We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 93 hotels in Minato
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed a couple of nights whilst staying for the Tokyo 7s. Seems very expensive, even for an Intercontinetal, maybe that's Japan!!! £60 for a few beers and 2 chips. staff in bar friendly and willing to help as was late when ordered!

Club lounge was good, could do with being bigger around the food as can get cramped even if only 3/4 up getting food.

Suzuki/Honda, not sure 100% on his name was excellent in the lounge!

Check in poor, as mentioned by others only 1 Royal Ambassador recognised when had 2 in group! And manner of check in man was just disgraceful for an Intercontinental. Not sure on his name!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear OliverK6,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you found the level of service you received was less than satisfactory. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. Your comments will be shared with our Management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to our service to ensure guests do not experience these in the future.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your future travels.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    322
    103
    24
    13
See reviews for
159
201
63
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the Intercontinental in Tokyo Bay. I am a big fan of the IHG experience and also a priority club member so staying here was a no brainer. Definitely pricier if you're looking for an economical option but worth the cost and also a lot more cheaper than the Intercontinental in Akasaka.

It is very conveniently located near the Takeshiba Station - you literally take a right turn from the hotel and there it is. Also, Hammamutsocho Station is a 15 min leisurely walk (or 8 mins if you're a fast walker) - very well connected.

You should definitely eat a couple meals in the hotel if you like - the restaurant on the 3rd floor has an amazing buffet and its coconut icecream is to die for. Also, we ordered the smoked salmon for dinner once and it was very good.

The staff is very friendly, there's a 24 hour taxi queue at the hotel lobby and there's a limousine bus service to Narita Airport. I recommend staying here even if you're in Tokyo for a business trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic door staff and extremely helpful porters provide a great first impression. The lobby is somewhat dark and resplendent with a version of 80's style glamour...think Next Home Directory circa 1988.
I stayed on an "executive" floor that would only provide free Internet access to those with Priority Pass membership which I thought, bearing in mind the price, was not particularly impressive in this day and age. The room was cramped by an oversized and quite useless overstuffed sofa from the same Next Directory. Beds were large, firm and comfortable. Bathroom was well equipped if a little on the small side but the separate shower was a definite plus.
Free breakfast in the 20th floor exec lounge made worth wile by the great view but spoiled by jazz being played to loud for this jet lagged traveller.
Location is a £20 taxi ride from central Tokyo. This is hotel is ok for business travel but I wouldn't stay for pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has a really great view on the Tokyo Bay. You can just stay hours watching at the sea activity from your room. It is located in a very quiet quarter of Tokyo.
However, i found that the rooms are not at the level of the expensive price, old furniture, curtains that are very old and not clean, small TV with not a lot of English / International channels, Wifi at an expensive price.
Moreover, if the personal is very polite, their english is quite poor, so they really do not understand when you ask for something not classical. The check-in was made by a trainee, nice girl who was very difficult to understand. Same for the concierge, it took me a lot of time to explain that I needed a glass of water with sugar because my wife was feeling bad (and nobody cam to check if everything was fine with her).
The restaurants are very expensive, when you take the buffet they oblige you to have a very good but very heavy soup, maybe to ensure that you are less hungry when you start the buffet ?
Same issue with English language with the restaurants. However you can have great lunch / dinner at good price near the Daemon metro station not far from the hotel, there is a nice japanese park near this station also.
There is no free hotel shuttle from the airport to the hotel. No ATM to withdraw money (be careful the majority of the ATM around the hotel do not take International card - you will have to go near Daemon Metro station at 10 mn walk). No travel agency in the hotel, you cannot reserve train or airplane ticket (FYI : for train ticket no need to go to Tokyo station, you can make reservation at the JR Hamamatsucho station).
So globally the level of service you are expecting for the price is clearly not there.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea side rooms (but they are more expensive). Not all rooms are non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Jesse110566,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family and I couldn't be more pleased with the hotel. The hotel rooms were spacious, clean and we had a great view of Tokyo Bay. We felt being pampered by the hotel facilities and their staff. The location is quiet but is easily accessible from the train. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus between the hotel and the Hammatsucho train station at every 20 minute intervals, which makes it even better. This station practically connected us with the rest of busy Tokyo and still have a lot of good rest at the end of the day. There were some restaurants (Tully's) and other restaurants within the area. While internet is not free, the hotel provides 2 pc desktop computer with internet at the lobby for guests to use for free. Thanks Intercontinental Tokyo Bay for making out trip to Tokyo simply, "Marvelous!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have never checked out of a hotel before my planned departure.

The experience was so bad I moved to another Intercontinental hotel. There were no personal attention, concierge pointed one finger to the escalator without offering to help with my luggage, font desk staff chucked my credit card while receiving it and the facilities, corridors are so old you can smell the rot. They have renovated rooms but it's a joke, you can tell exactly how old they are. The place is so rundown, your keycard slip is filled with coupons, vouchers, leaflets of their restaurant, paid access gym etc.

Hotel is actually not that accessible from the monorail station, especially if you have baggage with you.

The only good thing about is hotel is the view, you have an amazing up-font view of Tokyo Bay, even in the bathroom. But other than that, this is last place you want to stay if you plan on paying ¥30,000 per night.

Room Tip: If you still plan on staying at this hotel, ask for a renovated room and ignore the service. Just en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear mcwai,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the amazing view of Tokyo Bay from your room. On the other hand, We are sorry you found your experience with us less than satisfactory.

We pride ourselves on delivering our guests a great experience at all times and we would like you to be assured that the challenges you encountered are not indicative of our usual high standards. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Was upgraded as an Ambassador to tokyo bay view room. View of rainbow bridge was nothing short of speculator, especially at night. Staff was warm and friendly, and eager to please. Location is a bit off for sight seeing, but perfect for the Sumida river bus from Hinode pier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.