We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room, Good Service, Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Room, Good Service, Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was in Tokyo the last week in January for some meetings nearby and chose the hotel for it's proximity.
We arrived at Haneda Airport at about 11 pm and were on the 11:38 Monorail to Hamamatsucho Station and took a taxi to the hotel which was only about 5 minutes away and less than JPY1000. It is walkable, but it was late, and very cold, and I had a significant amount of luggage with me. I was in my room by 12:10am.
I was upgraded as an IHG Ambassador and was impressed by the size of the room. The view of Tokyo Bay was fantastic. A large picture window from the bathroom also gave a great view.
The room was fitted with a humidifier. This made the environment so much better, and I have never seen one in a hotel room before anywhere ever. The bed was a bit low on conformity and therefore, a bit too hard for my preference, but acceptable.
My big minus was the lack of heat in the toilet. It was unpleasantly cold, but nothing that running the hair dryer for 15 minutes didn't alleviate (a trick I learned years ago).
The staff's English was overall very good, with only one exception I was understood and well assisted with all my inquiries.
The big disappointment was the hotel breakfast. It is very expensive, but totally uninspiring and I did not think it offered good value. There was a little coffee shop about 3 minutes walk away, which may not have been very inspiring either, but at least it was fair value.
I would stay at this hotel again, but I would not eat the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    332
    108
    24
    13
See reviews for
167
203
66
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel located just front of Tokyo bay, if you opt the bay view room, you can see the famous Rainbow bridge and the busy ship/boat of the bay. Room was spacious for Tokyo standard, clean but amenities are too standard for 4-5 stars, nothing really impressed.
Reception can add more staff to avoid long line when check-in/out.
Hotel has connection to neighbor building which has convenience store.
We stayed here as we went to see Lion King the musical at Shiki teather which is 10 minutes walking distance from hotel (very convenient for theater goers). Dinner buffer post musical show at the hotel was nice.
Staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had been a regular to this hotel for the last 3 years and was pleasantly surprised that the public areas and room (had a club room) was refurbished. The room are now has a modern tone and design. The massage chair was a first for me but a welcome relieve after a hard day out. Breakfast, although at a nicer venue was the same, which needs to be improved in terms of variety. Service was excellent.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lets be honest. I had read the reviews here and was expecting an "ok" hotel but it was below par for me. The reasons are pretty simple:
a) The lobby is bling bling. A lot of gold and fancy colors everywhere, I am more of a zen person and prefer simple decors rather than the very flashy ones
b) The rooms are worn out. They need to be completely refurbished. Asked for a King size bed, ended in a double queen size but nobody told me, I realized it when I finally managed to get in.
c) When I arrived the key didnt work, had to wait in the corridor for 10 minutes for someone to come up and open for me
d) Breakfast on the second floor is a dissapointment. Fresh fruits where frozen and the sausages looked like they had been sitting there since the hotel opened. Not appealing at all.
e) Staff are not that nice and I suspect many of them dont speak english. Got thrown out (litteraly) of an elevator as there was an official coming in (but nobody worn me) was kind of embarassing to be taken out of an elevator with NO explanation.
e) Finally, but this is more personnal, the location is not really convenient for me. I work in Shiodome and even though I thought it was close to the business district, its not.

All in, not a good hotel for me. Its not a terrible hotel but definitely way below my standards and the price remains pretty high for this kind of service.For me its a poor and would be very close to terrible if it wasn't for the free internet. Would I return? Never, I'd rather end up in a capsule hotel, at least I know what I pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Zion51,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am deeply sorry that on this day you were inconvenienced due to the service received from our staff and if the breakfast served did not live up to expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I too, arrived in Tokyo Narita during the big snowstorm this year. Luckily, this hotel is adjacent to the train station for the only trains running during the afternoon hours that day, so I made it to the hotel without any problems. Either way, the location is terrific. Out of the main hustle and bustle of Toyko, yet only two stops to either downtown Tokyo station or the Haneda airport. The staff was very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wahroonga
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice Hotel. Rooms better than expected Bigger and better fitted out. The staff were very accomodating. Short walk to station and monorail. Great for business. Only downside is that there needs to be more information regarding hotel facilities in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was stuck at Narita airport during the biggest snow storm which left 3400 people stranded and sleeping on the floor. There were no trains, no taxis, nothing. It was one of those nights.

At 2am I called the hotel and explained the situation. They managed to find a taxi in Tokyo , send it to me and deliver me to the hotel. People had been waiting at Narita for 5 hours for a cab.

On arrival they upgraded my room to the best possible club room and could not do enough for me.

For me, this service is what makes a good hotel great!

As well as this service, the hotel is great, good big rooms, great beds etc.

Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#29 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.