We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy train ride from Haneda Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae to your Saves list
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-3 Takanawa, Minato 108-0074, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Easy train ride from Haneda Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had very nice room with a great view of Mt. Fuji. The room size was generous for Tokyo standard and very, very clean. Loved their buffet or viking breakfasts - very nice. If you get there early you can even sit by the outside garden which is lovely. The only negative was the front desk personnel. They should smile more often and be more service oriented. It was one of the worst performance by front desk in Japan, US, Canada, or in Europe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    353
    108
    12
    9
See reviews for
100
74
106
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

For a first time visitor, the most striking feature of this hotel is it's location. overlooking the shinagawa railway station , it provides an excellant view of the TOKYO skyline. Rooms are tidy and smell good. After check out , we could without difficulty walk up to the railway station through a foot bridge. A blessing during the TOKYO rush hour. The restaurant on the ground floor serving breakfast has decent ambience and a nice view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's hard to argue with the convenience of the hotel, being across the street from Shinagawa Station. It's also a stop location for the Airport Limousine Bus, if the Narita Express isn't your thing. Within my two-week stay in Japan, I was here for my last two nights before departure in mid-August. As others have noted, check-in times are quite strict. I was lucky in having help from a clerk who did move my time up to 2pm, which was sufficient in my case. More flexibility in this would be welcome on a general level.

There are amenities and conveniences in the area, though I didn't get to check them all. There is a large area for shopping on the far side of the station that I didn't find my first day and a half, but I was still sight-seeing. One needn't worry about being able to find something nearby to fill a need.

The hotel itself is nice enough, given its age and recent refurbishment. It was the largest room I had in Japan by far with some nice views. I could see both the Tokyo Tower and Tokyo Skytree from my window (depending on clarity), and it's only two train stops to the one nearest Tokyo Tower, and another one beyond to get to the Imperial Palace. A surprising bit of quality appeared in the form of Noritake china being used for the in-room coffee/tea service.

I'm not sure why I didn't give it the fourth star, but it doesn't quite seem right. I would whole-heartedly give 3.5 on this scale. The staff were friendly and helpful, and a good cross-section of them spoke at least some helpful English. There were several dining options within the hotel, though I only tried two. My big complaint ther was that the hostess didn't check in my direction enough, and the patio (at TGI Friday's) was loud enough that no ordinary "sumimasen" could be heard. The restaurant at which I ate a lunch and a breakfast provided good food and a nice garden view. If you go for the breakfast buffet, try to go before 9:15am; it fills up rapidly after then.

Overall, though, I would recommend this hotel, especially to westerners travelling as a group or a family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Check in time at 15:00, which is not very convenient when you arrive there in the early morning after 15 hours plane trip. They are not flexible at all. Check out time at 10:00. Wonder why they need 5 hours to clean the room.
The rooms are just fine nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Conveniently located; yes. Tokyo is so vast so whereever you choose to stay you're always far from something. But having a major train station within 3 minutes walk makes life a lot easier.
The hotel is a typical 3 star hotel, could use a pimping, clean&tidy without the extra excess.

There's a bunch of restaurants in the hotel, amongst others there's a "Fridays" (US Chain) that serves Euro/US food (burgers, meat etc), so you don't have to walk far to get a decent meal.
Across the street there's a small shopping mall with some additional restaurants as well.
The rest of the area offers little of interest, but that at least serves for a good night sleep.

The hotel was close to our office, so for us the location was great. If I was going to Tokyo with leisure in mind I would probably choose another district (closed to Akibara, Shinjiku etc).

Breakfast was quite crappy. Basically only Japanese food (which is in no way close to US/Euro breakfast food) and not very good either. I wouldn't have paid for it if it would have been a private trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This huge hotel is located right next to Shinagawa station. Very convenient. It exist in the building complex called Shinagawa Goos. There are lots of restaurants, bards and shopping within the building as well as all around the station.

The room was clean with a big window looking outside. Checkout was extremely easy. If you do not need to talk to receptionist put the card in at the machine and the job is done in a minute!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I just got back from staying at this hotel for 4 nights. The location is awesome! Just a few minute walk from the Takanawa exit of Shinagawa station. The rooms are clean with a good variety of amenites (toothbrush, haribrush, even a bath scrub, something I usually bring from home, etc.) I love how the shampoo / conditioner / soap are Shiseido and not some generic brand that doesn't even foam.

We ate at their breakfast buffet almost every day.The restaurant is clean, with great food! The view is a very pretty garden.

There is a small convenient store on the 2nd floor which is open from 6am which was great when I needed a cooling sheet for my sick dauighter and didn't want to walk outside in the cold weather. There is a coin laundry with a microwave oven and vending machine on all the even numbered floors which was a big plus!!

The only thing I was surprised was that they didn't have an outgoing mailbox. I always rent a cell phone when I go on trips and drop it off at the Front desk of the hotel and they will send it out for me (postage is on the package already so I'm not asking for stamps.) I was told there is not post box in the hotel, but the guest service girl kindly offered to drop it off for me on her own time.

The price is reasoable, a supermarket, department store, restaurants, all in walking distance of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Toyoko Inn Sinagawaeki Takanawaguchi
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae

Address: 3-13-3 Takanawa, Minato 108-0074, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minato
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 935
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keikyu Ex Inn Shinagawa Ekimae Hotel Minato
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.