We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Saint-Tropez, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not up to the standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Intercontinental Tokyo Bay is an utter disappointment. The hotel is in desperate need of modernization and fresh impulses. I honestly can not understand why Intercontinental has not rebranded or closed down this hotel. It is clearly not in any way a 5 star property and far from being of the standard one should expect from Intercontinental.

Don´t be fooled by the apparently low nightly rates. There is a reason, or perhaps many, for that:

1) The rooms are in desperate need of modernization, they have hardly been updated since the early 90s, the bathrooms are especially bad. Notice the terrible combination of cheap purple pillows and outdated furniture.
2) The breakfast is not up to the standards, it has a minimum selection of toast, machine made coffee and eggs only. Please also notice how other reviewers have complained about the breakfast. Still nothing has happened despite several promises from Intercontinental case managers.
3) Facilities close early and do not cater to traveller needs at all. It is pretty much impossible to order drinks, coffee, snacks and other necessities after 9:30 pm. This is unacceptable in a 5 star hotel.
4) The room service menu is not tempting. Try ordering something as simple as a ham&cheese or club sandwich and you will quickly discover that they don´t have any. You will instead have to go with today´s soup or the terrible "pork cuttlet sandwich". Not good.
5) The A/C is not good enough, there is moist air in the rooms and a bad smell.

On the positive side: location is ok and close to Haneda airport. The concierge service is really good. Staff is smiling, helpful and polite.

Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear high_flyer20,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns. We value your feedback as this is our best resource in improving our guest services. We hope you give us another opportunity and allow us to redeem your faith in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    379
    115
    26
    15
See reviews for
193
230
71
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Simply speaking, I could not understand why this hotel claims it is an international brand hotel.
Most of staff in this hotel seemed not understand English fully while the hotel camouflaging itself as a part of international hotel group.

Please mind not to stay in this hotel during weekends. This hotel seems to be famous for local wedding services. The lobby was filled with the wedding guests for the with noises. Also, the wedding convention guests easily conquer four hotel elevators unfortunately designed to share for all conventions and hotel guest rooms. Never experinced this long waiting time in the elevatory hall in other international hotels.

This hotel commands a very nice bay and a big bridge (which looks like Golden Gate bridge in SFC) views. That's the only pros I found for this hotel. This hotel is not in the romantic bay view area. The surroundings are very non-romantic only seen box style office buildings and with only two convenient stores. Many reviewers seened to have mixed opinions about the location value of the hotel. Location itself is more for office leasing than for hotel operation..

Furthermore, a lady at the front desk yesterday acted very strangly and made me question about the IHG's true efforts to keepi the standards of staff quality.

(My case) The front desk staff and I had mis-communication (I guess.. she could not understand English well..) for changing rooms from a smoking to a non-smoking room. She insisted that I preferred a smoking room... I said, "No... You might be misunderstood". I added that I could wait more until another non-smoking room was ready if there was some miscommunication between us. Suddenly, she threw the pen, room keys and tore my earlier registration sheet with a big noise just in front of me. I was too embrassed to say any words. Yes. miscommunication can happen.. However, this is not what we do not expect from the staff of IHG brand hotels. Like other frequent reviewers I have stayed at many hotels around the world including Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto and never been treated like this.
The worst thing to me was that it just happeded at the very first day of my vacation in Japan.

Recommend for Japanese travelers outside Tokyo area who has strong interests in Odaiba recreation facilities. STRONGLY NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANY NON-JAPANESE TRAVELERS, especailly for travelers who cannot have space to endure poor English speaking staff in the so-called 4 or 4.5 star international brand hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Scythian33,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns. We value your feedback as this is our best resource in improving our guest services. We hope you give us another opportunity and allow us to redeem your faith in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staying there since three years,very expensive, chef live kitchen is good experience.
Inspite of my request of early check in,and being priority club gold member,waited almost two hours to get the room
Staff is helpful . No much issues. Will stay again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel staff without exception try very hard to provide a quality service, at times overpowering other times very helpful.

Standard room was excellent, view over river rather than bridge no problem.

Room facilities good, bed large and comfortable.

Expected better quality food but biggest problem is that not all restaurants are open in an evening even though the published times say their last orders are 9pm.

Returned from a day trip to Mt. Fuji, tried to eat at any of the dining rooms at 8.30pm - was offered room service. Did eventually allow us to have a table in Italian restaurant eating from a different restaurant menu.

Also you can't buy cake from the wonderful display of cakes and eat them with a coffee in the lounge. Has to be formal in the lounge.!!

Location ok but as it is the business district maybe limited in local facilities.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Inths,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a 3 night stay at this hotel as part of a pre-cruise package. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely large bathroom with tub and walk in shower. Excellent supply of toiletries. Would have liked a view of the rainbow bridge but we were unlucky on this occasion. Great sound proofing we were never disturbed by any noise. Room service very efficient and reasonable although not a great choice. Location although not brilliant they do offer a free shuttle bus to the station and the monorail is located exceptionally close with a walkway direct to the hotel. Staff very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a room with view of rainbow bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took the Narita Express to Tokyo train station and used the JR Yamanote line to Hamamatsucho station. The hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from JR Hamamatsucho station. It is by the bay on a quiet street. There is a Family mart quite close to the hotel. My room had a beautiful view of the bay and was quite large - as was the bathroom. The staff was courteous and efficient. We used the concierge to make reservations on the Airport Limo. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

LOCATION
Is next to the monorail, which is convenient. The neighborhood has nothing, is very quiet, so you'll have to do some traveling to get something to eat. There is a convenience store in the build next door, which is, well, convenient.

SERVICE
Staff is polite, which isn't really a compliment because everyone in Japan is polite.
I tried to check in at noon, and I was told there would be an early check in charge. So I had to come back at a later hour.
I bypassed the line and went to the Ambassador check in counter, which always makes me feel uncomfortable, but this time even more so because the lady behind the counter gave me a "what the heck is this guy doing" look, and seemed only reluctantly to check me in. Why even have these carpeted Ambassador counter areas? Just for show?

FOOD
Among all the Intercontinentals I've stayed at, this one had the worst breakfast. The selection was extremely poor (compared to other ICs). Japanese breakfast was very limited. Their vegetable miso soup is awful. The western breakfast is just eggs, bacon and terrible cheap sausages. At the omelet station, the cook forgot to put in the vegetables and cheese. When I pointed that out, he just took it back and sprinkled the veggies and cheese on top of my finished omelet. Cmon dude.

ROOMS
Rooms are very nice, the bathrooms even nicer; well decorated and stocked with amenities. The view is good, but with the sun shining in, the rooms can get quite hot. The bed was very comfortable. I had an infant traveling with me, and the roll away crib they provided was a high-quality wooden one with fresh linens, unlike the crappy metal ones given at other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#14 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#20 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.