We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ANA InterContinental Tokyo

Save Saved
You added ANA InterContinental Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Minato
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

First off – We are budget travelers and stayed one night at this high end hotel paid for with reward points. Beware all you budget minded travelers, the hotel and its services are expensive. Example: 100 yen per 5 minutes of internet access at the Business Center.

We stay at ANA properties in Japan whenever possible. We love the hotels and consistent 5 Star staff and service. It is a beautiful hotel located in an ideal location. Subway is a few minutes away so getting around is extremely easy. From check-in to check-out the level of service from the staff was 5 stars. My wife is Japanese so she took care of everything. Our accommodation was a standard room (see attached pictures) located on the 24th floor with a view of the Tokyo Tower and Hotel Okura (Stayed there in 1983 as part of the Asst Sec of Defense party). The room in a high end hotel such as this is small by western standards but it was quit nice for Japan. We did not eat in the Hotel but rather hit the Convenience stores for breakfast and the local blue collar joints for lunch and dinner.

Beautiful hotel, Superb Service and Staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    572
    156
    33
    18
See reviews for
166
325
149
493
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Fabulous view for Tokyo skyline. Comfortable setting and romantic. Beware of crazy rules on happy hour. And the female wait staff with a huge attitude. Ordered a rum and coke which was a happy hour item. But was told since I requested diet coke vs regular coke it was full price! Really? Upon check out I requested a comment card. Front desk had no comment cards and handed me a piece of paper. Really?

Will drink my rum and diet coke at the Hyatt next business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Upon investigation, there seems to be some misunderstanding of our happy hour. We do not differ in price between coke and diet coke. Simply we do differ in pricing before, during & after prescribe happy hour set times which appears to be the case. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was a good decision choosing this hotel, strategically located at the heart of Tokyo, two subway lines and everywhere is just a taxi away (famous places and landmarks) not far so its inexpensive...diverse food and restaurants within the hotel complex, michelin grade resto as well..and the service wow! its customer delight... can communicate well in English, can arrange your itinerary, plan your vacation and rescue you in stressful situation while travelling...

Room Tip: higher rooms commands a great view of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our service and location.
And thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a great place to base ourselves whilst visiting Tokyo - the sights and attractions of Tokyo are quite spread out but this hotel is located next to a subway station so we found it very easy to get around. Taxis in Tokyo are very expensive so the proximity to transport is a big plus. The hotel itself is beautiful, with comfortable rooms and good food. The service we received was excellent. I didn't like the pillows much but they seem to be an Intercontinental standard - they are extremely soft. The hotel offers a reasonably priced airport transfer service which was helpful for us too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Guest Relations Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank-you for the great comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Feather pillow is our standard but also several types of pillow are available.
Airport Limousine bus is 3,000yen one way. From Airport, our hotel is the first stop. Also To Airport, our hotel is the last stop. So it will save your time.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed for two days at the ANA Hotel in Akasaka Tokyo some time ago. It was a very nice experience. The staff were most gracious as one would expect in Japan. I loved my single room. My room was on the 21st floor and the view was magnificent. I could see Tokyo Tower from my window and this was particularly pleasing on the eyes at night time. I even had a Japanese toilet that was like sitting on Captain Kirk's seat in Star Trek. There were so many buttons on it and you could heat the seat ,etc. A new experience for me. There are many bars and restaurants in this hotel and the decor is excellent throughout the hotel. The breakfast consisted of a buffet meal and there was a wide choice from Japanese to Western food. The hotel is well situated and accessable to all public transport. I really enjoyed my stay there and will return again.

Room Tip: I stayed at this hotel on a special rate. It was available throughout December.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Guest Relations Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
I am also really happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast in our award winning all day buffet restaurant!
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is very expensive, the rooms are quite noisy from the expressway outside and the rumbling lifts that seem to be audible from most rooms. Worst of all, I was charged >5000 Yen for a 4-minute international phonecall, and when I emailed them to complain, I still have not had a satisfactory response almost 2 weeks later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Firstly thank you for choosing ANA InterContinental Tokyo.
We are very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfy with our telephone charge.
Installing a phone line cost much because of we have to pay the basic charge everymonth.
That is why hotel's telephone access fee is more expensive in general way.
Please refer the price list that we had send you last week.
Thank you for sharing your comments and We hope have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I booked my trip for October 2012 in 2011, I didn't realize I would be in competition for rooms against the huge IMF meeting that was occurring in Tokyo. The hotel was packed with IMF delegates while I stayed there, but I never felt rushed or ignored by the staff. Coming from the US where you receive indifferent, surly service from hotel staff, the ANA Intercontinental staff was refreshing. As a western US resident, I hardly walk (essentially drive everywhere). Walking to and from the Tameike-Sanno subway station and sightseeing wiped me out. The bamboo "Japanese Traditional Foot Massager" in the room was a godsend to soothe the aching arches. In the US, mid/upper hotels usually will sell you things like duvets, sheets, mattresses, and anything in the hotel room if you like them. Since I fell in love with the bamboo foot massager, I asked the concierge if the hotel sold it. No, they do not. But the awesome concierge directed me to the nearest TokyuHands where I could purchase something similar. Rooms are spacious by Tokyo standards. Rooms are pricey, but in line with similar properties near central Tokyo. Breakfast buffet is made to order. Menu doesn't change very much from day to day, but it beats trying to find a place to eat when your feet ache (yes, there's a lot of cheaper alternatives, but you have to walk to them, and when your feet are killing you it's just nice to be an elevator ride away from a nice meal.)

Room Tip: I didn't realize that had I gotten the "city" view we might have been able to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at ANA InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your staying with us and taking time to feedback.
Your comment will be a great encouragement to councierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#11 Business Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#20 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ANA InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your ANA InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
ANA InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA InterContinental Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.