We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough, but did not exceed my expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 791 Reviews
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fair enough, but did not exceed my expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed in Intercontinental Tokyo Bay for 2 nights and it was fair enough. The hotel is close to the Hamamasutcho JR station and they also offer a free shuttle service to and from the hotel.

The check in was quick and the bell boys are so polite and helpful. On the other hand, i got dissapointed with the front desk check in lady. She sounded rigid and inconsiderate. I complained because the welcome fruits for the ambassador members were chopped and was not prepared neatly (i will upload a photo) she said that it varies from hotel to hotel and they can't offer me anything else. What a dead end answer. The rooms were spacious but the furniture were outdated. They charged 3 types of taxes other than the room rate after i checked out and the other hotel within the city (intercontinental tokyo ANA) doesn't have these taxes. The fitness center are 2 adjacent rooms with running equipment. Thats it. Overall, what i liked about the hotel are the bell boys and the cleaning lady who are polite. The views of tokyo bay is commendable as well

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sunkissedguy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are truly delighted you found the level of service received from our bell boys and our housekeeping staff, highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our front office team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to our service to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    363
    110
    25
    14
See reviews for
179
223
68
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

All in all, good value for money.
Very friendly and client responsive staff downstairs. Rooms a bit dated and stuffy but still ok. If you are allergic to dust stay away. Carpets and lots of dust everywhere....

My main issue was breakfast. People in breakfast area unfriendly. Half of the trays were empty, not filled in time. The person at the egg station was very rude. He finally made me an omelette but did never bring it... A number of things ran out but got never refreshed. Even the Asian corner was very poor... And then the coffee. You have to get it yourself using a machine like in a petrol station... Definitely not intercontinental worthy.... I mentioned my issues with breakfast at reception but the lady looked at me and did not take any action.... It always baffles me that reception staff ask at check out whether you had enjoyed your stay. If you respond with no, they just continue and do nothing with that information... It is like that they have become suddenly deaf or that there is no procedure in case the customer is not happy....

Room Tip: Rooms with harbour view are nice but not a must....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Globe_trot_traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Where to start really:

Firstly I stay in many Intercontinental Hotels throughout the world, so this isn't an isolated review.
Secondly I'm an Ambassador member so you can guess the number of nights I stay in hotels around the world.

As an Ambassador member you are supposedly guaranteed an upgrade, we'll not at the Tokyo Bay it would seem. On arrival I was told they had discounted my rate (and not by much) rather than give me an upgrade,

Then the food available in the hotel is, no other word for it "poor". After being out in company a few nights I just wanted a quite light meal before settling down. The hotel has recently refurbished its restaurant offerings, but sad to say they have not improved and offer a range of so called fine dining. But try and get a selection of Sushi or sashimi in this hotel, you have a better chance of taking your own fishing line and throwing it in the bay.

Also only had one drink in the hotel 900yen, £8, $12 for a very small coke!!

I stay here for work, if I had a choice I would stay somewhere else, suggest you do to.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear PaulAblenet,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent service, great breakfast, close to the monorail and subway. I had dinner at the Teppanyaki TAKUMI, top 5 meals ever!!! Chef Hitoshi Taguchi's detail to service and quality can't be matched. The steak was great!!!

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on points.

Value:
Great! While other Intercontinental hotels in Tokyo/Yokohama require more points, this one only charged IHG Rewards Club 35,000 points for a night.

Interior Decor:
High class standard. Luxurious in design, taste and perception.

Exterior Appearance:
High class hotel by Tokyo Bay in the middle of the city.

View from the room I stayed:
Tokyo Bay.

Noise insulation:
Excellent

Room Size:
Very reasonable

Bed:
Soft and comfortable

Bathroom:
Luxurious

Services:
Professionally trained staffs - polite and courteous

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
渋谷
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

From the stayed room ,The bay bridge shining ormpic color and another window gave us the Tokyo Tower Which has also ormpic irumination. Feel so fantastic night !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Staff friendly, late night room service (great for late arrivals) open until 0100. Recognition for IHG members. Clean, spacious, lovely rooms. Late nite snack was the chicken fingers and fries. Hot and delicious. Would book again and again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#20 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.