We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #19 of 93 hotels in Minato
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fab hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights end of June and can't find fault, everything was spot on especially the bed & pillows, such a good nights sleep despite the jet lag. I highly recommend a walk to the rainbow bridge, it's easy to get to on foot and you can walk over on the north side and cross over and walk back the south side, the views are amazing and take a camera as there a photo platform every so often on the bridge

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    312
    100
    23
    12
See reviews for
153
193
62
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's all an illusion. Great service, yes. Doormen with white gloves who run to open the electric automatic doors which would have opened anyway. Amazing interior has a museum like quality to it. The bathroom was simply amazing. Our floor had restricted access so i needed to put my key into the slot just to press my floor. Which prompts the first question, How is that useful as anyone who doesn't have a room key for the upper floors would not be able to do much in the hallway anyway?

The air-conditioning was weak and did not remove the humidity from the air. I needed to shower before and after sleeping and never got a rest from the humidity of the Tokyo rainy season. A bottle of soda from the mini bar was six dollars, which was actually half the amount they charged in the lounge, if they would seat you at all. Few chairs in the lobby.

All of the restaurants were outrageously expensive. The thirty dollar breakfast buffet consisted of pancakes and waffles which sat like bricks in my stomach. The lounge upstairs charged a fee for admission and their drink prices were again over the top.

Our floor was one of the few which had complementary WiFi, which was the only perk we had. True to other luxury hotels, the more you pay the more services they fail to provide at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: There was a constant banging overhead which might have been coming from the lounge on the 20th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear HenryLINY,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy to hear that you found our staff helpful. On the other hand, I am disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on our final night in Tokyo and received an upgrade to a room with an incredible view over the bay – This was stunning both at night and in the morning.

The room was lovely, all the bells and whistles you expect to find in a hotel of this standing.

The only downsides were the distance from the subway and when we were leaving I felt that we were ushered out a little “too efficiently”, almost to the point of being rushed.

All in all, though it was a really good hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall the hotel is a nice one with a very luxury finish. Close to transportation and good central location. Our room had a great view of the bay and it was very clean and nice. The room service was very slow though as 3 times during our stay we had to call to get it service.

My largest problem with the hotel is the customer service is awful. They were rude and condensing which is very odd considering I have been to Japan many times and have always as a good experience. Note that even though I was a gold member this was still the case.

The last thing was that I left a toiletry bag at the hotel and they wanted to charge me US$50 to ship it to me. Now if I was just a one-time guess I would not mind paying for this. I am actually a Gold member that has stayed at their hotel every week. They would not budge on charging me a mark-up on shipping my toiletry to my place. I will never stay at a Intercontinental hotel again as Hilton would have no issue with this.

If you are looking for a place in Japan I would advise not to stay here as you will not get the typical Japanese hospitality that you would expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a window facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 962hayden,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Gold Member and taking the time to write us a review. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located on the Tokyo side of Tokyo Bay, this hotel has easy access either by the Yurikamome train line, a 10 min stroll from JR Hamamatsucho railway line, or a shuttle bus also from Hamamatsucho.

Staff are extremely attentive and helpful, and were a big help when I inadvertently left my headphones at the hotel after I had checked-out!

The hotel is a little bit dated, but still extremely comfortable, and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

You get everything you expect from a hotel at this level. The staff are excellent and you are really close to the city and the main stations to travel around. It's also very close to the fish market (about a 30 min walk or about 10 bucks in a taxi) the rooms are good but not superb hence my 4 star rating

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Love the view from the room, Tokyo Bay. Easy access to go around by JR, Mono Rail, and any other public transport.
Getting on monorail from Haneda Airport is very easy. Get off at World Trade Center, and take hotel shuttle bus for a very short ride, particularly if we bring suitcase. In fact, a very short walk to hotel from bus terminal beneath WTC Tokyo.

Special thanks to Ms. Kara, for helping me the hassle printing Disneyland ticket in such a rush.

Love the hotel people, love the hotel products.

Perhaps the owner of this hotel might re-consider the chair at working desk. It is not comfortable for long seating. I work hard also from this beautiful room of Intercontinental Tokyo Bay.

We follow a suggestion from front desk people to spent one evening in Odaiba area, a short ride on mono rail.
A nice walk in Odaiba and its surrounding for shopping and meals time.

To reach Narita Airport, we took a bus which is arranged and booked through hotel concierge.
It is very much well organized, including tagging our suitcases.
Every thing is almost punctual here in Japan.

We will come back in the future to Intercontinental Tokyo Bay, another truly Japanese hospitality, InterContinental way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#16 Family Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.