We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 93 hotels in Minato
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here on our final night in Tokyo and received an upgrade to a room with an incredible view over the bay – This was stunning both at night and in the morning.

The room was lovely, all the bells and whistles you expect to find in a hotel of this standing.

The only downsides were the distance from the subway and when we were leaving I felt that we were ushered out a little “too efficiently”, almost to the point of being rushed.

All in all, though it was a really good hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    322
    103
    24
    13
See reviews for
159
201
63
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall the hotel is a nice one with a very luxury finish. Close to transportation and good central location. Our room had a great view of the bay and it was very clean and nice. The room service was very slow though as 3 times during our stay we had to call to get it service.

My largest problem with the hotel is the customer service is awful. They were rude and condensing which is very odd considering I have been to Japan many times and have always as a good experience. Note that even though I was a gold member this was still the case.

The last thing was that I left a toiletry bag at the hotel and they wanted to charge me US$50 to ship it to me. Now if I was just a one-time guess I would not mind paying for this. I am actually a Gold member that has stayed at their hotel every week. They would not budge on charging me a mark-up on shipping my toiletry to my place. I will never stay at a Intercontinental hotel again as Hilton would have no issue with this.

If you are looking for a place in Japan I would advise not to stay here as you will not get the typical Japanese hospitality that you would expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a window facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear 962hayden,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Gold Member and taking the time to write us a review. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Located on the Tokyo side of Tokyo Bay, this hotel has easy access either by the Yurikamome train line, a 10 min stroll from JR Hamamatsucho railway line, or a shuttle bus also from Hamamatsucho.

Staff are extremely attentive and helpful, and were a big help when I inadvertently left my headphones at the hotel after I had checked-out!

The hotel is a little bit dated, but still extremely comfortable, and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

You get everything you expect from a hotel at this level. The staff are excellent and you are really close to the city and the main stations to travel around. It's also very close to the fish market (about a 30 min walk or about 10 bucks in a taxi) the rooms are good but not superb hence my 4 star rating

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Love the view from the room, Tokyo Bay. Easy access to go around by JR, Mono Rail, and any other public transport.
Getting on monorail from Haneda Airport is very easy. Get off at World Trade Center, and take hotel shuttle bus for a very short ride, particularly if we bring suitcase. In fact, a very short walk to hotel from bus terminal beneath WTC Tokyo.

Special thanks to Ms. Kara, for helping me the hassle printing Disneyland ticket in such a rush.

Love the hotel people, love the hotel products.

Perhaps the owner of this hotel might re-consider the chair at working desk. It is not comfortable for long seating. I work hard also from this beautiful room of Intercontinental Tokyo Bay.

We follow a suggestion from front desk people to spent one evening in Odaiba area, a short ride on mono rail.
A nice walk in Odaiba and its surrounding for shopping and meals time.

To reach Narita Airport, we took a bus which is arranged and booked through hotel concierge.
It is very much well organized, including tagging our suitcases.
Every thing is almost punctual here in Japan.

We will come back in the future to Intercontinental Tokyo Bay, another truly Japanese hospitality, InterContinental way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent two nights with a baby girl

the good
- Location of the hotel: 10mins walking from the station, 2 mins from the monorail, 15mins from the Sydney tower (close view only, not the entrance). But not as convenient as other hotels. Shuttle bus is useful when it is raining. otherwise, it is fine walking
- close to the fishmarket (need to get the metro)
- view of the bay from the room and the bathroom. Very pretty at night time and very romantic from the bath tub. DO book the bay view
- Comfy bed for adults, but basic baby cot mattress (compared to other intercontinental and Crowne Plaza)
- Quiet
- Free Internet

not so good
- the hotel is nice, but showing his age. It is not at the same level as the Springs (not the same price either)

Don't take me wrong, it is a nice hotel, but not as good as the Springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear axelgfrsyd,

Thank you for writing a detailed review following your recent stay. It was a pleasure having your family stay at our hotel, and we are very glad that you liked our location, the amenities, and the bay view from your room. As a valued guest, we appreciate all the feedback we receive and we certainly welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice standard 5 star hotel for business travelers, not a cheap option and I was expecting more.
My room was large, clean, and comfortable with a great view but no complimentary water !
Internet connection was fast and stable.
Good breakfast buffet but nothing fabulous.
On the 36th floor they have a beautiful bar overlooking Tokyo.
There are very cheap and delicious restaurants nearby but the hotel location is far from exciting nightlife and shopping malls.
The nearest metro station is 3 minutes’ walk.
Haneda airport is located +/- 20 minutes from the hotel. They provide the direct airport bus limousine service to Narida (+/- 70km).
The staff were very friendly, they speak good English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.