We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service for a 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 790 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average service for a 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was checked into a room near smoking rooms although i didn't ask for it.The room doesn't smell as fresh because of it.Other than that the amenities and room facilities are ok.View of Tokyo bay is breathtaking.Wifi connection on the other hand is very bad because my room was close to club lounge which also has wifi connection.It went up and down.called for help,three people came to help within the span of more than one hour.no one has real solution,other than saying well that's the problem with room close to club lounge.the last one advised me to connect to club lounge wifi instead,that helps even though still had to reconnect several times. Would also be helpful if staff is better trained in english.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear scorpiotale,

Thank your for taking the time to write a review of our hotel regarding your stay. I am pleased to note that you were satisfied with the amenities that we have to offer.

However, I am disappointed to hear your issues with our staff and WiFi service. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by the hotel's management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. We all hope that you will give us another chance so we can show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    363
    110
    25
    14
See reviews for
179
223
68
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I make reservation from Priority club. Price was almost $180. This room is the corner of building. Very quiet and cosy. Foods are expensive. The train station is very convenient. But this line is not useful for going to the local of Japan. I recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

One of the very grand hotels in Tokyo. The lobby was nice given the amount of available space, but the restaurant beside it was fantastic on furnishing. Simply top notched.

Service is generally great as you even have people waiting to help push lift buttons, on a few occasions even help operate the lifts to the floor you were going to.

I got a room with fantastic view of the bridge - it was perfect - no complains on the view.

However, Internet was chargeable even though I'm already a Platinum Ambassador. They will only offer it free come 1st July 2013 as part of the Intercontinental rebranding exercise.

I reached the hotel at 11am and tried to check in, and was told to come back at 3pm or to pay 30% extra for early check in. This was quite surprising for me as I have never been prompted to pay extra for checking in at 11am. Most hotels in japan enforces this rather strictly too but usually check in at 2pm is typical. I have also tried to check in early in other hotels (Mercure or Daiichi) which I frequent often which they will charge if you are checking in extremely early. ie before 9am, but 10am-12noon check in is possible if you are regular with them. So at Intercontinental, I felt my membership was worth nothing. After some negotiation, the front desk staff finally acceded to allow me to check in at 11am without additional charges. He stressed that this will be the first and only time they will waive the charges. OK.

Location wise, I felt it wasn't most suitated for me I got to walk 10-15mins to JR Hamamatsucho station daily, or take a cab for 710yen. Towards the end of the stay, I realized that there was a free shuttle bus that runs between the hotel and the station. So I think it would have been great if the hotel advertised this free service to the guests. I stayed in this hotel at least twice but I didn't know of the shuttle bus though.

Room Tip: Rooms with the tokyo bay view, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My mom left her iPad at the hotel so my sis made a phone call to the hotel to ask them to deliver it by FedEx. However apparently they said they can't deliver lithium battery. Fortunately, we asked my cousin's friend was in Tokyo in the same week at other hotel to get the iPad from the hotel and bring it back for us. The assistant manager kindly deliver it to him to his hotel. I will be forever grateful for his kindness and exceptional service. The value of its iPad is not much but that one is a gift from his son in-law. I know how my mom like it and appreciate it.

Oh do I mention how the receptionist went and print out the map of Janggara ramen at akibahara?
The ramen itself is so delicious until we all came back and ate it 2 days in a row.

The location itself is a little bit far from the train station but easily mitigated by free hotel service run daily on punctual timetable to nearest hamamatsucho train station.

Room Tip: Get the room facing Tokyo bay. Wonderful view. And please be aware free complimentary water only or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

the room facing the water captivates you in a city where space is as precious as the water before you. a city where a road passes thru a bldg, a catholic church on top of a bldg, flower gardens on the top floor of a high rise bldg....awesome!
the hotel has the best of both worlds, the great outdoor inside your room and
the convenience of transportation. we enjoyed intercon tokyo bay!

Room Tip: get a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Definitely book a room in this hotel on the Club Floor. Breakfast, cocktails, and dinner are included. If at all possible, get Room 2126. The view of Tokyo Bay is spectacular. We have stayed in exceptional hotels all over the world, and in our opinion this is the world's best for service and accommodations. We would stay here forever if we could. Wait til use the toilet and push a few of the buttons!!!

Room Tip: Room 2126 is superb in all respects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 8 day stay here and had a wonderful pleasant experience with the hotel. Loved the fresh smelling pyjamas everyday after room service. Staff service is excellent from the bellboy, shuttle bus driver and receptionists. Easy access to haneda airport via train, and a frequent shuttle bus to the train station (every 20mins). The train station (hamamatsucho) is also a 10-15 walk from the hotel if we couldnt be bothered waiting for the bus. Overall a memorable trip, hugely contributed by the excellent stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#20 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.