We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Tokyo Bay area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Minato
panama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in the Tokyo Bay area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Being Platinum Ambassador members for InterContinental, we were given an upgrade room on an upper floor which included free buffet breakfast, cocktails and small horse d'ouvres buffet in the early evening and free bottled water and basket of fruits. The room was absolutely beautiful, with a great view of the Tokyo Bay. Our daughters' room was on a lower floor, no upgrade, and that room was not as nice as ours, but it was the same size, just the decor was different. The hotel staff, while extremely attentive and polite, is lacking on English language skills, and it was very difficult at times to ask questions about tours and recommendations for restaurants since they did not understand what was being asked. That is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars rating. The bell captain, though, went above and beyond his call of duty giving us information about the Metro system, bus schedules, etc. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Hamamatsucho bus terminal and Daemon Metro terminal, and the hotel offers a free shuttle every 20 minutes that runs between the hotel and the bus terminal. This service is right on time, every time. The buffet breakfast was amazing and the cocktails in early evening served in the New York lobby (the club is being renovated) were also excellent, and the lobby is absolutely gorgeous. The Tokyo Bay tour boats dock on the pier right next to the hotel and the fish market is also very close. Next time we are in Tokyo, we would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are an Ambassador member of InterContinental, this hotel recognizes its members and it is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    330
    107
    24
    13
See reviews for
165
203
66
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I don't undrestand the last couple of reviews.This is my 2nd trip staying at this hotel and it gives all the perks if you have Platinum Status with Priority Club. I had fresh fruit upon arrival, complimentary water bottles, upgraded room, free internet access daily, free breakfast daily and free happy hour. All the employees are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. The only thing that I would like improved is if the fitness center had some type weights. Overall it's a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montceau
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First stay in this hotel was last year and I must say I had more pleasure.
In Club IC, I got a nice room with a very wonderful view but no upgrading room with platinum statuts.
Choice at evening cocktails and breakfast is very very poor and plates are often empty.
Internet is out of prices.
No chocolate or fruits upon arrival even in club.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear alain71,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We are very sorry you were not happy with your recent stay at our hotel and offer my sincere apologies for the poor service and conditions you experienced, which are certainly not up to our usual standards. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We walked down to the lobby at 9.30am prime check out time and a photographer is blocking the walk way, entrance doors and access to the bathrooms and New York lounge (being used as the club lounge while renovations occur). We waited till we were allowed past to the lounge and were told we could not sit on the lounges because the photographer was going to take photographs- this was our club lounge experience!

The breakfast was definitely not up to the standard I have come to expect at intercontinental hotels. Frozen fruit, no muesli or bircher, a coffee machine that you have to use yourself which is far from great. It was more like a holiday inn. Ohh and the hotel ran out of skim milk- how?!

When you are paying for a premium hotel you expect great service. We didn't get this- it was disappointing as I have stayed at so many intercontinental a were the guest experience is second to none!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear BentleyRose,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations specifically at the Club Lounge and during breakfast. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed 8 nights in Feb 2013
This hotel gave me so much pleasure, with fabulous views over the river
and excellent space along with excellent courteous staff ready to help all
the time, every time with a smile and a bow. The ambience of the whole place was
proper and so close to Takasheba over head train station and Diamon and
Hamamatchu stations for tube closeby. Spotlessly clean laundry and
squeaky clean rooms with 2 news papers supplied free of cost to your door.
Nothing was left to chance in this Hotel. The 20th floor has free internet service.
only negative point in whole of Tokyo was no free wifi.
From Narita airport Take the underground to Diamon station on the Asakusa line
and you are near the hotel free shuttle from Hamamatchu bus terminal atleast 2 times every hour.

Room Tip: Must overlook the tokyo bay. 12th floor and upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful Building, Large Rooms, Clean Spotless Bathrooms, Modern Facilities, Great Location, Beautiful Views, Excellent Service, Delicious Restaurants.

The only observation I can make is that more English speaking assistants are needed. The first couple of days we could not communicate with the hotel's staff. On our third or fourth day a trainee called Genivieve, born in Tennessee and living in Japan for the past 6 years, appeared behind the Reception Desk and made all the difference. Great attitude, very knowledgeable and efficient, always with a smile, very kind. She must be hired on a permanent basis, and more assistants like her should be included at the Reception and Concierge Desks.

Room Tip: Subway and Metro stations nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was in Tokyo the last week in January for some meetings nearby and chose the hotel for it's proximity.
We arrived at Haneda Airport at about 11 pm and were on the 11:38 Monorail to Hamamatsucho Station and took a taxi to the hotel which was only about 5 minutes away and less than JPY1000. It is walkable, but it was late, and very cold, and I had a significant amount of luggage with me. I was in my room by 12:10am.
I was upgraded as an IHG Ambassador and was impressed by the size of the room. The view of Tokyo Bay was fantastic. A large picture window from the bathroom also gave a great view.
The room was fitted with a humidifier. This made the environment so much better, and I have never seen one in a hotel room before anywhere ever. The bed was a bit low on conformity and therefore, a bit too hard for my preference, but acceptable.
My big minus was the lack of heat in the toilet. It was unpleasantly cold, but nothing that running the hair dryer for 15 minutes didn't alleviate (a trick I learned years ago).
The staff's English was overall very good, with only one exception I was understood and well assisted with all my inquiries.
The big disappointment was the hotel breakfast. It is very expensive, but totally uninspiring and I did not think it offered good value. There was a little coffee shop about 3 minutes walk away, which may not have been very inspiring either, but at least it was fair value.
I would stay at this hotel again, but I would not eat the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#29 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.