We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Chiba, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed here a few times. It remains one of my favorites when the budget permits. Outstanding views on the Rainbow Bridge side. A little distant from public transport (200 meters) but that is the only drawback

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    328
    106
    24
    13
See reviews for
165
202
66
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Before you book this hotel make sure to check other people experience and than make your choice, You can do online booking or talk with live agent. Use you AAA card for better rate. For extra person you will pay extra for room and breakast. Also mid week is cheaper. For example Friday night cost us 16,800 YEN and Saturday was 27,200 YEN. Reason-lots of Japenese using hotel during a weekend with their families.Exchage rate between Yen abd Cdn Dolalr is ~80. so 8,000YEn=100CDN$

Hotel has very good location close to Henada airport, Hamamatsucho station (10 min. walk) and Takeshiba (Bullet train) station (2 min walk from recpetion), famous Fish Market, River port for cruise boats. It is very safe in and around hotel.

High price hotel where you will definetly not get value for your money. Staff is very polite but almost nobody speaks English. Rooms are small and very clean but above floor 20 rooms are bigger and better. Very good water pressure in shower.As a club member you may use Sky View Lounge on 23rd floor with nice breakfast, drinks etc. Hotel has few expensive restaurants and it will take you more than hour with bus from Narita airport.

Chef's Live Kitchen restaurant for example cost ~5,500 YEN per person for buffet style dinner. Food is good with lots of choices but moment you sit at a table they will bring you a bill.
Complain will not take you far away since nobody speaks English and you will have promenade of waiters trying to help you understand. Problem is that they did not post any menu with price-therefore it is natural that peopel get caught of guard


Internet service is available in room for 525 YEN for 30 minutes but you must use it all at once, otherwise will expire after you log off. This was not adverized in offer. 24 hours will cost 1575 YEN.

In conclusion, good loaction, clean and small room, high price, almost nobody speaks English and all staff is extremely polite

Room Tip: Ask for Room overlooking river. either North or East side will work
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel, smallish rooms (but that is common in Tokyo). Wifi not available in the room but wired connection worked fine. Bathroom was a bit dated. Bed quality was good. A colleague selected this for me - if you stay here there are not a lot of things to do within close walking distance (restaurants, shops, nightlife etc.) on the plus side, room views are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel a couple of times as a tourist, the location is really convenient for Henada airport on the Monorail to Hamamatsucho station which is only an easy 8 minute walk from the hotel & gives great connections to the rest of the city. The Fish Market is close by which is a fantastic experience, either stay up very late or get up very early to enjoy it - ask the helpful concierge should you need a guide.
The rooms are a really good size & well appointed, as an IC Ambassador I had a room with a fabulous view of Tokyo Bay, however many rooms enjoy spectacular views - if your on the North side of the hotel the illuminated Tokyo Tower at night (15 min walk) is spectacular.
I'm not bothered by Wifi on holiday, but I am interested in consistent quality service, and the IC Hotel Tokyo Bay offers this in abundance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Situated in Tokyo Bay offers a fantastic view from your room. Unfotunelly is one of the few positive things I found in this hotel.Price is very high for their quality. Staff almost no one speaks English.
Rooms very small but very clean. Restaurants in the hotel are extremely expensive service in the restaurants is good some girls speak English specially in the Korean BBQ.Club Lounge is just to
have breakfast and snack you can't check in or check out in the 20th floor, everybody has to go to the reception and make the line. Shuttle bus works as a Swiss watch.Well situated easy for transportation either for leisure or if you are for work, very convinient if you use Haneda Airport.
Bell girls you call for your lugage because you are checking out suddenly a fragil smiling Japanese Girl arrives to pick you heavy lugagge, so you feel sorry for her at the end you end up
taking care of your own bags.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a little bigger and you have very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

2012 and no free wifi??? For business travelers and everyone with a smart phone travelling from outside of Japan, a wifi is a must. Apart from that, the hotel facilities are old and run-down and feels like I am in the 80's. On other aspects the hotel is very average. But due to the wifi issue and old rooms I rate this hotel as poor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The room is good in Japan Standard. Room size is good, water pressure is strong and clean. This hotel standard is dropping. As a Royal Ambassador, i got an upgraded room on the Club Floor river view. My cowoker being a platinum member got an upgrade to the bay view room?
Be frank, both view are not bad but of course the bay view is more open an pleasant.
My room has problem with the air-condition. Understand the tokyo is under power saving measure, however the room is just too warm! On the day I check in, the temperature is around 24C even after complain the room is still warm. On 2nd day morning i complained to the front desk, the room temperature is just get a bit better when i return end of the day. On the 3rd day, the temperature just good. I think it is around 21-22C in the room. Day 4 the temperature get worse. You can get a bit cooler if you climb up and put your face in front of the aircon vent. They send the maintenance guy with the staff from the front desk, the thermometer show the temperature on the aircon vent is 21C. Obviously the temperature in the room wont be cool. it is between 23-26C if you away from the vent. Should I move my bed under the aircon vent to sleep? They offered a room change, it was like midnight. After packing all my stuffs, we found the other room is carry the same temperature than the original. I been told to hold on and try to locate another room. Half an hour later, we walked back to the same room. Yes. it was cooler than before but it is still not as cool. I gave up and sleep back in the original room. Just cannot be bother! Since day 1, i was asking if they could provide a fan or cooler but negative.
I will not bother to consider this hotel again especially in the summer.
In my last review, i already mentioned they are dropping their standard. No more usual club floor reception, all check in/out are on the main lobby.
Club Floor breakfast is nice but limited. Good that they offer Free Internet Access. I usually bring along my pocket wifi router. It is always helpful! Even for those hotel come with wifi but you may not get good signal in the room. You can always set your pocket router to the location that can catch a good signal in room and improve the coverage in your room.
This time hotel front door is under renovation but no notice mentioned some work is going on. In the room notice about "No Overnight laundry services" due to power saving which i understand. But why No Room Services after 1am? Shouldn't these be the basic things in a 5 Stars hotel? This is just not up to the standard that i usually found in Intercon.
One good thing, staffs are rather friendly and helpful. I have left some loose items behind the room, they have kept them and informed me with pictures email, including some magazine, plastic bag and paper napkin which usually hotel will just dispose them without keeping.
If they are not going to address those problems especially the temperature in room, I dont think i will think of this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear VolVic71,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8576, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#29 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.