

When you want to eat, and don't want something nearly as pricey, you have 10 or more choices right out the lobby door and in the little mall next door.

You don't even need to drink the $6 bottles of coke from your mini-bar, as there is a 24 hour grocery store out the first floor and across the parking lot. (I am not cheap, I just prefer to spend my money on better things than overpriced hotel food). There is good Chinese and Soup Stock Tokyo.

There are other hotels nearer our offices, but this one is in my top 5 for Tokyo.

Room Tip: the hallways are very convoluted, so it's not even a matter of choosing a good one as much as fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ANA InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#11 Business Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ANA InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your ANA InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
ANA InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.