We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, peaceful and relaxing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, peaceful and relaxing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first time staying at this InterContinental Hotel and our first visit to Japan. Our son chose and booked our stay, because the hotel is close to where he lives, plus he is a member of the Ambassador Club. We had a king room with 180 degree view of Tokyo Bay and the Rainbow Bridge. There are several piers within a short walking distance of the hotel and you can take dinner cruises and bay tours from several lines by day or night. Although the hotel is not centrally located it is quite accessible, because it is directly connected on the second floor to Takeshiba Station on the Yurikamome Line and a few minutes ride from Shinbashi. There is a free shuttle service from the hotel to the Hamamatsu-cho Station and easy access to the monorail that takes you to Haneda Airport in about 12 minutes. That is how we treveled. This is so much better than going to Narita Airport, which is about an hour away.

This hotel was built in 1995. It is a luxury hotel, but does not feel very luxurious. The rooms are well maintained and kept very clean. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath tub and the tub had a very large window with a perfect view of Tokyo Bay and the Bridge. The hotel provides fresh cloth slippers, sleeping shirts and robes every day. They provided two complimentary bottles of Evian water every day, which tasted horrible. The room came with a mini bar well stocked with hard and soft beverages, but I will advise you not to touch them, since they are very expensive. The hotel has a fitness center on the 8th floor, but you need a special electronic key to gain access. You must go to the front desk and sign a waiver before they will give you a key, then they will issue you a different key daily. The key will arrive every morning in the same bag with the newspaper that is placed on you door knob.

There are several restaurants at the hotel, but we only went to the Chef Live Kitchen on the 3rd floor for breakfasts and lunches. We went out to dinner every night to various well known restaurants after sightseeing trips and a visit to the Tokyo Tower. The Chef Live Kitchen Restaurant offered a buffet breakfast and lunch, but after several days of this food we opted to seek other choices elsewhere. We got tired of the heavy and expensive breakfasts and lunches and chose to go to the Mini Maruetsu Supermarket three blocks away and buy a few groceries, fruits and vegetables. We stored the groceries in the mini refrigerator and started eating healthy, the way we normally eat at home.

Everyday we would call down stairs to the Instant Service Desk and ask for our room to be clean, as we were leaving the room on our way to a sightseeing trip. They would ask how long we were going to be out of the room, since they said it takes 1.5 hours to properly clean each room and change the linens. This hotel is very comfortable, nice and quiet and the staff is very helpful polite and always smiling. Every time I would leave or enter the hotel there were three or four people in the lobby to help in anyway possible and they knew my name and room.

The one big turnoff that I found with the hotel was the charge for internet service. We stayed at the hotel twice during our visit to Japan. We first stayed for nine days and bought a 10 day plan for Y9450, then we returned after a three day tour of other cities and stayed another five days and bought a daily Y1575 plan. Given the high cost of staying at this hotel, you would expect the hotel to offer free internet as part of your hotel cost. Once we bought the internet plans, other members of our family could use the same internet connection, although they were staying in other rooms on the same floor.

Although we took taxis in front of the hotel to go to all of the locations that were far away, we found that we could walk to most places, including the Tokyo Tower and several restaurants in the area. Our son made a good choice of booking us at the InterContinental Tokyo Bay and we can recommend this hotel as a good place to stay. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Tokyo Bay view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    357
    109
    25
    14
See reviews for
176
218
68
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights during the Golden Week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very hepful with everything from making restaurant reservations, providing directions as well as meeting specific requests on accomodations. The hotel shuttles the guests to Daimon station for free and from there you can reach all of the major attractions in Tokyo - Ginza, Tsukiji, Edo-Tokyo Museum in Ryogoku(a must-see), Ueno, Shinjuku, Roponggi and Sensoji Temple. Plus the view of Tokyo Bay and Odaiba...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights in April and we had a wonderful experience. The room we had, on the 13th floor with a river view was amazing, we couldn't ask for a better view of the Tokyo skyline. The room was spacious enough to accommodate 3 persons and the staff was extremely kind and helpful.
Thank you for making our stay a memorable one, we would definitely stay there again if we would come back to Tokyo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great view and very very clean room, i am no ambassador but was upgrade to Bay view by the counter staff, very grateful, it is near Takeshiba rail, 2 mins walk(not JR) and Hamamatsucho JR 10mins walk. Stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed every night!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the InterCon Tokyo Bay. The room was absolutely beautiful with views of the bay and the Tokyo Skytree, which was amazing. The service was also top notch. Exactly what you would expect. Yamoura san made us feel very welcome and should be commended on his superb customer service. Can't wait to visit Tokyo again so I can stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Nice bay views from the rooms. I would of given this hotel a better overall rating hkwever a few key issues swayed my decision. Those being there is no 24 hour room service. For an Intercon hotel costing over USD250 a night is just beyond belief. The daytime/evening room service menu is very average for choice, and I.love all types of food so it wasnt because I am Westener that I make this point.

The pillows are awful. They need to offer at least a choice or one extra pillow that wont flatten out to an inch thick once you use it.

Service was top quality in all areas of the hotel and its restaurants. Why cant they add more food choices to the room service menu from what their restaurants offer.

Very well stocked mini bar for beverages but could offer some better snack options.

I probably would noy stay here again due to the location but if you want to be by the bay then its a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Pjcstone,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am very glad to know that you found our service to be excellent. However, I would like to apologize that the pillows were not to your liking. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, many thanks for the feedback.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Ok but expensive but Tokyo is
£80 for 6/8 beers and 2 bowls chips in lounge bar.
Recd Club lounge upgrade for Ambassador member which was ok.the refurbishment was nice but a little like a furniture showroom.
Limited breakfast dish
Beer on tap in happy hour a great idea. Self service.
Remembered from last year by staff Mr Honda

Buffet dinner one night ok but staff/ chefs seem stingy on giving out the food.
Sushi 2 pcs
Tempura 2 pcs only

Only really beef on menu for meat so as non beef eater difficult.
Not cheap meal.

Disappointed with check in. 2platinum Royal Ambassadors but only me recognised. He female of the party not?? Is this Japan ?? And woman being second class citizens???

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Dkkeeling,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize for the experience you had at check in. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the servings in our hotel restaurant and in our lounge. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#22 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.